Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nostalgia!, 5 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this series when it was first screened years ago. To watch it now brings back many memeories of those times.

This is a wonderful, gentle comedy, completely different in feel to the often brash, vulgar comedy that appears on TV these days. I suspect that many younger viewers (I am almost 50) will not be amused, as they are accustomed to todays course humour which seems to aim for "belly laughs" every few seconds. In complete contrast, this is the story of Timothy Lumsden (exquisitely played by Ronnie Corbett - easily the best thing he's ever done in my opinion)), 41 year old librarian and still living at home with his parents, who treat him like a little boy. Timothy longs to "leave the nest". He is witty, has friends and outside interests, and although a little shy and bumbling, seems not to have too much trouble attracting the ladies. His problems are basically two-fold. His mother is completely domineering and is determined to keep him at home and prevent him from building an independent life for himself. He is still "her little boy". His other problem is that, much as he wants his independence, in many ways he IS still like a little boy - he hasn't properly grown up yet. He is still emotionally dependent on his parents, and the parental home, to the extent that leaving will be an enormous wrench in his life. Whenever opportunity presents itself he hesitates at the last minute, giving his mother the chance to step in and "bring him to his senses".

Another reviewer has stated that this series holds a particular charm for anyone who has ever lived with their parents for part of their adult life, before leaving home. I wholeheartedly agree with this. I left home to get married relatively late in life (I was 29, not so old as Timothy then!), and there are elements of Timothy's situation which strike a cord with me. I think it is very difficult to properly grow up until you have left home and become independent - and until then there will always be a sense in which your parents cannot see you as a "fully-fledged adult" as it were. It is these aspects which are beautifully and subtly brought out in this series - sometimes exaggerated for comic effect (it IS a comedy, not a drama after all), but still very true-to-life. In some episodes, despite the comic aspects, you cannot help but feel deeply sorry for Timothy and concerned for his future.

An absolutely wonderful series then, and very warmly recommended to those who can appreciate what it has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series - has aged well, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just like to say how brilliantly funny this series is. Unlike other older comedies which i no longer find funny this has aged brilliantly. The acting is fantastic. Ronnie Corbett is a genius. Visually hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate mummy's boy, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Alan James "Maebuschfan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This third instalment of the funny 1980's sitcom sees business as usual for 41 year-old librarian Timothy Lumsden, (Ronnie Corbett) who still lives at home with his domineering mother (Barbara Lott) and bumbling father (played by William Moore).
As usual, some of the funniest moments of the series can be found around the Lumsden's kitchen table, with Timothy's attempts to fend off his mother's awful cuisine with a tirade of witty disparaging remarks, with Barbara Lott occasionally appearing to be on the verge of laughter during the exchanges.

Timothy's love life is a continual non-starter, thanks to interference from his mother or his own reluctance to cut the apron strings. Tim's younger married sister, Muriel (played by Marguerite Hardiman) encourages her dithering brother to fly the family nest, to no avail.
Sorry! is a good series, witty and funny with an occasional dash of pathos, IMO sometimes rather unfairly overlooked.

This 2-entertain release features all 6, series three episodes. Picture and sound quality are good, with English subtitles. The extra is a short but very welcome 7-minute sketch, titled "The funny side of Christmas", In which Timothy and his father sit around the kitchen table on boxing day, discussing the struggle to finish off the Christmas turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked gem, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Aspidistra (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is in my opinion suburban situation comedy at it's best. As with many of the classic comedies, such as Rising Damp, fantastic comedy is derived from the most mundane of situations and a small core of characters are excellently portrayed by fine actors. Whilst some of the situations may appear dated to some I believe the quality of the writing and the acting of the central characters shines through. As others have mentioned it is a great piece of nostalgia as well and my partner (not really into sitcoms) remarked on the fantastic theme tune.
Am hoping all seven series are released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's your birthday...not the first night of your honneymoon, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ronnie Corbett shines once again in another very good series of Sorry as Timothy Lumsden, the 40 year old librarian desperate to escape from his overbearing mother, often with the help of his younger sister Muriel.

The first three episodes of the third series focus on Timothy falling for divorcee Winifred before she reluctantly ends the relationship to return to her ex husband. However, the episode with the stand out moment involves Timothy and Muriel planning their mother's birthday on a day out, to which she responds 'I've got a headache' (the response is in the title of this review), resulting in one of the biggest laughs of the series.

Definitely worth you money if you're a Ronnie Corbett fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Series 3, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD which I purchased for myself and I love it, one the best DVD'S I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd's, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
From ordering onwards, this company was 100% responsive and delivery was very quick and well packaged. The product was excellent value for money, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars language timothy, 5 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this on a sunday night, when growing up, and it's just as funny now, especially the golden rabbit episode, If you liked seies 1 and 2 you got to get this one for the set, as it's the last series. hopefully you wont be sorry because if your like me you will have all 3 series, as it's a comedy classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

Sorry - Series 3 [DVD]
Sorry - Series 3 [DVD] by Ronnie Corbett (DVD - 2010)
7.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews