Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of MGM's very best musicals
I already had a copy of An American in Paris on DVD but without the extras included with this edition. So was I pleased with the extras? Yes, I think it brings out more aspects of Kelly's character which are often hidden - he must have been very difficult to work with part of the time. Stanley Donen's views on "It's Always Fair Weather" emphasises that aspect of Kelly...
Published on 12 July 2009 by F. J. Dukes

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overated
this is a very average film and i was disapointed considering all the hype, it has hardly any songs and mostly dancing and the story is just a bland love story that we have all seen before. it is compleatly undeserving of its best picture win, a streetcar named desire should have won, if you want a great musical buy the sound of music, cabaret, my fair lady or chicago.
Published 12 months ago by qwerty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of MGM's very best musicals, 12 July 2009
By 
F. J. Dukes "Broadmayne" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already had a copy of An American in Paris on DVD but without the extras included with this edition. So was I pleased with the extras? Yes, I think it brings out more aspects of Kelly's character which are often hidden - he must have been very difficult to work with part of the time. Stanley Donen's views on "It's Always Fair Weather" emphasises that aspect of Kelly. Turning to the film; it is difficult to disagree with Saul Chaplin on his troubles about re-arranging Gershwin's "American in Paris" suite to suit the film's ballet but surely he exaggerates? Overall, I think it is a great film and worthy of the Awards and Accolades it received. Leslie Caron makes a fine, enticing début in films and if Georges Guetary's voice grates sometimes, it is now difficult to think of anyone else in the part. So what about Kelly's choreography and dancing; surely this is a real pinnacle in his career and has been said we are lucky that he, Fred Astaire, Cyd Charisse, Leslie Caron, Vera-Ellen, the incomparable Judy Garland, Michael Kidd, Howard Keel, etc. were around with Arthur Freed, Jack Cummings, Stanley Donen, Charles Walters, Vincente Minnelli, Roger Edens, Conrad Salinger and Saul Chaplin when MGM had the money to make so many glorious, timeless musicals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back home everyone said I didn't have any talent. They might be saying the same thing over here but it sounds better in French., 15 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jerry Mulligan is a struggling American artist in Paris, he gets coveted by a rich heiress who can help his struggling career. However, a visit to a night club and a meeting with a delicate young, but spoken for, French girl, leads him into a battle with himself.

Winner of seven Academy Awards, An American In Paris is of course a delightful and breezy picture from the MGM vault. Said to be the personal favourite movie of Gene Kelly, it boasts wonderful tunes from George & Ira Gershwin, brilliant art direction from Cedric Gibbons, vivid Technicolor that fills the eyes, and quite stunning choreography from Gene Kelly. The film, all told, is high on production value and entertaining enough from start to finish. Yet the film's plot is showing definite age problems now, and it also lacks the ode to joy sense of purpose that, for example, Singing In The Rain has. I also feel it's a missed opportunity to actually film the picture entirely on location in Paris instead of on the MGM lot, because a bit of earthy core feels missing from the unfolding story. Leslie Caron as the love rival to the smokingly hot older woman played by Nina Foch, is majestic dance wise, but acting she's very staid, and this too is an irritation.

However, I still adore this film very much, just not as much as Gene and the Academy did, apparently! Come the grand finale it's hard to be too critical when so much energy and deftness of feet has been constructed for our entertainment. With such a production it's suffice to say that now, with all the technological advances made in home entertainment, An American in Paris is an High Definition essential. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Levant Is In Fine Form, 31 Mar 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
AN AMERICAN IN PARIS is one of my favorite Gene Kelly movies. It has so much going for it - great music, dancing and cast. The music is by George and Ira Gershwin and of course it never hurts to have Vincente Minelli as director.
The film marks the Hollywood debut of Leslie Caron and she makes the most of it. Oscar Levant is mostly himself with several memorable lines such as this particularly self-deprecating one: "It's not a pretty face, I grant you, but underneath its flabby exterior is an enormous lack of character."
AN AMERICAN IN PARIS won Academy Awards for Best Picture, Story and Screnplay, Color Cinematography, Color and Direction, Score for a Musical Picture and Color Costume Design. The main competition for awards in 1951 came from THE AFRICAN QUEEN, A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE and A PLACE IN THE SUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and lively musical, 1 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This was Leslie Caron's screen debut and she clearly benefits from Gene Kelly's guiding hand in the film. It's typical of the great Kelly musicals, with some inventive musical numbers and a colourful dance-fest near the end. An American in Paris is not quite as bright and smiley or as funny as Singing in the Rain, but it's entertaining viewing nevertheless, with a bittersweet storyline enhanced by George Gershwin's fantastic music. A particular favourite number of mine is "I Got Rhythm" - Kelly's genuine rapport with the kids as he teaches them English words is pure magic. Definitely worth buying (when's the DVD out?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Aug 2008
By 
MarkC (London, England) - See all my reviews
This is the new 2 disc verison which i believe has been totally remastered. As the quality of the previous DVD was pretty poor, save your cash for this verison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu -Ray Version Very Impressive., 7 Dec 2011
By 
rfn_williams (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good representation of this work. Colours and sound are very good; the musical number at the end is especially impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American in Paris, 17 May 2005
The freed 'A team' have produced another breathtaking musical. Ok the story of an ex GI who stays on in paris to become a painter and falls in love with a women already engaged to another man, isnt the strongest storyline in history but it allows a perfect backdrop to great songs and dance.
The classic scores Ive got rythm, and s wonderful along with Kellys fantastic tap, and Carrons amazing ballet (especially in the sequence at the end) make this movie the ultimate in escapism!. Its hardly suprising this film won 6 accadamy awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American in Paris Blu -ray, 10 Jun 2009
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An American in Paris Blu-ray by David Welford

This at present is an American only release, but the good news is that it is region free. I purchased mine through Amazon/Caiman (15 approx) and it arrived posted in the UK in six days from ordering. This disc have been given Warner's Ultra-Resolution restoration process with a crystal clear 1.33:1 VC-1 encode from the Technicolor original, that produces a beautiful image on the screen, with appealing saturated colours, with a depth and clarity that is at times almost three dimensional. The flesh tones are a bit on the red side, but I found overall the slight pastel painting appearance of the film appears like you feel a film of this period should look like. The soundtrack is mono, a restored DD mix which sounded clear and good on my system. I am sure you are all familiar with the plot, is very lightweight. Many critics have commented that is not one of the greatest of the MGM musicals and the ballet finale is overlong, but this sequence in this Blu-ray version is to me like an artistic masterpiece come to life. What of course half a century on makes the film a lot more interesting is the backcloth of the streets of Paris in the 1950's.

On this single disc there are plenty of excellent very enjoyable extras, mostly featuring Gene Kelly such as `Anatomy of a Dancer' (90mins), which focuses on, his career, and his undoubted contributions to the film world. I particularly liked `Paris on Parade' (9min) a vintage colour segment from FitzPatrick Traveltalks that focuses on the 1937 Paris exhibition.

These extras were not on the original DVD release, which I have and it does not stand up very well when compared to this release. I believe the extras are on the recently released superior two-disc Special Edition DVD, which I understand has the restored version of the film. Highly recommended release to those who have a Blu-ray player and like the film and enjoy escapist feel good films; was this the 1950's very own `Mamma Mia'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great musical, 22 July 2009
A most enjoyable film,dancing,singing costumes,scenery all give pleasure.
Rated by professionals as one of the greatest musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you wanted about this film, 9 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A joy of a CD (2) with all the glorious music from the film plus lots of outtakes. Better than the film in that you don't have to watch the endless ballet sequence at the end. The music for this on its own is great, but I was disappointed that the end of the film had been changed from the original idea, in which the Nina Foch character decides to sponsor Oscar Levant's Adam Cook character when Gene Kelly walks out on her - a much more satisfying end. This CD is, however a really good buy, especially if you love Gershwin's music and are a bit of an Oscar Levant fan (that's me). Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American in Paris [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
9.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews