Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars42
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 31 August 2003
Film fans may already recognise Bret Easton Ellis as the man behind American Psycho. People expecting more of the same may find this film a little more restrained than his previous adaption but this doesn't reduce the impact of the film. Basically, it follows the various relationships and activities of several students on a college campus. Before you say "Oh no, not another American Pie", this film's humour is much darker and subtler in tone. The direction of the film is unusual as well, rather than just following a linear path, it jumps backwards and forwards, allowing you to see each characters (often very different) perspective on the action. Probably not the sort of film for anyone who wants a good post night-out comedy but an excellent drama with a black humour to it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 July 2003
When I saw this film I was neither a fan of Bret Easton Ellis or of James Van Der Beek. However, having seen a snippet of 'The Rules Of Attraction' in a local paper I thought I'd hunt it out. It took a couple of months after release before it appeared at my local cinema which to me didn't bode well as I imagined some completely arty film which I wouldn't understand. Rarely am I impressed by a film, but with this one I watched in rapture at this beautiful yet disturbed love triangle unwind, pieces of cinematic genius weaved throughout. It is however true that the book outdoes the film. I've read the first three of Easton's novels now and they are truely not to be missed. There is no finer '80s New York novel writer, and no writer I've read, who has put the feelings of the X'ers so eloquently as him. Bravo for the film that has tackled so many issues, and been so brave in using such new and incredible cinematic devices. But, watch the film then read the novels and see what more you can glean from them - there are certainly misrepresentations in the film. It is still however a work of beauty, truth and genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 September 2015
One of the fewest intelligent and interesting films about contemporary youth.
Shot with a hip style but also with a personal and original point of view, in order to balance the fresh and trendy appeal of contemporary language with some more solid writing and sense of cinema.
Not just a music video kind of film, but a mature and still explosive story, seen from different points of view, structured but also warm, someway detached but also emotional, like a kaleidoscope of a very combustible stuff whose tension lies underneath the cover of social code and cliché.
Roger Avary (who wrote Pulp fiction) vision of that generation is seen with the eyes of an ex-student who investigate with fresh curiosity but also with some distance, so his vision is not biased, neither pro or against them.
The film is fully enjoyable and presented on a very good blu ray, starring some young actors in what might be their best role and performance of their careers.
Roger Avary's best film ever and probably the best in years about this subject, maybe inferior only to Paranoid Park and Elephant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2004
This film grabbed me straight away I couldn't belive what I was Watching not only is this one the best films I've watched in a long time but its also one of the most original films I've watched in a long time. Most teen college flicks steer away from drug use, date rape, Homosexuality and suicide, but this film puts it all in front of you right from the get go. I was very suprised to see James Van Der Beek in this film as I saw him as a Freddie Prinze Jnr style Actor,but I have alot more respect for him now as he does the Bateman Thousand yard stare just as good Christian Bale and potrays Shaun Bateman aswell as any other actor could,also the directing is sweet Roger Avary has done one of the best jobs to create an atmosphere for this film that keeps you engrossed all the way through it. Watch this film I bought it without even seeing it and I love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
A convincing screeplay well brought to life by superb direction. All the main roles are played out solidly and each character has something equally as important as the next to bring to the film.
Amoungst the many excellent scenes in this superb film are certain moments that I as a film fan I will never forget. I don't want to ruin these moments but suffice to say the character named Dick, Hugo's european trip, and one of the saddest scenes in film history (in my opinoin).
Abouve all Van-Der Beek deserves credible mention for his incredible performance. One of the best film treats of the last year! Recommended to fans of Tarintinos! P.s, could this be the best opening to a film ever? Completely original.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2004
I knew very little about this movie, apart from the fact that it expanded on the talents of James Van Der Beek. One of those actors whose irritated me since I first laid eyes on the sugary slush of Dawson's Creek. Well, everyone deserves a second chance and he definitely grabbed his with both hands. 'The rules of attraction' is centered around the lives of a bunch of college students and in effect starts at the end and works backwards, a bit like 'Memento'. The precredit sequence is a shocker but serves its purpose, I was hooked. Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 6 February 2007
First time I saw this movie I thought it was a load of rubbish. Then a year later, after spending some time living at York university I was stunned by how accurate the movie had been depicting college life on campus.

Having read the book as well now I really think its one of the most under valued films in American cinema.

According to the BBFC website the British DVD is cut by one second during the suicide scene. But its only a fleeting shot, less than a second even, showing how a character slits their wrists, apparently the BBFC doesn't want us to know how to 'do it properly'.

I bought a region one copy out of curiosity to and see what all the fuss was about, and let me tell you it makes no difference at all to the scene in question. However the region one version has been re-dited completey differently in other scenes to ensure an R rating, especially the notorious opening 'vomit/rape scene'! These edits completely destroy the shock value of these scenes and for that reason its well worth sticking to the region two version. (although if you are a massive fan like me it may well be worth owning both copies as the region one also contains an additional audio commentary).

The movie itself is really fun, and Brett Easton Ellis' humour from the book really comes across well. Far better than American Psycho.

And the I've seen the Victor section of the movie make many a jaw drop!!!

10 out of 10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
As with American Psycho, The Rules of Attraction by the same brilliant author Brett Eastern Ellis draws you in right from the opening scenes. The film cleverly replays the same moments giving a different perspective through the eyes of all the main characters. Its a typical B.E.E. tale of sex drugs and spoilt brats in the 80's but has been perfectly adapted to the big screen. The casting was great, all of them bringing a real depth to their role making the film funny, sad, disturbing and memorable. Isn't it time someone did the same for Glamourama!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 July 2011
Roger Avery approaches the material with a funny, light, high energy touch, not
asking us to take Brett Easton Ellis's nihilism too seriously.

Consequently, a film where every character is deeply flawed and
narcissistic is never boring, and often full of a visceral energy. It
even has moments where it becomes moving. And many of the
showy style tricks work perfectly with the excesses of the story.

Yes, on a few occasional the style is distracting, and a few elements are too familiar
and on the nose (Faye Dunaway and Swoozie Kurtz as boozy moms who
choose not to see how screwed up their kids are, the extra shallow
treatment of the gay character. etc).

I can understand how this might put some viewers off.
But I felt like this didn't get a fair shake from critics. I enjoyed
watching it, was never bored, and was even made to think. How many
Hollywood films can you say that about?

Fun soundtrack and a good Tomandandy score too.

You may love it, you may hate it, but it's inventive and brave
enough to decide for yourself.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 November 2013
I now have 645 girlfriends and I love no.123 because she is so sexy I absaloutly love her xxxxx xxx
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Anomaly [DVD]
The Anomaly [DVD] by Ian Somerhalder (DVD - 2014)

Less Than Zero [DVD]
Less Than Zero [DVD] by Andrew McCarthy (DVD - 2003)

Pulse [DVD]
Pulse [DVD] by Kristen Bell (DVD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.