Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something completely different.....
Film fans may already recognise Bret Easton Ellis as the man behind American Psycho. People expecting more of the same may find this film a little more restrained than his previous adaption but this doesn't reduce the impact of the film. Basically, it follows the various relationships and activities of several students on a college campus. Before you say "Oh no, not...
Published on 31 Aug. 2003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bad omen for Avary's Glamorama
Ellis writes books full of graphic sex, social commentary, extreme violence and witty dialogue. Putting his text into the hands of Roger Avary, an Oscar winner with Quentin Tarantino for the script of Pulp Fiction, should have meant an instant classic. American Psycho made Christian Bale a cult darling, with his droll delivery as a murderous yuppie selling Ellis' books by...
Published on 3 May 2004 by swander


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something completely different....., 31 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Film fans may already recognise Bret Easton Ellis as the man behind American Psycho. People expecting more of the same may find this film a little more restrained than his previous adaption but this doesn't reduce the impact of the film. Basically, it follows the various relationships and activities of several students on a college campus. Before you say "Oh no, not another American Pie", this film's humour is much darker and subtler in tone. The direction of the film is unusual as well, rather than just following a linear path, it jumps backwards and forwards, allowing you to see each characters (often very different) perspective on the action. Probably not the sort of film for anyone who wants a good post night-out comedy but an excellent drama with a black humour to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People are afraid to merge on freeways in Los Angeles..., 9 July 2003
By A Customer
When I saw this film I was neither a fan of Bret Easton Ellis or of James Van Der Beek. However, having seen a snippet of 'The Rules Of Attraction' in a local paper I thought I'd hunt it out. It took a couple of months after release before it appeared at my local cinema which to me didn't bode well as I imagined some completely arty film which I wouldn't understand. Rarely am I impressed by a film, but with this one I watched in rapture at this beautiful yet disturbed love triangle unwind, pieces of cinematic genius weaved throughout. It is however true that the book outdoes the film. I've read the first three of Easton's novels now and they are truely not to be missed. There is no finer '80s New York novel writer, and no writer I've read, who has put the feelings of the X'ers so eloquently as him. Bravo for the film that has tackled so many issues, and been so brave in using such new and incredible cinematic devices. But, watch the film then read the novels and see what more you can glean from them - there are certainly misrepresentations in the film. It is still however a work of beauty, truth and genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rules of Attraction, 15 Mar. 2004
This film grabbed me straight away I couldn't belive what I was Watching not only is this one the best films I've watched in a long time but its also one of the most original films I've watched in a long time. Most teen college flicks steer away from drug use, date rape, Homosexuality and suicide, but this film puts it all in front of you right from the get go. I was very suprised to see James Van Der Beek in this film as I saw him as a Freddie Prinze Jnr style Actor,but I have alot more respect for him now as he does the Bateman Thousand yard stare just as good Christian Bale and potrays Shaun Bateman aswell as any other actor could,also the directing is sweet Roger Avary has done one of the best jobs to create an atmosphere for this film that keeps you engrossed all the way through it. Watch this film I bought it without even seeing it and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a weak link!, 7 Jan. 2004
A convincing screeplay well brought to life by superb direction. All the main roles are played out solidly and each character has something equally as important as the next to bring to the film.
Amoungst the many excellent scenes in this superb film are certain moments that I as a film fan I will never forget. I don't want to ruin these moments but suffice to say the character named Dick, Hugo's european trip, and one of the saddest scenes in film history (in my opinoin).
Abouve all Van-Der Beek deserves credible mention for his incredible performance. One of the best film treats of the last year! Recommended to fans of Tarintinos! P.s, could this be the best opening to a film ever? Completely original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an attention grabber from the start, 29 Sept. 2004
By 
Sharon Sutton "smsutton4" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I knew very little about this movie, apart from the fact that it expanded on the talents of James Van Der Beek. One of those actors whose irritated me since I first laid eyes on the sugary slush of Dawson's Creek. Well, everyone deserves a second chance and he definitely grabbed his with both hands. 'The rules of attraction' is centered around the lives of a bunch of college students and in effect starts at the end and works backwards, a bit like 'Memento'. The precredit sequence is a shocker but serves its purpose, I was hooked. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BOOK BECOMES A GREAT MOVIE..., 6 Feb. 2007
First time I saw this movie I thought it was a load of rubbish. Then a year later, after spending some time living at York university I was stunned by how accurate the movie had been depicting college life on campus.

Having read the book as well now I really think its one of the most under valued films in American cinema.

According to the BBFC website the British DVD is cut by one second during the suicide scene. But its only a fleeting shot, less than a second even, showing how a character slits their wrists, apparently the BBFC doesn't want us to know how to 'do it properly'.

I bought a region one copy out of curiosity to and see what all the fuss was about, and let me tell you it makes no difference at all to the scene in question. However the region one version has been re-dited completey differently in other scenes to ensure an R rating, especially the notorious opening 'vomit/rape scene'! These edits completely destroy the shock value of these scenes and for that reason its well worth sticking to the region two version. (although if you are a massive fan like me it may well be worth owning both copies as the region one also contains an additional audio commentary).

The movie itself is really fun, and Brett Easton Ellis' humour from the book really comes across well. Far better than American Psycho.

And the I've seen the Victor section of the movie make many a jaw drop!!!

10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this film!!!, 13 Feb. 2004
As with American Psycho, The Rules of Attraction by the same brilliant author Brett Eastern Ellis draws you in right from the opening scenes. The film cleverly replays the same moments giving a different perspective through the eyes of all the main characters. Its a typical B.E.E. tale of sex drugs and spoilt brats in the 80's but has been perfectly adapted to the big screen. The casting was great, all of them bringing a real depth to their role making the film funny, sad, disturbing and memorable. Isn't it time someone did the same for Glamourama!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!!!!!, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Rules Of Attraction [DVD] (DVD)
I now have 645 girlfriends and I love no.123 because she is so sexy I absaloutly love her xxxxx xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bad omen for Avary's Glamorama, 3 May 2004
Ellis writes books full of graphic sex, social commentary, extreme violence and witty dialogue. Putting his text into the hands of Roger Avary, an Oscar winner with Quentin Tarantino for the script of Pulp Fiction, should have meant an instant classic. American Psycho made Christian Bale a cult darling, with his droll delivery as a murderous yuppie selling Ellis' books by the bucketload. In The Rules of Attraction, his verse is reduced to mere teen-flick drivel, with sparse patches of quality that allude to a far better original source. James Van der Beek plays against type, but with the same limited range as his lovely, homely Dawson's Creek/Varsity Blues character, hamming it up as if he were in a pantomime, pulling faces whilst having comically shot sex with a host of girls. The bisexual prong of Van der Beek's character Sean's love triangle associates with ridiculously portrayed gay men that come straight out of The Birdcage, let alone Will and Grace. Sean Batemen becomes infatuated with Shannyn Sossaman's Lauren, despite only meeting her once. Having a rush of blood to the head, Avary tries to develop Pulp Fiction's time manipulation and fails, with long stretches without seeing a main character. Add to this a terribly one dimensional supporting cast and you have a real let-down.
The silver lining is that the best character, and subject of the bes scene in the film, Victor, is the main male model of Glamorama. However, the grey cloud contained by the lining is Roger Avary's name at the helm of the project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and Brilliant, 8 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Rules Of Attraction [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a great film, realistic, moving, gritty, quirky, tragic, funny and perfect execution by director Roger Avery. The reverse sequence is pure class and must have taken some putting together as is the 'holiday' sequence, not going to give too much away but this film is well worth watching again and again and again, 8.5 out of 10. NOTE: DO NOT buy the UK DVD as it's cut - the US Region 1 and all other European versions are intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rules Of Attraction [DVD]
The Rules Of Attraction [DVD] by Roger Avary (DVD - 2008)
£4.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews