Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Film
'21' is a captivating movie- yes, the original story has been given the gloss of Holywood, but it is a good film. Kevin Spacey brings the character of Mickey Rosa to life with his legendary acting skills, and the character of Ben provided a vivid narrative. All of the cast were good, but for me Kevin Spacey made this film. Also, the soundtrack is electric and contributes...
Published on 20 July 2009 by C.L.H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Counter Opinion
The problem with films based on true stories, or perhaps the challenge, is that the story really has to be red-hot gripping because the dramatisation tends to be rather low-key and the main priority of the director is to get the story across. Well, the story is told very clearly here but it isn't that riveting a tale and it's also one that has been covered before (e.g...
Published on 25 July 2009 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Film, 20 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'21' is a captivating movie- yes, the original story has been given the gloss of Holywood, but it is a good film. Kevin Spacey brings the character of Mickey Rosa to life with his legendary acting skills, and the character of Ben provided a vivid narrative. All of the cast were good, but for me Kevin Spacey made this film. Also, the soundtrack is electric and contributes perfectly to the atmosphere of each scene. The video and audio quality are excellent, as is typical with blu-ray. I'd recommend this for all fans of good Vegas/Casino movies & Kevin Spacey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back put on this DVD and enjoy, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, though before I saw it I did have my reservations. Its a film, supposedly based on true events (arn't they all) about a card scam. I was worried that the plot would be hard to follow and the scam too difficult to understand. I need not of worried, the film is well directed and produced and its a hour and a half of good wholesome enjoyment with a few great twists which keep you alert.

I find that the sign of a good film is that you look at your watch occassionally thinking I hope this movies doesn't end soon and in this case that is exactly what I wished.

A great performance by Kevin Spacey - I reckon his performances are always first class and a good all round film to enjoy which won't stretch your intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films. If you like a film with twists turns and action/drama all rolled into one then this is a great film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 21 Needs To Be "Wound Up" On The Audio, 26 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Is a Good Blu Ray Disc, Picture QualityIs Excellent, But Thats To
Be Expected. Only The Audio Is Very Low In Fact To Enjoy This Movie Your
Volume On TV Needs To Be Increased To About 70DB. I Am Feeding HDMI Direct
In To A Samsung Full HD. No AV Amp Connected. If You have A AV Amp In Your
System, Then You Possibly Will Have No Problem With The Audio.

This Disc Likes 5.1 Master Audio At 1080p, Maby The Enginner Needs To Re-
Calibrate His Equipment And Give A Little "Sump" To The Audio. Otherwise
The Disc is pretty Good.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 21 Blu-Ray, 26 Dec 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'21' is a good film looking at a group of college students who engage in a card counting 'scam' in Vegas. Based on true events you can't help but be impressed by the skill involved and very quickly you are drawn in to the idea and how they go about it. The performances are all pretty solid and this film is also well directed. This is one of those films you don't have to think too hard for and can just sit back and enjoy the ride. It's not earth shaking, but nor does it try to be. It's just a good film with an interesting idea and enough twists and turns to keep you engaged for the duration. Worth a look.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A STYLISH AND POLISHED DRAMA', 31 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What drew my attention to this film in truth was 'Kevin Spacey' (who plays Micky Rosa), who, in my opinion usually a 'class-act''
The film ( inspired by a true story ) is about 'Ben Campbell' ( Jim Sturgess ) a brilliant and gifted student at 'M.I.T '
to achieve his ambitions to be a doctor he wants to attend 'Harvard'
To do this he has to impress to gain a free scholarship, or come up with '300,000' dollars to pay for the course's he needs.
At his current college the 'statistic's' professor 'Micky Rosa' recognises 'ben's' potential, and recruit's 'Ben' into a group being trained to 'card count' ' with the intention of hitting the 'Vegas' Casino's.
The group are armed with false i.d's.
'Ben proves to be brilliant as did the 'professor' suspect.
Will the Casino 'tec's' watching the 'tables' spot the sting ? - The 'tec's' led by 'Cole Williams' ( Laurence FIshburne )
'Ben' becomes obsessed with his own 'stature' in the group as his confidence soars, will he come back down to earth before he looses the purpose of joining the group along with his once valued friend-ship's.
The film is 'stylsh' and 'slick' ...if like me you watch film's purely for entertainment, you'll not want to miss this one.
(Bought the film when released, have considered updating to Blu-ray because it's such a good movie)
Worth watching for the first time or indeed re-visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winner, Winner?, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. A. Davison (Bradford, Yorks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A good attempt at "jazzing up" Bringing Down The House (the story of the MIT blackjack team). One or two of the bits at the end a re "pure hollywood" and seem designed to change the style of the film from "niche market" appeal to action film.

I liked it, but there again I've got a deep interest in gambling games which can be beaten by the use of skill. Whether or not there would be enough in the film to appeal to a non-officianado, is debatable, although there are some nice comedic moments and sevearl glitzy shots of Las Vegas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is probably the best film I've seen in a long long time. I watched it about 3 times in the first week I got it. Never done that with any other film before. THAT is how good it was - makes you feel pretty happy too after watching it. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21: Easy going entertainment, 18 Feb 2010
By 
awmhaozroen (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I gave it a 5-star rating, not in comparison to great in-depth films, but for what the film could be, it is about as good as you would want. It is a really enjoyable film for what it is. For anyone who has ever been to a casino, it plays out your own dreams of the thrill of playing for, and winning, serious amounts of money from the house. The thrills and spills of what the characters get up to cleverly seems to be transfered through to the audience.

If you are looking for great originality and plot depth, this won't be of much interest, but providing you weren't expecting an all-time classic 200-minute marathon, it is definitely a fun, easy-going film that is well-worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 15 Jan 2010
By 
C. Paine (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a great film, I love that this has many actors that aren't as well known as others.
It's a great adaptation of the real story and makes you want to hit the blackjack tables!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 [DVD] [2008]
21 [DVD] [2008] by Jack McGee (DVD - 2008)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews