Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2010
This is halarious! It had me in stitches, this film is for any 1 with a rude crude sense of humour don't buy if u dont have 1
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Very unique and hilarious comedy tailored only for those of a very varied and open sense of humour! This movie is actually called the onion movie so im not sure why they needed to change the title in the UK, the story has so many silly random sketches in the style of amazon women on the moon and Kentucky fried movie and the recent movie 43 also kept this type of style, I think it works really well when your like laughing and saying WTF at the same time, this movie is very sexist and racist at times too, its certainly far different from your usual array of straight forward comedies, really worth checking out for such a cheap price now, very funny, great cast including a cameo from Steven Seagal as the cockpuncher (a spoof action movie) DVD has deleted scenes and outtakes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
Date Movie remains the single worst film I have ever seen in my life bar none and I'm told by people braver than me that Epic Movie, Disaster Movie and the rest are even worse.

This, however, is something different. It was originally called The Onion Movie and has only been repackaged as 'News Movie' to appeal to the kind of people who enjoyed Date Movie (I can't quite bring myself to describe these people in greater depth). Those who know The Onion from its website or books will know what's in store here: a little hit-and-miss, perhaps (when is a series of sketches anything else?) but by and large gloriously funny, savagely satirical and politically as incorrect as can be.

There are deliberate references to the seventies TV satire Network, but what it reminded me of most was The Kentucky Fried Movie and Amazon Women on the Moon, two of my favourite films.

I suppose the message is a simple one: in a departure from all the other movies which finish with the word 'Movie' (with the possible exception of the original Scary Movie, which spawned the whole ghastly phenomenon), this one will actually make you laugh. Unlike other 'Movie' movies, no lobotomy is necessary.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2009
if random to be random is your type of film this is it. everything thing in this film is a complete mickey take.

v.good would recommend to people with a random sense of humor that don't want to take everything so seriously.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Good price for a good item. Very quickly sent.
A highly recommended Amazon seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Oh dear....that's a hour and a bit ill never get back. In the bin it goes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Bought for my son he likes these sort of dvds hesshould like this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This straight-to-video release is effectively a series of satirical sketches strung together by a tenuous plot involving the takeover of the Onion News by "Global Tetrahedron" - a media giant who unashamedly promote their other works during the news.

There are definitely some laughs to be had with this, and some of the observations/parodies are very well executed. Britney Spears-a-like `Melissa Cherry' perfectly demonstrates pop-music's obsession with using sex to sell, whilst at the same time she has no idea about what her record company is getting her to do.

The sketches range from brilliant to average - and the film struggles to maintain the energy it achieves at the beginning as the joke tends to drag a little. By the end of the film you find it amusing but little else - but once it's finished you remember the great moments and chuckle to yourself.

In a nutshell: Some may find this offensive and over-the-top, but the offence is aimed at the media world relentlessly parodied in this film. When it works, it works well - but to be honest, The Onion website (from which this is based) is funnier, and as far as spoof current affairs go - you still can't beat Brass Eye - Series And Special [1997].
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
This film is so funny it had me crying! Every minute was hilarious! Buy Buy Buy Buy Buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Pleased with this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)