Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Twisted Humour
Very dark humour indeed.

This comedy series has a very different feel from almost any other thing I've watched. The whole thing is unique and definitely needs to be seen.

The only worry is that some people will not find this funny at all. They'll be very disturbed by some of the scenes.

Worth checking up on youtube to see some of the...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by M. Murdoch

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever idea taken too far
As with my review of the film 'Antichrist' my feelings here are pretty much the same - in part, creative, memorable and artistic; in part shocking and gratuitous!

Imagine a series of Pythonesque sketches such as a man who visits a consultant for advice on everyday situations or a man who can't find a partner and consequently marries himself or even a TV that...
Published on 12 Feb. 2006 by AGC2070


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Twisted Humour, 21 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very dark humour indeed.

This comedy series has a very different feel from almost any other thing I've watched. The whole thing is unique and definitely needs to be seen.

The only worry is that some people will not find this funny at all. They'll be very disturbed by some of the scenes.

Worth checking up on youtube to see some of the scenes before you buy - it's very possible that you won't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal genius, 24 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a DVD that you would put on for Saturday night all-round family entertainment. The humour is often dark, the atmosphere dreamlike and hypnotic in places thanks to the ambient soundtrack, visual effects and deliberately sedated style of speech used by the actors in many of the sketches. The combination makes for compelling and often intense viewing. Imagine David Lynch trying to do comedy and you've got a rough idea of what to expect. Topics covered include incest and infant death, so if you're buying this as a gift just be certain they'll appreciate the dark humour.

If you like Chris Morris then you should like this, but be warned that it is quite different to The Day Today and Brass Eye. Whereas those were more accessible to a wider audience, this is definitely something that not everyone is going to appreciate. However, for those with a taste for inventive, challenging, cutting edge humour with a dark surreal twist it's a must buy. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD of a Great Show, 4 July 2003
The DVD is well worth owning if you've seen and enjoyed the show. Chris Morris clearly oversees the DVD production - it's chock full of extras, all of them bizarre and confusing like the show.
You can watch deleted scenes and rehearsals, see 3 different versions of every episode, have subtitles (which, in this case, are hilarious, methinks), read the comprehensive music and cast credits, watch Adam and Joe's mickey take of the show, watch two scenes with audience sound and some other stuff I haven't had time to look at.
It's a really wicked DVD production, though I don't know about anamorphic doodaa and framing and suchlike. It all looks good with my big blue eyes.
Buy this if you like Jam. If you don't like Jam, like Jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam rocks my nut, 28 April 2003
I have been waiting for a release of Jam on video or DVD since it first aired. It became a cult show amongst all my friends at university at that time, many of us already familiar with Chris Morris' work on The Day Today and Brasseye, and with the previous radio version Blue Jam. But when Jam came along it really hit a nerve with its surely darker than legal level of comedy. The hugely controversial Paedophile episode of Morris' Brasseye now seems, stylistically at least, quite tame in comparison. Many may find it confusing that Jam is considered comedy at all, with its unsettling atmosphere of psychological torment and disfunctional brutality, and maybe it goes too far, but there is nothing else like it. Comedy is naturally disruptive, and Morris is really pushing back the boundaries with the absurd world of Jam, proving himself one of the foremost innovators working in television. Except now he's made the My Wrongs short film and will probably be the next David Lynch.
I also met him once and he's really nice, he wasn't in slow-mo or swearing at children or anything. So be really clever and buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Jam" DVD from a Japanese viewpoint, 22 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
As a long time resident in Japan, I've been out of touch with British comedy for years. Fortunately I've been able to hear about the alternative comedy scene via "You Tube" of all places.Illegal clips of many comedians and shows revealed to me that British comedy didn't die out after "Monty Python's Flying Circus" or "Fawlty Towers". My joy of discovering the alternative scene of comedians is beyond words. Thus, after checking out many of the comedians and shows on "You Tube", I gradually got down to a list of "must haves" to buy on DVD. I narrowed it down to Stewart Lee, "Ghost Train", "Look Around You" and to the Chris Morris productions "Brass Eye", etc. But for me the most challenging and "enjoyable" is the "Jam" DVD. This ambient dark comedy DVD is quite shocking at first view. Some of the themes are weird and off worldish. The camera work creates an eerie other worldly dimension that brings out even more the insane situations of the people featured in each skit. Repeated views will surely lure a viewer into this zany world and to want to watch it all the more. But beware, you'll need an open mind to get around the off kilter comedy. Stories about sex, murder, lizards, rapists, et cetera may not seem ideal comedy themes, but stick with it, and you'll be guaranteed a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best comedy writer of our generation does it again, 18 Jan. 2007
this dvd is special, the cd it is based on is better, even more crazy and with great music interludes from warp records including squarepusher. but morris has made it a great show for tv with wonderful cinematography, namely the colours and slowed up sketches, almost trying to be the opposite of benny hill. you have to be into dark humour to enjoy this as i cannot think of much comedy which is darker, think of 'the aristocrats' joke and it's somewhere close.

the finest bit of this dvd is the extras. with his releases before, notably the day today and also brasseye, extras have been in abundance with interresting pilots, music, etc... with this dvd morris does a satire on dvds! instead of lots of 'bonus' material he has a personnal dig of it all, making disc 2 just the same as disc 1 but with different colours making then a bit more pastilfied(is that a word?). with the actual extras just being all types of versions of the episode but unwatchable! ie episode 1 a miniture version in the middle of the screen or episode 2 miniture but moving! my favoufite has to be the speeded up version of one of the episodes which lasts about 5 seconds. hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, surreal, sick, twisted, very very very wrong, and very very very funny, 1 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe I missed out on Jam for so long, after being a long time fan of Chris Morris's other work. I'd seen a few clips on YouTube when I finally decided to buy the DVD, and I wasn't disappointed. The dark, trippy nature of the show, weird video editing (even weirder in the Jaaaaam version, also included), excellent ambient background music, all contribute to feeling like you're on some kind of drug with mildly disturbing effects while watching it. In fact, I found it most fun and immersing to watch while slightly intoxicated on a combination of alcohol and completely legal green plant material. As to the extent of the darkness of the show, new sketches often surprised me in how very sick, wrong, and disturbing they were in concept, and how I was in fits of laughter despite feeling like this was something no decent person should laugh at.

And that's kind of the point - Chris Morris's philosophy has always been that there should be no taboo subjects in comedy (I mean, look at the Brass Eye special, paedogeddon), and that maybe if you look at one of these taboo subjects like rape, incest, child abuse, lizards, murder, and suicide from a comedic perspective, you might discover something new about the subject. That, and that making something funny needs to take priority over trying to make any kind of point or social commentary - if you make something funny that happens to make a valid point, you've succeeded, but if you try to make a point and fit humour around it, you're likely to fail. Which, apparently, is why he's not fond of being called a "satirist". Anyway, if you can handle the darkness of the sketches, then you'll probably love this show - and I'm highly bothered by several of the aforementioned topics, like child abuse, incest, and lizards, having been a victim of at least two of those things (I still can't see an iguana without bursting into tears), but I still very much enjoyed Jam in spite of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm. Welcome. Mmmm. Welcome in Jam. Jaaaaam., 30 April 2003
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This splendid set is not going to make Chris Morris any new fans. Jam is not easy viewing. The atmosphere is surreal nightmare-logic, the pace glacial, the subject material for the sketches generally concerned with death, perversion, corruption, brutality.
And it's marvellous. Absolutely fantastic. The sound mix is particularly crisp and disturbing, the distorted visuals crystal-clear and the overall atmosphere of vague unease that watching Jam first time round brought about is amplified many times by the superb presentation.
Much kudos to the performers, especially Kevin Eldon and Amelia Bullmore. This must be difficult and occasionally disturbing stuff to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Humour, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Ross Blake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i'm a fan of dark humour. and this is the darkest. not a show for the fainthearted or easily upset, this show makes fun of abortions, murder, rape, suicide, sexual accidents leading to death.... everything.

saw this on TV very late one night in the UK and laughed until i cried. the rest of the people int he room were horrified. this gives you an idea of what the "average" person would respond like.

more obscure and dark then Big Train or Brass Eye, this show is warped, in a beautiful and sick way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JamJamJamJamJamJamJam, 18 Dec. 2006
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I was used to Chris Morris' previous comedy stints (On the Hour, The Day Today, Brass Eye) and expected this to be more of the same.

I was wrong.

This takes comedy to another level, it is more art than comedy. It has no laughter track, it challenges the viewer to decide what is funny.

Some scenes leave you feeling a bit numb, the scenes with dead babies I found difficult to watch, but that is what Jam seems to be all about. It seems to get the viewer to assess why they find some things uncomfortable and yet some things accessible. Some scenes however are laugh out loud hilarious.

I'd like to think that this was a pop at the media, especially the Tabloid media who use scaremongering and misery to make money.

Uncomfortable to watch and absolutely genius. We need more people like Chris Morris who are able to try new things and push the boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jam: The Complete Series [DVD]
Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] by Chris Morris (DVD - 2008)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews