Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
40
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2008
Not a bad littler chiller for a hollywood remake. A little predictable of course, as it is in the same ball park as Ring, The Grudge, One Missed Call etc etc, so you can sort of guess what its building up to. All in all though I found it to be quite effective. Two young newly weds move to Japan for the husband (Joshua Jackson) to pursue his career as a photographer. On the night prior to their departure to Japan however, they are driving in the woods late at night, lost and tired, they hit a girl who appears to be standing in the middle of the road. It is from this point that events start to take a sinister turn i.e strange images on the photos, haunting visions of the girl they hit, eerie noises and people being killed off one by one in sinister circumstances. As I said its all been done before in similar films but on the whole I found this to be quite a good, solid eerie story, and with the odd jump here and there thrown in. Not brilliant, but not bad at all.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
If you like your horror films to apply to rule of "jump-scares-by-numbers", then go for it. But if you want a genuinely *great* horror movie that keeps you on edge from start to finish, then PLEASE avoid this and go for the Original. Don't ruin an excellent cinematic experience by settling for less. You owe it to yourself AND the original writers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 6 January 2016
After running over a girl in the middle of the night on a deserted country road our pair of handsome Hollywood protagonists are haunted by her spirit, or someones spirit or maybe even the spirit of M.R. James in this dull and boring film from 20th Century Fox

It's such a pity when a film has an interesting concept, that it basically takes that concept and leaves it to hang out to dry in an hour and a half of sheer tedious film making. The concept of spirits appearing in photographs has always been one that gave me the chills, and the scene where they meet an expert on this and look at lots of photos with these extra subjects gave me a chill down the spine, but the rest of this lackluster film is just a masterclass on how not to make a creepy supernatural film.

The story is leaden with a pacing that makes the film feel as though it is four hours longer than it really is. The writer and director clearly have no concept on how to build up tension and get the scares from a natural sense of unease. Instead the go for the dull jump scare route of having the soundtrack interrupted with a huge load noise bomb. Please will you all stop making films like this, go back to making films that are scarey because they draw you into the narrative to the point that you actually think you are in the film.

The lead actors have about as much charisma as a pair of rocks, and give a performance that has as much depth as a puddle on a sunny day.

In a year of great horror films it is sad that such drivel as this is still being made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
You've seen the Grudge, You've seen the Ring ... well you know where this movie is going.

BUT, it is an okay movie if you prepare yourself for the fact that you know where it's taking you, and it is creepy.

A newly wed couple find that after a 'Disaster' things take a weird and scary turn, ending in not quite what you expect for the couple, but exactly what you expect when it comes to the 'weird and scary'.

If you want to watch a movie that you can just take at face value, then watch this one, if you like a movie that gives you something different and doesn't let you guess the plot half way through then leave this one alone.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fans of horror might be tempted by "Shutter - Unrated" but the 'US' BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

There's a EURO alternative (Region B) available on Amazon that will work without playback problems - but at present it has a significant cult price tag.

Region Coding crap again I'm afraid...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 October 2014
American remakes of Asian horror films have mostly struggled to win grace and favour with horror fans. Shutter is no exception, it has been met with the usual howls of derision, claims of it being pointless, losing the horror essence of the original and etc. But what for someone like me who hasn't seen the original?

I found Shutter to be much like how I found The Ring, the Naomi Watts starrer from 2002, a very effective chiller with a solid mystery to be unravelled at the core. The ghost is creepy - as are the various photographic links, the scares handled professionally by the makers, and the finale pays off with a startlingly chilling revelation that freaked me out; and I'm a middle aged man!

It's far from perfect, the pace is a bit haphazard, logic goes out the window often, and cast performances are only adequate in the absence of "A" list stars to propel the story onwards. While it's tough to hang your hat on the two principal players since the emotional empathy hasn't been earned by them, courtesy of the writing. Yet with no frame of reference to raise expectation levels - or down them as well, this is a safe and sturdy spooker that does its job well enough. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
How many American remakes of Japanese horrors are there? 100? Nope, maybe even 1000! Even though Shutter is actually quite a good film, it's nothing even remotely original- and when the credits role, you'll be left thinking: 'Why can't filmmakers produce anything original anymore?!?!'

That said, Shutter does manage to bring back some of the creepiness that made the 2004 original so successful. There's been a few little tweaks to the plot and there's been a bit of extra gore added for its new audience. Still though, throughout watching, you'll be haunted by the same annoying question: 'Where did the originality go?'
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
Having seen quite a few of the American remakes of the J-Horrors, to date there are only two that I've genuinely enjoyed (Ring and Dark Water). The others have ranged from OK to awful (this is somewhere in-between). It's not awful, but I didn't feel any great effort went into it. The script feels rushed, and the cast just about turned up.

Don't be under any illusion - there's nothing original here. OK, so there wasn't anything new in the original, but I felt the execution of the original was much slicker. One example being that the conclusion in the original was reasonably unexpected. In the remake, the ending is setup from very early on.

This movie is okay if you want to crash in front of the TV and watch something you don't need to follow too deeply, but I'd highly recommend the original version over this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 August 2008
Shutter tells the story of a photographer who is involved in a car accident. Whilst his wife is driving down a country lane, they seemingly crash into a girl who vanishes. Soon after, they start to notice strange, white blurry images on photographs printed after the accident.

What follows is yet another generic remake of an Asian film. Whilst it is entertaining enough, there are never any real scary moments. All of the "jumps" are so obvious you see them coming a mile off. The trick of having the camera very slowly creep up behind someone, for it to lead to nothing, is also overused.

Overall, if you are a fan of these remakes, then this film is actually OK. It doesn't drag too much, and the lead actors are engaging enough. If, however you are after something that will really make you think and is a bit more original, then steer clear.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Not a bad film but it wasn't very scary as I would have hoped baring in mind its from the makers of 'The Ring' and 'The Grudge''. This is because the jump scares were a bit lame and predictable. However, The storyline was very good about a newly married couple who begin to see ghosts in there photos and in their new flat.

Overall, It's quite a good film which is enjoyable but don't be expecting it to be all that scary!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.