Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars60
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2011
I've had a run on buying mediocre DVDs but this is where it stopped. Never heard of this film but it's from the same director as TRAINING DAY which was good but not this good. The plot is on an obvious theme but still leaves you guessing and second guessing right up to the end. The acting is right on the nose (literally!) Mr Reeves is every bit as confused and convicting as he was in POINT BREAK, Mr Whitaker is in his best role I've seen - as sinister and menacing as any mobster and Mr Laurie is (as the British public always knew) smart and clinical in his supporting but ever so slightly important role. It's got the same balance of mystery, suspense and action as THE DEPARTED and the acting is equally up to scratch. This film is what Saturday nights in need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
This isn't a great movie, but it isn't bad...

OK... A good cast, and well directed too, but that's not
the important thing about this film...

While watching this, it reminded of LA Confidential, and
as the credits rolled, there was James Ellroy's name as
writer... There is a saying in Hollywood that says, "you
can't make a good film from a bad script"... and the script
is the best thing in this movie, the plot points and twists
come as a surprise. If the story is a bit too by-the-numbers,
it works... Of course Keanu Reeves, acts as stiff as a surf
broad, but the script moves too fast to notice... Over all,
not a bad movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
In this one the thin line between good cop and bad cop kind of disappears. You don't know wether to agree with what is going on or not. I was torn for the most part of it. But then I think we don't have the same approach to the police force as Americans have. So it's rather difficult to understand and follow.
Nevertheless I liked the acting especially since I'm a huge fan of Whitaker and Reeves. Both appear to behave naturally and genuine. As the story unfolds you are absolutly torn between sympathy and anger for what both of them do.
I think this is another great Ayer movie. One star I draw for it's length which is always a problem with his movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
You know Keanu is back to his Speed and Point Break best from the moment he says Konnichiwa (Afternoon in Japanese) to two Korean gangsters! This film has the lot... Conspiracy, murder and frame up! Who does Detective Tom Ludlow (Keanu) trust when he is accused of murdering his ex-partner? Not many, so he sets out to clear his own name, yet every step of the way he comes across obstacles. Does he manage to solve the labyrinth of deceit in time? Or does he join his ex-partner 6 feet under?

A solid performance from Keanu, coupled with great performances from the likes of Forest Whitaker, Hugh Laurie and Chris Evans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
This film with Reeves makes Speed look like a Disney movie! Totally out there!
Action from start 'till finish, and well done David Ayer!
Have to agree though, Reeves could have presented his roll a bit more lively.
But we know Reeves; he's always a bit flat and timid - that's Keanu Reeves for you -
(for a more intense approach they should have given the part to Al Pacino, but he's
already too old for this kind of action, isn't he?!)
And Whitaker, man, before going on set he didn't take only one upper, he swallowed
the freakin' bottle!!! Worth a bit more than the 2 stars Leonard Maltin is giving it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Good for what it was not as good as i expected the film could of done more with added more action as the film is a hour and forty minutes.The starts well with action and you can feel that the film is building for something yes the film does build and has a twist. The film was a bit of a drag near the end and i think the film would of been better if the story was explain better and they added more action scenes to keep the audience interested. The film could of been better seen films like this before but done better this film was a bit disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Top notch movie! Keanu Reeves' performance is complimented by a terrific supporting cast including Chris Evans, Hugh Laurie and of course Forrest Whittaker who totally steals it! The movie is much in the style of 'The Shield', 'Dark Blue' and 'Training Day' on the subject of corruption in the LAPD. While this is no 'Shield' or 'Training Day', it's definitely a great flick if you're into that kind of thing...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
This is a movie by David Ayer ( Fury, End of Watch) he penned the story for training day too. It stars Keanu as a tough and edgy LAPD detective. If you enjoy cop thriller's then this is a good one. It has a good storyline, good acting and good action that will keep you moving along with the film.

I reccomend, if you enjoyed you should watch End of Watch too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2008
The main star Reeves is pretty wooden, definately lacking in any emotional conviction in his acting - how can I care about a character that has probably only three facial expressions? He's got a blank look in his eyes most of the time. Whittaker is good but not his usual best. Chris Evans was the best for me, who seemed alot more natural than the other actors playing cops. The rappers (The Game and Common) in this are surprisingly good too, but it's a shame the main actor isn't Laurie is good too, if underused.

It's a quite alright running time and doesn't go on for too long but the story doesn't live up to expectations. On and the twist? I didn't buy that and there's better twists in TV cop dramas to be honest. The story is mildly interesting but not as action packed as you might think, or at least not in an original or amazing way.

Alot of oranges and blacks so it's pretty standard. The action parts, in particular during a foot chase scene lacks the energy and real heart-pumping, edge-of-the-seat feeling to it that I've enjoyed in other thrillers.

The score isn't memorable and the hip hops songs heard alot desperately try to add street 'atmosphere'. It all gives an air that it's trying to be tough and gritty but just isn't cause it's rying too hard and isn't inventive.

Overall: The script doesn't have anything new to say about crime in L.A., the dialogue is mostly contrived (witness the scene near the beginning with Reeves and the Korean men) and seems to use alot of f-words for the sake of it.
The twist was badly execited and predictable, the acting from the lead was flat and unconvincing and just doesn't have enough grit or moving scenes ro truly show the extent of how dangerous life on the 'mean' streets probably is. Quite forgettable really and there's no flair or spark that sets it apart from what I've seen hundreds of times before.

No extras as well! Am I glad that I only rented this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Ok so you've read the Amazon review and synopsis which is quite comprehensive the only thing left to do is compress it and add opinion.

What's it about?
LA police officers who are stealing from the bad guys to create a large pot of money for their retirement, this theme runs in the back ground while you are shown quarrels between police officers and a the way of the "gun slinger" a police assassin who goes in and kills all the bad guys (a Dexter kind of character) and racism from all sides. The film shows some interesting interrogation techniques involving razor wire and phone book.
The film is self starts slow but goes straight into a gun deal where Reeves gets his ass kicked after insulting the Korean baddies this is then followed by his secret police job as the gun slinger and he gets his own back while saving some girls, the film then shows the discontent between him and his first partner who is now becoming a problem for the police mafia who employ some assassins "living nightmare" who kill his ex partner from there it's the usual revenge story line where after being suspended reeves goes onto confront and kill the "living nightmares" and finds out the police mafia his employers are trying to hang him out to dry and kill him.

Actors.
Keanu Reeves plays the roll of the alcoholic gun slinger quite well with tale of woe behind it.
Forrest Whittaker has clearly got the taste for playing police man after his stint in the shield and plays the king pin.
Hugh Laurie has in my opinion a very short roll in this film. A good move as he does not really fit in and has possibly been cast in the same way the movie makers used to insert Americans into films to sell movies to the Americans (A bridge too far, American saves the bridge not real version of events).

Over all impression.
This is an excellent action movie that plays out like an extended episode of the shield only with a bigger budget, it is also one for the DVD collection especially if you liked Training Day.

I am hoping that the Blu Ray version will be offering a lot more than the standard DVD version as they are charging more for it, but I am doubtful.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)