Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!
For once you can! Following their Kerrang interview a few weeks ago, i was a bit sceptical about the 'next big thing' but checked out their myspace page anyway and i was glad i did. No music has moved me this much in years. Every word out of Brian Fallon's mouth drips with passion, heart and soul, like every word could be his last.

It may not be original...
Published on 18 Aug. 2008 by W. Hood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 59'Sound?
There are a few outstanding tracks on this album. The rest of the songs are of a good standard, making this an altogether very listenable album. There is really nothing bad to say. I would recomend that you buy it. But that's it. There is nothing groundbreaking or any real sparks of genius here. It's just good time roll n rock. The story telling is good, with extra...
Published on 2 Dec. 2008 by S. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 18 Aug. 2008
By 
W. Hood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
For once you can! Following their Kerrang interview a few weeks ago, i was a bit sceptical about the 'next big thing' but checked out their myspace page anyway and i was glad i did. No music has moved me this much in years. Every word out of Brian Fallon's mouth drips with passion, heart and soul, like every word could be his last.

It may not be original (does anyone make anything original these days anyway?), it follows Springsteen's template of telling tales of small town folk, their (and indeed Fallon's) tales of love, loss and discovery. Indeed TGA's sound comes on like the young Springsteen fronting Jimmy Eat World or even The Killers (with added balls).

Every song is played to perfection, hooks to die for, never outstaying their welcome. It's Emo music that is actually emotional and not about identikit haircuts or music vids that are more like mobile phone adverts. This band plays music because they want to, need to, because that's all they have.

Check it out, let yourself be transported to a world offramp diners, seaside boardwalks and 50's Chevys racing down the street. Album of the year by a galatic lightyear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The '59 Sound, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
`The 59 Sound' is another storming album from New Jersey boys The Gaslight Anthem. On this album you get a selection of short, punchy tracks that can't help but put a smile on your face and leave you feeling uplifted. It's simple, good rock music that lives up to the legacy of New Jersey musicianship. There are a few Springsteen references on this album that fans of his will notice and will produce a wry smile. The title track stands out, as does `The Backseat' but to be honest there aren't any dud tracks on this album and although it is short, it manages to pack song after song of great music in. Top riff after riff and hook after hook will keep you coming back for more and this makes for one highly recommended album indeed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 11 Sept. 2008
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
Gaslight Anthem are a band I was not aware of until the EP they released before this. Over 4 songs they perfect the pop/punk/soul combination in effortless style. Proving that this was certainly not a fluke, Gaslight come up trumps on their 2nd album. All the tracks here have great melodies, and massive hooks. The general feel is one of uplifting, even if some of the lyrics have melancholic overtones.

In an age where a good pop song is often eschewed in favour of funny time signatures/weird chords, it's great to see a band take the simple pop formula and give it a new lease of life.

This is a quite brilliant album that demands repeat plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I buy this sooner?, 13 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
The Gaslight Anthem's second album 'The '59 Sound' was on my list of the albums to buy almost as soon as it was released five years ago. I was going to get it purely on the strength of the title track which I discovered on the 'Best of 2008' compilation CD that was given away by 'Classic Rock' magazine. I played that song to death, but never got round to actually buying the album until today, after recently hearing more tracks from it on Spotify.

With two more albums released since then, The Gaslight Anthem have gone from strength to strength and I rediscovered them recently after seeing their latest release 'Handwritten' high in the UK charts. But I do wish that I'd purchased this album sooner.

The title track will always been my favourite, but the whole album is perfect. It's one of those rare releases that actually sounds better every time you play it (and I've already played it six times). I love Bruce Springstein's music, and you can certainly hear his influence on every track, as well as punk and vintage American classic rock. The story-telling songs are strong, hard rocking, uplifting and inspirational, with none of them particularly outshining each other as they are all consistently good.

Don't wait as long as I did to purchase 'The 59 Sound' - believe the many five star reviews on here and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Springsteen should be very proud..., 30 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
This album is exceptional. The music drips with nostalgia, and the lead singer has a raw voice that he manages to control and keep in check, whilst sounding passionate and completely sincere. The reviewer who said he can't sing is missing the point, the lead singer sounds like a young Bruce Springsteen, so is he too incapable of singing? If all you desire from music is pitch-perfect vocals then go look elsewhere.
If you want uplifting music that rocks hard and with genuine honesty and musicianship, then look no further. There's no weak tracks but there's also little variety. The style and structure of the songs remains mostly consistent but when it all sounds this life-affirming, melodic and catchy then who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album keeps evolving, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
JC "JC" (Mansfield England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
I believe a really classic album takes time to evolve into just that - great. Like it first time of listening and you'll soon get bored - not so this album. Its been in my car for two months now and the songs just keep getting better. Fallon's voice is superb, the lyrics the best I've heard since Springsteen's early work. Put quite simply this is the best album I have heard in years. Although the 59 Sound is a real rocking track and clearly a commercial single to be had, the outright winner for me just for the lyrics is Miles Davis and the Cool which blows me away. You Tube Brian Fallon and listen to his acoustic versions from this album - I am so looking forward to many years of seeing this young talent develop - Cant wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '59 Sound, 13 April 2009
By 
D. CLARKSON "Davie C" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
First of all, if you've been inclined to look at this band because they have been put in the genre of punk rock, you may want to reassess your expectations. As the title suggests this is more of a vintage American rock sound, the fact they have been likened to Springsteen (They are supporting him on his tour) might help you imagine their sound, but if this puts you off, it shouldn't. There are actually only a few tracks that stand out, but there isn't a bad song on the album, indeed the more you listen, the more substance you find, which to be honest is pretty refreshing in the current climate of Falloutboy etc...There are no gimmicks with this band (unless you count blue collar as one), or experiments with other genres, they know what they do well, and they stick to it. There's going to be alot of interest in these guys later this year, so if you don't like jumping on band wagons, buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but but expect great things from the next album, 28 Oct. 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
This isn't quite as earthshaking as the hypem, and some of the other reviews would have you believe. It's good, but I feel there is some untapped and unfulfilled talent here that should blossom with the next album if allowed to do so. Along with the obvious Springsteen influences(can you come from New Jersey and NOT be influenced by him?)I liken a lot of the melodic turn of phrase to the late lamented Slobberbone and even some other Southern influences from the likes of the Drive By Truckers and even early REM.

So whilst not as efusive as some other reviewers I am happy to recommend this album to those who enjoy guitar based rock, and say once again tha their next album should be a brammer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americana dream, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
steve "Management" (Tring, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The '59 Sound [VINYL] (Vinyl)
There is not a song on 59 Sound which doesn't sound like you've known it your whole life. If you grew up on E Street, The Heartbreakers and The Silver Bullet Band or if you consider Pearl Jam and Counting Crows vintage The Gaslight Anthem's breakthrough record still sounds like classic rock.

Of course of you're looking for innovation or sonic experiments you've come to the wrong place. I adore this album because it knows what it is, what it wants to be and who it's audience are. If Great Expectations doesn't get your blood up or Here's Looking At You Kid don't wet your eyes then you aren't one of my people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Haunting, ROCK, 10 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The '59 Sound (Audio CD)
After fully listening to this album- bought on the recomdation of a friend- I have to say it's stunning. The tweleve tracks, whilst all somewhat short, have a punchy rock vibe that is almost like pop at times, and not in a bad way. The the entire album is drenched in a ghostly nostalgia for the 50's and 60's, the tracks evocative of and a homage, a tribute to, the lost golden age of a jazz and rock.

Other reviewrs have commentented negativly on the lead singer's voice but to me it's brilliant, conveying a desperate, bitter rage which gives way to enthusiasim, and at times, such as in 'Here's looking at you kid', a fantastic haunting track on love, fame, and desire, a deep sorrow and pathos, skillfully conveyed. The voice is clear and easy to hear, not hoarse as some have said but rather refreshingly alive with raw human emotion.

As you can probably tell from the Album cover there is a prevading sense of what I can only describe as 'cool'. Even the song titles let alone the lyrics are cool, take 'Film Noir' and 'High Lonesome' for example.

However, whilst all the tracks have brilliant openings many of them do sound similar and so I rarely listen to numbers 5-9 which sort of blend into each other. However, this is just my personal opinion and everone will have their favourites. In my mind the Album is worth it just for tracks 1-4, which are explosive and rock-infused, and then the refreshing darkness and sorrow of tracks 10-12, which show the range of the band and Album. I've listened solely to these 7 countless times and will continue to do so.

It has become one of my most-listened to Albums and at the price it's at you can't afford to miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The '59 Sound [VINYL]
The '59 Sound [VINYL] by The Gaslight Anthem (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews