Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2011
Perhaps I'm writing this review a little early as we've only watched a few episodes. BUT, I wanted to point out that the episodes on the DVD are not in chronological order. Why not the lord only knows.
A character that features heavily in the 'first' episode is missing from the second, only to appear as a new recruit in the third!
A check on the correct order from IMDB reveals they are heavily mixed up indeed. I suspect the programme compilers didn't know what the right order was so just bunged them on at random. I realise that many are missing but that's really no excuse.
Anyway, it seems a good series and the above probably won't spoil it.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
I found the video collection more entertaining than what is currently on television.
There is some hissing noise in parts, as well as some minor skipping in a couple
of episodes. The comedy is dated, but clean. Keep in mind the age of the show was
when everything was done in black and white, and of an older generation. If you are
familiar with the show, I would recommend this set. The other two box sets of this
show divide the fifty episodes between them. This is one set with all episodes together.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
The only fault with this set is that some berk didn't take the few moments to put them into proper order. Seriously, how long would it have taken to place them in the correct order so that when you watch them they follow along as they should. Anyroadup, that being said, this is comedy at it;s best. Will watch these over and over for years to come.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
Nostalga in spades !Turning back time to our youth.We have enjoyed these origional shows although for current day standards the jokes & pictures may be a bit amature looking.This all adds to the charm of these types of series & for their time they we very enjoyable as they are today
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
For those who remember the old black and white comedies, I am sure like myself will enjoy these episodes of TV past. Compared to modern productions the plots are very basic but highly amusing. The only disapointment is that the DVD's are not in chronological order - ie. they do not begin with the earlier episodes. It may well be worth considering Bootsie & Snudge" as a follow up if the series is enjoyed. An excellent unusual gift for the over 60's - perhaps appealing to male rather than female.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Excellent comedy. Original and best performances from masters in their own field. Character playing which suited the individual actor. Well typecast.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
This collection is far from complete, as there were 154 episodes broadcast in 5 Series between 1957 and 1961. Most of the earlier episodes - from Series 1 to 3 - have been wiped and this collection mainly comprises the surviving 50 episodes; which are Series 4 complete plus about half of Series 5.

Four of the earlier episodes did survive, but confusingly the compliers of this collection have not put the earlier episodes in chronological order.

The complete track listing, of the 6 disks, is given below.

Disks 1 to 3 contents are all from Series 4
Disk 4 starts with 3 earlier episodes: "The Mad Bull" and "The New Officer" are from Series 1 and "W.R.A.A.C.S" is from Series 2
The remainder of Disk 4 continues with Series 4
Disk 5 starts with Series 4 and ends with one episode from Series 5
Disk 6 contains the remaining surviving episodes from Series 5
The final track on Disk 6 "Officer Material" is from Series 3

If you watch the earlier episodes first, the back story will be less confusing!

The collection also includes 2 extras:
At the end of Disk 4: the 1960 Christmas Pantomime "Bootserella"
At the end of Disk 5: the 1st episode of the spin-off series "Bootsie and Snudge"

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
Snudge and Jimmy O'Goblin
The Take Over Bid
Enter a Dark Stranger
Snudge's Budgie
Where There's Smoke
The Camera Never Lies
When the Poppies Bloom Again
Miracle in Hut 29
Night Train to Itchwick

Disc 2:
Officer and Gentlemen
Tiger Bisley
The Bisley Court Martial
The Long Walk
Happy New Year
The Invisible Man
The Bowler Hatting of Pocket
The Soft Life

Disc 3:
Son of Snudge
A Rocket Called Fred
Don't Send My Boy to Prison
A Piece of Cake
Never Volunteer
A Marriage Has Been Arranged
The Good Old Days
A Question in the House
The Claude Snudge Story

Disc 4:
The Mad Bull (S1)
The New Officer (S1)
W.R.A.A.C.S. (S2)
April Fool
Goodnight Ladies
One of the Lads
Holding the Baby
Pen Pals Anonymous
Christmas Special from 1960: Bootserella pantomime

Disc 5:
Are You Receiving Me?
The Efficiency Expert
Bull By The Horn
A Touch Of The Other
The Feud
Out Of This World
Emergency Hut 29
The Return Of The Pig
Bootsie and Snudge 1st episode - Being Nice to Bootsie

Disc 6:
The Do-Gooders
The Marshal's Baton
Insurance
It's In The Book
Waltzing Matilda
The Kindest Man in Britain
The Artist
Officer Material (S3)
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Great to catch up on the old stuff. Pity that it was recorded in order but we followed a list that someone else had put on th net to get them in a reasonable order and it worked quite well. A lot of things we had forgotten about but it is a number of years since it was on TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Outstanding piece of history and based on national service. Funny still funny today. Having watched bad lads army I found this and loved it. I like kindest man Britain and bowler hatter of pocket. The programme is old and out dated it has good acting in it. It makes me laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
i own the full tv series of Dad'a Army 1968-1977 series 1 - 9.and movie i just had to have this tv series

The Army Game i have never seen and have only just found out about this series this year out of 154 episodes only 50 remaining to have this series on dvd will be great to watch the reason i went for this dvd set is Because i remember the name of the late great Alfie Bass . Alfie Bass . was a real star . and the Late great Dick Emery . Dick Emery was a real star .i have many lost episodes of the Dick Emery show uncut from 1960s to the 1980's i watch every week ..The Army game looks to be a great show . and the price for 50 episodes is great and the supper fast Delivery from Amazon is the best . for anyone looking for TV series about the Army buy this befor they are all gone for ever
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)