Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant Fun !
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the...
Published on 30 Nov. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But Very Predictable
It has often been claimed that at the core, there are really only a tiny handful of stories. Stories that are told and retold endlessly across the generations with only cosmetic changes upon each retelling. Osiris becomes Jesus; Rama becomes Skywalker. A little while ago, in a review of The Smurfs, I made the point that if this is indeed the case, then the real job of the...
Published 14 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant Fun !, 30 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the chickens. Following numerous attempts to escape, including frequent trips to the cooler for Ginger, the head chicken, they start to feel they will never make it out alive. Enter Rocky, a Yankee rooster who uses his charm to get among "the beautiful English chicks". Of course, he's hiding a secret which they eventually discover (not saying what it is) and the scene is set for the funniest climax ever with a few nice twists along the way. The dialogue is more likely to appeal to the adult audience while the kids just enjoy the set pieces, but it's Jane Horrocks (Absolutely Fabulous) who gets the best lines throughout the film including what will hopefully become a catchphrase once the film hits the shops just in time for Christmas;
"BUT I DON'T WANT TO BE IN A PIE. I DON'T LIKE GRAVY"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, absolutely brilliant, 22 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
How can anyone not be entertained by this film, any purist who can find holes to pick at in the production are well, just sad !! Bah Humbug to them.
The action that goes on in the background, like where Mrs Tweedy pinches Mr Tweedy's bottom in the scene where food rations are doubled, doubles me up every time, and the spatial sound (if you have a TV up to it) when Rocky and Ginger are in the oven never fails to make my kids jump, and the bit with Edwina , the first time my kids saw it you could cut the tension with a knife.
You can watch this film a dozen times, and get something new out of it each time. A good sucess indicator is, whenever I drop a CD/DVD into the player, Chicken Run is already in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 24 Feb. 2007
By 
John "John" (Church Stretton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I got this DVD for Christmas even though i have seen this film umpteen number of times. With most films i would hate it if i got it after watching it loads but no, it is very difficult to get bored of this film. There are funny little bits that sometimes you miss and then next time you will spot them and think 'Genious!' This film is now widely regarded as a classic and so it should be! It is great fun for all ages! The animation is fantastic, when you see films using animation this well you think what is the point in films using special effects! The models are fantastic and the voicing is apsolutely second to none! If you haven't seen this film either you're just born or WHAT PLANET HAVE YOU BEEN ON?!! The ending maybe isn't for vegetarians! A must see for all ages 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHICKEN RUN [2000] [Blu-ray] [French Import], 15 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Chicken Run [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
CHICKEN RUN [2000] [Blu-ray] [French Import] From The Creators Of Wallace & Gromit! The Cinema Experience In High Definition!

Unlike anything ever seen on the big screen, ‘CHICKEN RUN’ is the year's most original comedy hailed by critics and audiences alike as "magical entertainment for all ages!" While the chickens on evil Mrs. Tweedy's farm dream of a better life, a clever hen named Ginger is hatching plans to fly the coop for good! The only problem is, chickens can't fly - or can they? Every escape attempt goes fowl until Rocky, a smooth-talking all-American rooster, crash-lands into the coop. It's hardly poultry in motion when Rocky attempts to teach Ginger and her fine feathered friends to fly...but, with teamwork, determination and a little bit o' cluck, the fearless flock plots one last daring attempt in a spectacular bid for freedom! Featuring unforgettable characters, incredible animation, and all-star voice talent, this instant classic from the Academy Award-winning creators of WALLACE & GROMIT is eggs-traordinary fun for the whole family!

Voice Cast: Julia Sawalha, Mel Gibson, Miranda Richardson, Tony Haygarth, Benjamin Whitrow, Timothy Spall, Phil Daniels, Jane Horrocks, Imelda Staunton, Lynn Ferguson, John Sharian, Jo Allen, Lisa Kay and Laura Strachan

Directors: Nick Park and Peter Lord

Producers: Nick Park, Peter Lord, David Sproxton and Jeffrey Katzenberg

Screenplay: Karey Kirkpatrick

Composer: Harry Gregson-Williams and John Powell

Cinematography: Dave Alex Riddett, Frank Passingham and Tristan Oliver

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.77:1

Audio: French: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: French

Running Time: 85 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: DreamWorks Pictures / Aardman Animations

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Life is tough if you're a chicken. It's especially tough if you're one of the chickens incarcerated in Mrs Tweedy's Farm, a grim Yorkshire institution run in the style of a Second World War POW camp, where the fowls in question are lined up each morning for a military-style inspection. There’s no parent-pleasing sanitisation going on here: a few minutes into the film, one unlucky hen is being decapitated after falling behind in the laying stakes. The scene is made all the scarier for being depicted solely via suggestive shadow and a nasty chopping sound.

Things take an even darker turn when Mrs Tweedy (voiced by a suitably fearsome Miranda Richardson) decides that her eggs aren’t bringing in enough cash, and invests in a pie-making machine instead. A fantastically inventive monstrosity of slicing, spinning blades, gravy-spurting pipes and flaming ovens, it prompts one of the hens, the dim-witted Babs [Jane Horrocks] to observe, in one of the film’s most-quoted lines: “I don’t want to be a pie… I don’t like gravy.”

It's this balance between danger and wit that makes ‘Chicken Run,’ the first feature-length animation from Wallace and Gromit makers Aardman, such a treat for adults and children alike. The film, which follows Mrs Tweedy’s hens as they make a bid for freedom, is essentially The Great Escape with chickens – an engagingly ridiculous tagline, which the animation lives up to with charm and verve.

Julia Sawalha steals the show as Ginger, a plucky heroine, determined not to end up as a plucked heroine. Meanwhile, Mel Gibson is on brilliant form as American intruder and “lone free ranger” Rocky, who crash-lands on the farm with a cry of “freeeeedom” (one of Chicken Run’s many, many film references and in-jokes). The distinctive “Claymation” animation is as charming as it was when the animation film came out in 2000.

A naive hen, Babs [Jane Horrocks], who serves as a counterpoint to Ginger's desire to feel the grass under her feet, and two rodents, Fletcher [Phil Daniel] and Nick [Timothy Spall] who have an unusual passion for chicken eggs, make for some sharp and humorous moments (thanks to a clever screenplay by Karey Kirkpatric). There are many film references, including ‘The Great Escape,’ ‘Stalag 17,’ ‘Indiana Jones,’ ‘Star Trek,’ ‘Mission: Impossible’ and many double meanings, which are good for a few thought-provoking laughs.

The very best thing about ‘Chicken Run,’ however, is its exuberant final act, in which Mrs Tweedy’s demented metal beast of a pie machine is contrasted with the chickens’ home-made aircraft, inspired by the exploits of ex-RAF mascot rooster Major Fowler [Benjamin Whitrow]. Old-fashioned, British home-spun inventiveness wins out, while the big, bad corporate-style machine collapses in a mad explosion of gravy, in a finale that manages to be beautifully silly and rather clever all at the same time.

The painstaking animation, done by moving clay models in miniscule amounts over time, comes off as a labour of love. The set design is incredible: from the chicken coop to the pie-making machine, Nick Park and Peter Lord (who also co-directs) transport us to a world that not only goes beyond our reality but also the realm of traditional animation. Like with many other good animations, the voices, most of them British, are what make Chicken Run work so well. Every single voice is executed perfectly. I particularly liked the fact that the strongest character was a female and Julia Sawalha pulls off a Ginger who deserves respect and admiration.

‘Chicken Run’ is highly endearing, consistently attractive, and incredibly refreshing. While there's not one particular part in the film that had me rolling with laughter, I was constantly amused and at the end, I was filled with euphoria as the credits rolled up the screen.

Blu-ray Video Quality – I have to admit that it is hard to find an image transfer for an animated film recently that is not reference quality. But with the 1.77:1 anamorphic transfer of ‘Chicken Run’ I can honestly say that this is among one of the best 1080p encoded transfers I have ever seen. There are no moments where the print becomes anything less than jaw-droppingly good. Detail and sharpness are both perfect, as is the use of colour in many of the daylight scenes. The black levels are done well with no grain at all, and there were no instances of shimmering or pixilation. This is one of the best transfers I have ever seen and another great effort by the DreamWorks Pictures and Aardman Animations team.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – With what is becoming a tradition for DreamWorks Pictures and Aardman Animations, ‘Chicken Run’ is presented with both French and English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtracks. While neither track is especially active, they each get the job done. The first half of the film is primarily dialogue and music driven, with the surrounds kicking in when the pie factory makes it appearance. There isn't a very noticeable difference between the French and English 5.1 DTS-HD surround versions mix and this animation film feature provides a bit more music in between the back surrounds and does a good job at enveloping the viewer. While not a showy mix, these tracks each offer clean and well-defined sound.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras: When you view all of the extras, the French Subtitles appear automatically. To get rid of them you have to go to the SUBTITLES button on your Blu-ray remote and with the up arrow key button you can set it to off.

Audio Commentary with Directors Peter Lord and Nick Park: Directors peter Lord and Nick Park tell us in great detail why they produced the animation film like they did, especially in homage to the film ‘The Great Escape.’ We also get to hear their love to all “Claymation” characters, and especially the in jokes for the chicken Edwina, which was in honour to the ex-Member of Parliament Edwina Curry [Health Minister], who had to resign from the British Government over the scandal over eggs, provoking outrage by saying most of Britain's egg production is infected with the salmonella bacteria. They also inform us why they chose specific actors to dub the voices for the “Claymation” characters. They also inform us that they had too many ideas for the film, but because of the time limited, they had ditch a lot of the ideas. What is so beautiful about this audio commentary is that the stereo separation is spectacular as each person is exactly in the left and right speakers. A must view audio commentary.

Bandes Announcements:

Theatrical Trailer for ‘Chicken Run’ [2000] [480i] [16:9] [2:16] [French and English Versions]

Theatrical Teaser Trailer for ‘Chicken Run’ [2000] [480i] [16:9] [1:28] [English Versions]

Theatrical Trailer for ‘Chicken Mission Impossible Run’ [2000] [480i] [16:9] [1:23] [English Versions]

Feature Documentary: Fowl Play: The Making of Chicken Run [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [22:43] Here we get to see a very intimate and rare behind-the-scene look at the making of ‘Chicken Run,’ and all involved in this 5 year project to bring this awesome Aardman Animations to the silver screen. Contributing to this beautiful made documentary is directors Peter Lord and Nick Park; Julia Sawalha [Ginger]; Miranda Richardson [Mrs. Tweedy]; Mel Gibson [Rocky]; Jake Eberts [Executive Producer]; Jeffrey Katzenberg [Executive Producer]; Dave Sproxton [Producer]; Jane Horrocks [Babs]; Harry Linden [Production Manager]; Merlin Crossingham [Key Animator]; Guionne Leroy [Key Animator]; Tim Farrington [Art Director]; Lynne Ferguson [Mac]; James Mather [Supervising Sound Editor] and John Powell and Harry Gregson-Williams. Narrated by Timothy Spall.

Feature Documentary: The Infernal Pie Machine [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [14:26] Directors Nick Park and Peter Lord talk in great detail on how they produced the animation piece with the Pie Machine for ‘Chicken Run.’ They also tell in great intricate detail about how the “Claymation” is made to look so good on the silver screen. On top of all that they give you lots of information on the task before them to produce the animation film, plus you also get lots of clips from ‘Chicken Run,’ especially with infernal pie machine.

Feature Documentary: The Secrets of Dubbing the Voice [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [26:58] First off we get to see the actor Gérard Depardieu sitting in the French recording studio telling us about his involvement with dubbing his voice for the animation character “Rocky” with the French Cinema release. Other contributors to the documentary explaining their input into dubbing the animation characters are Josiane Balasko; Valérie; Jean-Marc Panneteir [Artist Director for Dubbing]. [French with no English Subtitles].

Finally, ‘Chicken Run’ is another brilliant classic animation film from the mad geniuses at Aardman Animations, a quick confection fix that's consistently enjoyable and a non-stop treat for the eyes. The Blu-Ray looks great in 2D, but what a shame they could not do a 3D conversion, while the extras are impressive compared to what passes for bonus content on Blu-Ray nowadays, and offers something for adults and children alike. Families looking for a fun time for everyone watching will find it here. Distinctly British and wildly imaginative, Nick Park and Peter Lord's animation film is a triumph of solid writing and virtuoso animation. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's nice to have some time on your own......., 27 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I just cannot believe anyone or their kids found this film boring or lacking in Aardman polish, how sad do you have to be to apply production standards to a film involving plasticine chickens? This film is brilliant and the one liners will stay in your mind for a long time. Ginger's stirring 'We can die free chickens or we can die trying' countered by Babs 'Are they the only choices' still makes me laugh, and I know it's coming. This is a film to suspend reality for and to enjoy for the sake of enjoyment. Forget the art critics and the kids with no sense of humour and buy this movie it's fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Aardman animation, still well worth repeated viewing., 15 Feb. 2015
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
One of the best feature-length stop-motion animations to come from a British Studio, Chicken Run was loosely based on the Great Escape, but given several twists only the brains at Aardman could have dreamed up, and then the stellar casting of the voices was inspired, with Mel Gibson even re-using some of the Braveheart lines but in a completely different context. The plot is daft and impossible, funny and gripping and potentially tragic, but by the end of the film we are all believing it and urging the hens to succeed in escaping the dastardly Mrs Tweedie.

As with all Aardman films adults will have fun picking out the references to many classic films and TV shows, not just the Great Escape, and the children will just enjoy the ride as the flock of heroines, and just a few heroes, grab their heartstrings and imaginations.

There are lots of extras on my copy of the DVD including several trailers, a making of, Aardman Archive clips, and a directors commentary. It is in 1.85:1 full colour with 5.1 surround sound. Released in 2000 it still feels fresh each time we watch it again. The Wiki entry for this film is well worth reading if you wish to know more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for Kids and Adults alike, 22 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Chicken Run is a wild ride into the world of animation. The references to The Great Escape and Braveheart are pure genius. I loved this film and so does everyone I speak to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Just wonderful!!, 30 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
It was the film I wanted to see so much when it appeared in the cinema, being such a fan of Wallace and Gromit. I went to see it with a friend's daughter (aged 9) and we both had such a good time. It's touchy without being Disney-esque sentimental and it's funny without being Hollywood-ish over the top. And being able to watch it again at home was just fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantanstic alround entertainment, 4 April 2002
not just for the kids a good laugh for all, and you don't even have to be a farmer to understand the goings on. We all know someone like a character from this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Aardman classic,contain spoilers., 11 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] (DVD)
Aardman were responsible for the masterpiece Wallace And Gromit shorts and feature film as well as top feature films Flushed Away,Arthur Christmas,The Pirates and the recent Shaun The Sheep,this animated cracker is not as good as any W A G film but is next best in the Aardman collection.
The plot is fairly simple:A band of chickens are kept prisoner like on a farm owned by a evil husband and wife.The chickens try to escape loads of times but most the time get caught and end up not coming back again.They get a boost when a American Rooster named Rocky(voiced by the superb Mel Gibson)crash lands on the farm.What we get then is them trying to fly out the farm with Rocky's help even though he was shot out of a cannon and didn't fly in,so they decide to build a plane to get out instead but have to get a move on as the evil owners want to turn them into chicken pie.
This is truly a excellent animated movie with great visuals and i love that this is a slight spoof of classic war film The Great Escape with the escapes similar to that movie and even the cooler scenes are included.
The cast along with Gibson are made up of top British actors like Julia Sawalha,Miranda Richardson,Timothy Spall,Phil Daniels,Jane Horrocks and Imelda Staunton and their unique voices all work very well together and i love the relationship between Mel's Rocky and Julia's Ginger and think the rats played by Spall and Daniels steal the show.
Its very funny though not as roaring as Wallace And Gromit but all in all a fabulous little animation and proves why Aardman is up there with Disney,Dreamworks and Pixar in the animation department.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicken Run [Blu-ray]
Chicken Run [Blu-ray] by Mel Gibson (Blu-ray)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews