Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUINTESSENTIAL COEN BROTHERS AT THEIR BEST!,
This is the Coen Brothers' finest work. Based on the novel by Southern writer Cormac McCarthy, this is an instant American film classic that should be talked about and studied for decades to come.

The story involves Mexican drug money, a Vietnam War veteran who finds it, an elderly Sheriff who's about to retire, a bounty hunter who thinks he can beat the odds,...
Published 10 months ago by Robert Blenheim

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am not a fan of the coens, and I have never read the book.
The film is two thirds a great movie, sadly the last act is nonsense. I appreciate what the Coens were going for but I think the last act lets it down. Basically it all spins out of a drug deal gone south, Josh Brolins characters stumbles across the carnage while out hunting and takes the cash. That is what appears to be the main plot and is what the film seems to...
Published on 1 Nov. 2009 by genejoke


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUINTESSENTIAL COEN BROTHERS AT THEIR BEST!,, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Robert Blenheim (Daytona Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
This is the Coen Brothers' finest work. Based on the novel by Southern writer Cormac McCarthy, this is an instant American film classic that should be talked about and studied for decades to come.

The story involves Mexican drug money, a Vietnam War veteran who finds it, an elderly Sheriff who's about to retire, a bounty hunter who thinks he can beat the odds, and a psychotic killer with a cattlegun, a sociopath the like of which you haven't seen on the screen since Hannibal Lechter. Underneath its harsh realism set in a small Texas town, the film paints a mournful portrait of America in the process of change with a sadness about the passing of a more innocent time, a theme reminiscent of the films of Sam Peckinpah. The film's acting, from every lead player to the smallest character walk-on, is perfection itself, but it is the portrait of killer Anton Chigurh by Javier Bardem that should live forever in film history. The film's composition of shots and timing of its editing is the finest case study in cinematic precision since the great works of Alfred Hitchcock (for example, just watch the tension created by the crinkling of the slowly unfolding candy wrapper).

The most controversial part of the film is its last fifteen minutes, a conclusion that leaves most audiences dissatisfied, but there is something special going on here, and the Coen Brothers know what they're doing. If you invest some time thinking about it, and perhaps see the film again, you might experience a small epiphany and discover that the Coen Brothers have pulled a kind of alienation trick and refocused the film as a morality tale about the nature of evil. In that sense, the resolution can be seen as perfect. What you will be left with are many questions. But I can only tell you to see this masterpiece, one of the great films the new century has given us, and know exactly what great provocative cinematic art is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diefies moral reading, 31 Dec. 2008
By 
Damon K. J. Mitchell (Slovakia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
I think (though I don't want to speak for anybody else) that the main reason some people don't like this movie is because it defies traditional moral and movie logic - there really is no moral compass here. What happens to every character is almost totally random, good deeds often results in terrible consequences and and bad deeds can go ahead unhindered - in this sense it is much truer to life, but it makes disturbing cinema where we are so conditioned to see heroes be pushed to their limits but ultimately triumph and evil doers be punished by those who suffered most at their hands. Themes of chance and determination/fate and the crossing over of unavoidable lines of force or action are the themes of this film it seems - made most vivid in the coin toss scene with the shop assistant.

The abrupt ending threw me for a loop the first time as well - annoyed me and frustrated me.... but hell it also made me think about what I'd seen and that's something not many movies do - sending you off with a friendly cinematic, cathartic pat on the back. And the more I thought about it the more it seemed right, to tie everything up neatly at the end would undermine the very idea of movie itself.

Be prepared to think about it a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am not a fan of the coens, and I have never read the book., 1 Nov. 2009
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
The film is two thirds a great movie, sadly the last act is nonsense. I appreciate what the Coens were going for but I think the last act lets it down. Basically it all spins out of a drug deal gone south, Josh Brolins characters stumbles across the carnage while out hunting and takes the cash. That is what appears to be the main plot and is what the film seems to centre on, well that and the mob hitman tracking down Josh brolin. It sounds like a fairly straight forward action movie, and I almost think it would have worked better if they had kept it like that. But I suppose related to the title we see a fair amount of Tommy Lee Jones' sheriff trying to figure out what has gone on, and trying to help it all get resolved without too much bloodshed. Javier Bardem is very imposing as the hitman, in fact all the performances are very good. Sadly by not showing the climax to the story and then spending the last act dragging out the last little bit of plot and showing Tommy Lee jones moping about the senselessness of it all leaves the veiwer feeling cheated. A shame that and a few other minor niggles lessen what could have been a masterpeice.
The film looks good anyway and on blu ray even more so but i wouldn't say it is an essential blu ray purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to remember this movie for a long time., 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Helen Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
I'm generally a big fan of the Coen brothers and the motion pictures that they create, and this is a great example of why. I consider this to be one of the best films by Coen brothers. On top of that, I consider this to be one of the best films ever made. The story revolves around the main character called Llewellyn Moss (Josh Brolin) as he stumbles across abandoned pickup trucks, multiple dead bodies and two million dollars in cash just sitting in a briefcase, just waiting to be taken. Without thinking things through, Llewellyn takes the money and makes a run for it, however he does not know that he is being hunted by an unstoppable force that goes by the name of Anton Chigurgh (Javier Bardem) Whilst Sheriff Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones) is chasing Anton.

From there we have a story that is intense, brutal and surprisingly thought provoking. As a whole though, this is an action movie more than it is a drama and naturally if a drama has action I would prefer it if it focused on the drama instead of the violence because for me the story is what's most important. Surprisingly though, the large amount of action doesn't take away from the drama element of the film.

The performances by the actors and actresses are actually chilling because they are so good, especially the performance from Javier Bardem. Bardem takes on a role that is truly haunting and it makes you feel like you always want to be in his good books. There are multiple scenes that with Anton in them that truly stand out and send chills down my spine and truly make you feel scared. His voice is very deep and sounds just a little bit croaky which further adds to the tension of most of his scenes, some of the things he says are just confusing and odd but this surprisingly adds to the intrigue and mystery behind the character.

The thought provoking element of the film mainly comes from the ending, I feel that once the films finishes and rolls into the credits it leaves a lot of debate to be made and it really makes you think about what the ending means, and to me that is the sign of expert film making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves all the credit it got! (The ending explained), 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
SPOILER ALERT!
This film is a perfect example of how to turn a simple story line into an amazing film with the help of some world class acting! When i was watching this film my 19 year old sister said during the coin toss scene with a man in the shop, "That guy is really creeping me out now!" towards Anton Chigurh played by Javier Bardem in this movie as the ultimate bad guy, that is how powerful his acting was with one of the best performances I've seen. The film is like a western film but set in present times with a sense that the film is a thriller it also has some comical scenes. It is truly gripping at times and was very tense, it also got emotional at times.

Ending explained:
I have heard a lot of confusion over the way this film ended and a lot of people have decided to dislike this movie purely because of the ending but this would do the film injustice. The ending is very simple to understand but does take a little but of thinking. I'll keep it as simple as possible to understand so you can watch it and put the pieces together yourself. Llewellyn Moss has the money, Anton Chigurh finds him, kills him (which you don't see in the film) then goes after his wife, Carla Jean, for causing him so much inconvenience but Anton tries to play the coin toss she refuses this is maybe a sign that Anton is not in control of her, he then kills her (which you also don't see during the film).
Tommy Lee Jones who is a sheriff who is after Anton and trying to track him down goes to a previous crime scene and sits down to ponder on the crimes. Anton is in the scene but this is just what Timmy is only imagining in his head. He then notices the vent has been unscrewed and opened, this is where Llewellyn liked to hide the money, Tommy Lee Jones comes to the realization that Anton has taken the money. After that scene he decides to retire because he accepts that the country he works in is no country for old men.

The final scene is him talking about two dreams. Now these aren't just random dreams, these reflect on the movie. The first dream is about his father giving him money that he lost, this represents the lives of the people that he failed to save and the law he failed to enforce. The second dream is about his father ridding on ahead of him in the dark and he knew whenever he got to where he was going his father would be there, this represents that with all the cold and darkness in the world Tommy's Dad will be waiting for him and Tommy can't turn all the darkness of the world into light meaning he can't make a crime free world but there is a small glimmer of hope. This was a perfect ending to the film for me although it may not be everyone's type of film and ending.

Finally, I didn't buy the DVD of Amazon so i can't comment on that side of things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down in West Texas, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
The Coen brothers should be given an award simply for the perfectionism of their casting, in virtually every film they make.
There are at least three performances in this darkly obsessive film that are the equal of any from the last few years.
Josh Brolin is exactly right as the rough-round-the-edges `good guy` Llewelyn Moss, who finds a pile of money he intends to hang on to.
Javier Bardem is exceptional as the very bad guy Anton Chigurh, an amoral psycopath who nevertheless lives by his own perverse `moral code`, who sports an evil haircut and a wide scary mirthless smile. This actor was (as the interviews in the excellent Extras menu tell us) awed and delighted to work with the Coens, and his gratitude shows, in spades. It`s a great contemporary study in deadly-smooth, grimly droll reptilian malignity.
The great Tommy Lee Jones - who, as actor or director, can do no wrong in my book - is the grizzled `good cop` Tom Bell, who`s seen it all, and is nearing a retirement he appears to both long for and dread.
But there`s also Scotland`s own Kelly MacDonald as Brolin`s sweet but quietly tough wife Carla, executing a perfect Texan accent, and Woody Harrelson as a slightly slimy hitman who is, as it were, hoist by his own petard.
It`s good to see the wonderful Barry Corbin (so good in cult TV series Northern Exposure) as Tom`s equally grizzled brother Ellis, and Tess Harper as Tom`s good-hearted wife.
This is a film to watch more than once or twice, if only for its terrific set of performances, as well as its superb overall design, moody photography, and typically effective script by the Coen brothers, from Cormac McCarthy`s novel. (Incidentally, surely it`s about time for Cormac`s Nobel Prize...?)
It`s gory, it`s intermittently violent, it`s bloody - but none of it is either excessive or gratuitous. And Tommy Lee Jones`s sheriff speaks for the forces of sanity in his all too few scenes, bemoaning the new-style criminals who are bringing a nastily new type of crime to his patch. As he says: "Who ARE these people!" He also refers to Bardem`s character Chigurh as `a ghost`, which is as accuarate a description of the man as anything. I just hope that, if ever I see a ghost, he`s nothing like Chigurh.

In its own weird way, a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT MEDITATION ON EVIL, 24 April 2013
By 
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
The film is about the nature and consequences of evil. It resembles Shakespeares play 'King Lear' which was also a meditation on mans revolt against nature, and the evil it creates. The film begins with wide angle shots of prairie land, this vast, silent force of nature much as it must have looked at the beginning of time. There are three protagonists, Bell the sheriff, who is the helpless narrator. the other two Chigurh, a psychopathic killer and Moss, a cowboy. During the film the three all comment on the inevitability of whats coming in the future.
Moss, leaves a wounded man to die in the desert. His consience leads to his destruction by a drug cartel. His behaviour is not malevolent, but his selfishness results in the death of innocents; unforgiveably his wife, a driver, a hotel proprietor.
Chigurh, almost a cartoon character, a remorseless killer with warped morality, killing anyone who obstructs or offends him. His evil is magnified by his pleasure in unsettling his victims.
Sherrif Bell has lost his nerve. He has seen too much and is haunted by the fate of his relations who were lawmen. He fears for his future,and doesn't understand the evil surrounding him. He ultimately chooses to live and resigns from his job.
The silence, which is a backdrop throughout the film, is interrupted by modern life, first Chigurh, then Moss. Both are disturbers of nature and their conduct leads them finally to destruction, both in turn possess the drug money, and lose control of their own destiny. We don't see Chigurh's ultimate fall, but we see the beginning of the end in the car crash.
Bell decides to leave his job and choose life after what may have been the defining moment of his career. He revisits the Moss murder scene, after being informed the drug money hadn't been recovered.He enters the apartment after realising Chigurh was or had been in there. He relaxes when it appears empty, but then notices the air vent cover has been removed, then realises Chigurh is still there, probably with the money. He walks away, out of the dark apartment into the bright light of the vehicle headlights.
The ending , when he has retired, explains his reason for resigning; He describes two dreams he had. The second, he speaks of his sense of getting old. His late father, younger than he himself now was, riding ahead on a horse with a lamp. Into the darkness. He expected to catch him up ahead. This is an allegory to do with his father who was killed. The last thing said in the film, by the sherrif was 'I woke up', and the film ends. He didn't want to die, he chose life. In this context 'woke up' may have a double edged meaning waking up from physically sleeping and waking up and realising that he had to retire, change his life, or he would end up like his late family.
One of the things that appeared to annoy many people is that there appeared to be no resolution to the film. In these terms, no Moss v Chigurh rematch or Bell v Chigurh. This is understandable after the outstanding hotel shootout scene which was the high point of the film. The question that should really be asked is, how could you possibly follow what has previously happened in the film. At the time of publishing his book masterpiece,'Smileys People', the author John le Carre was asked why he hadn't detailed any subsequent meeting between Karla and Smiley. he said words to the effect that it would have been impossible to write. I think the same sentiment could be applied to this film, how could you add more to this film, superbly acted throughout, great storyline with deeper almost supernatural undercurrents. Watch it again. This is fabulous stuff, a film classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not read the book first!!, 5 Mar. 2011
By 
Big Mike (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
I am very glad that I did not read the book before seeing the film. This is because the film is very faithful to the book and would have spoiled the surprises for me. However, there are two very significant events near the end of the film that the book cleared up for me. The film well-deserved the four Academy Awards it won. Josh Brolin was also excellent and perhaps even underrated as Llewelyn Moss. Scottish actress Kelly MacDonald was also amazing, as was her West Texas accent as his wife Carla Jean. Tommy Lee Jones was as always a great pleasure to watch. His character of Sheriff Ed Tom Bell was a much more low-key character, although very significant than his U.S. Marshal Sam Gerard. The character does not offer a chance to participate actively in any of the film's many scenes of action and violence, although the opportunity does present itself on several occasions. Javier Bardem is just stunning as Anton Chigurh, the most chillingly evil film presence since Hannibal Lecter. Even the smallest roles of the supporting cast were well-played. Woody Harrelson is great in a brief appearance as Carson Wells, who is sent to seemingly reel-in or subdue Anton Chigurh, although the film does not offer a very clear explanation of his character or actions. It would seem that the character was sent on a damage control mission. The Academy Award winning cinematography by Roger Deakins presents a great look at the harsh and inhospitable landscape of West Texas. I only wish I had taken the time to see this great film on the big screen. It will stay with you long after you see it. It demands repeat viewings to fully appreciate. It is brutal and shocking, yet fascinating. I haven't been kept in such suspense and tension by a film for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Country for Old Men, 9 April 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
I want to start by saying `No Country For Old Men' has one of the most menacing bad guys of the many films that I have seen. He is mostly eerily silent and when he does talk it is quietly and controlled, he is ruthless, unrelenting and with an almost psychopathic element to his nature. This alone would make for compelling viewing before you add in the storyline of the film. From the word go this film has a dark and brooding atmosphere to it and the tension is palpable and only builds as it progresses. Following one man who stumbles across a case full of money, another trying to track him down and the sheriff who is trying to protect and serve, provides the hunter and hunted plot that keeps you fully engrossed. This has amazing performances from all involved, Brolin, Lee-Jones and Bardem are all riveting to watch and this is probably Tommy Lee-Jones' best performance to date. You get the added bonus of Woody Harrelson in a minor role and yet he still manages to deliver another top job as he always does. At just under two hours this film isn't excessively long and I found myself intrigued and on edge the whole time. The ending kind of fizzled out after ratcheting up the tension (hence the four stars) but overall this makes for satisfying viewing. This is one of those films on Amazon that seems to be either loved or hated and it has to be said that it's not your Hollywood, all action blockbuster, but it's all the better for that. If you like well acted, slow burning, beautifully directed and tension filled films, then this is the place to go. Well worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Country For Old Men, 24 Jan. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
I want to start by saying `No Country For Old Men' has one of the most menacing bad guys of the many films that I have seen. He is mostly eerily silent and when he does talk it is quietly and controlled, he is ruthless, unrelenting and with an almost psychopathic element to his nature. This alone would make for compelling viewing before you add in the storyline of the film. From the word go this film has a dark and brooding atmosphere to it and the tension is palpable and only builds as it progresses. Following one man who stumbles across a case full of money, another trying to track him down and the sheriff who is trying to protect and serve, provides the hunter and hunted plot that keeps you fully engrossed. This has amazing performances from all involved, Brolin, Lee-Jones and Bardem are all riveting to watch and this is probably Tommy Lee-Jones' best performance to date. You get the added bonus of Woody Harrelson in a minor role and yet he still manages to deliver another top job as he always does. At just under two hours this film isn't excessively long and I found myself intrigued and on edge the whole time. The ending kind of fizzled out after ratcheting up the tension (hence the four stars) but overall this makes for satisfying viewing. This is one of those films on Amazon that seems to be either loved or hated and it has to be said that it's not your Hollywood, all action blockbuster, but it's all the better for that. If you like well acted, slow burning, beautifully directed and tension filled films, then this is the place to go. Well worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007]
No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007] by Ethan Coen (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews