Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Road legal upgrade
A good road legal upgrade matches my osram H7,s perfectly.better than leds i have already recommended this product to friends.
Published 15 months ago by MPH

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ideal W5W bulb to complement OSRAM Nitebreakers or other 'white' bulbs.
Purchased based on recommendation by members in the various audi forums. Consensus was that these are the best road legal (E marked) bulbs to complement the white colour OSRAM Nite Breakers (DIP/Fullbeam).

I originally wanted an LED bulb, but after experimentation/research:
a. LEDs tend to be too 'white' compared to the Nitebreakers, looks as bad as odd...
Published 21 months ago by Nicholas Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ideal W5W bulb to complement OSRAM Nitebreakers or other 'white' bulbs., 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
Purchased based on recommendation by members in the various audi forums. Consensus was that these are the best road legal (E marked) bulbs to complement the white colour OSRAM Nite Breakers (DIP/Fullbeam).

I originally wanted an LED bulb, but after experimentation/research:
a. LEDs tend to be too 'white' compared to the Nitebreakers, looks as bad as odd as original audi bulb.
b LEDs emit mainly from the front.
c. LEDs easily dazzle other road users.
d. They 'blub' blown error on the computer.
e. LEDs are not E marked (road legal).

I can confirm these are almost as white in colour as the NiteBreakers, an almost perfect match. A HUGE improvement, as the old bulbs looked odd compared with the nice white OSRAM's.

Not blue at all - which is perfect, however the blue coating reduces their brightness by around 50% compared to the original 'brown' looking audi bulbs. They are also blue when switched off, which might look strange in some headlight units.

Not sure how long they will last. Most of these 'whiter' bulbs tend to run hotter which isnt helpful for lifespan.

TLDR: An ideal W5W bulb to complement OSRAM Nitebreakers or other 'white' bulbs. Emits white light NOT blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Road legal upgrade, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
A good road legal upgrade matches my osram H7,s perfectly.better than leds i have already recommended this product to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium satisfaction., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
Definitely better than the standard one but not as good as a LED w5w. The light is more white than blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Philips Blue Vision review, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
I ordered these Philips W5W blue vision bulbs based on other reviews I have seen, installing them was a little tricky on our BMW X3 as they are situated inside the dip beam units and they are not easy to access. Once the W5W bulbs had been installed they made a nice noticeable visual improvement, if you are expecting Ice Blue coloured side running lights... these are not for you as they only look whiter and brighter so personally I think the Philips packaging is a little miss-leading. However... I am quite pleased as the colour is a nice improvement to the original yellow light that was emitted by the standard bulbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lot better than standerd bulbs, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
haveing orderd these and fitting them i didnt like the look of them so took them back out and replaced with a cheaper full set of blue vission big mistake ,couldnt see a thing ,so after visiting my local car user shop and reading lots of reviews i orderd two set of phillips extreme vision h7 for main and driveing beam and put these back in being a person who hates driveing at night thats until now these along with the phillips h7 are a perfect match and im not normaly impressed but haveing drove three nights in a row once raining once foggy and tonight just normal they are all fantastic ive now got phillibs in all 8 bulbs (fogs aswell) ,when all on give crystal clear vision ,would of gave a 5 star but the blue colour looks wrong when off ,i will definatly purchase phillips from now on ( hopefully not any time soon as spent a small fortune on 8 bulbs so hope they last) but by far the best bulbs on the market and id tryed four other sets before .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great match for OSRAM Night Breakers, 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
I bought these bulbs based on a recommendation from a twitter follower. I was looking to replace my dull, gold-coloured sidelights with something a bit whiter to match my Night Breakers.

I drive a lot at night, and having good visibility is a must for me. And these match the white light produced by my headlights perfectly.

My only problem is that Philips, nor OSRAM, seem to make a clear bulb that produces such light, and the blue bulbs look a bit odd when seen up-close. Although this is something I'll suggest to them. But these certainly do the job and are well worth paying that little extra (about 1 each, based on other W5W bulbs from Amazon) for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and bright....., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
Installed them into the boot of the car and I must say there is a difference in brightness.... There isn't really much I can type about this product apart that they are a cheaper alternative to LED bulbs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i was after., 20 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. A. Mardell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
These days, all premium cars come with Zenon headlights, which give a lovely white light.

As a start, i brought these to replace my standard sidelights. Exactly what i wanted. In the dark, they are very obviously different from the standard bulbs. A nice white light, without the blue tinge of the cheap ones from ebay.

I'd not noticed these also come free with any Philips Bluevision headlamp bulbs, (which i also brought), so now i've got white bulbs in both my cars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY ! WARNING ! PALE YELLOW LIGHT ., 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
THESE ARE A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME. THEY GIVE OF A PALE YELLOW LIGHT. THEY ARE WEAKER THAN THE 0.67 BULBS I GOT FROM LOCAL CAR SPARES SHOP. PLEASE DO NT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THESE, SHOP AROUND, CHECK REVIEWS FIRST (UNLIKE ME). I FITTED THESE ON A BRAND NEW FORD FOCUS IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER. SELLER OFFERED ME FULL REFUND( I HAVE TO PAY RETURN POSTAGE ) BUT I AM SUSPICIOUS THAT PHILLIP'S WOULD PUT THEIR NAME TO SUCH A PATHETIC PRODUCT SO WILL BE SENDING THESE TO LOCAL TRADING STANDARDS OFFICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bright, but not blue enough, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 0730024 12961-BV W5w Blue Vision Bulb 5W (2 Bulbs) (Automotive)
The bulbs are bright, but they aren't blue. Bought these for a customer who liked the brightness but was disappointed with the tint, which is only visible at night where the headlights make the tint irrelevant anyway. I have blue LED ones myself which emit a strong blue colour. Happy enough with these not to return them though, so 3/5 overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews