Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small tale charmingly told
This film has an easy naturalness that has great charm. It only covers a day in the life of two people and poses many questions and few answers but you sense that much has been achieved in their lives. In different ways, each of the two main individuals are pretty unsympathetic and undoubtedly the greatest achievement of the film is that, by the end, you care about them...
Published on 23 Mar 2009 by Peter M

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault the service but this is a dreadful film
DVD arrived promptly and well packaged but sadly the content did not live up to the service. The film is a 2007 homage to 90s indie art house films but we switched off when the 'kooky' female lead declared a passion for photographing lost shoes- cue what is meant to be a terribly profound sequence of shots of abandoned shoes around LA 'have you noticed they always come in...
Published 8 months ago by Emzles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small tale charmingly told, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Peter M (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This film has an easy naturalness that has great charm. It only covers a day in the life of two people and poses many questions and few answers but you sense that much has been achieved in their lives. In different ways, each of the two main individuals are pretty unsympathetic and undoubtedly the greatest achievement of the film is that, by the end, you care about them and would like to know what happens next. It is small in scale and slight in content but an extremely enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragically Beautiful, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most beautifully shot films I have ever seen. It is quirky and different, Funny and emotional. Being shot in black and white needn't put anybody off as it adds to the art house feel of the film. If anybody is looking for an easy to watch, sickly sweet Hollywood romcom, do not look here. However if you want a smart and modern, tragic love story, that will stay with you long after you watch it, you must buy this film. In search of a Midnight kiss is quite simply one of the best films I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought no one walked in LA, 16 May 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting to like this but in fact it is rather adorable. Perhaps you could bracket it with the Before Sunset/Sunrise movies, where boy and girl learn about each other, walking and talking through the streets. The b/w photography is quite beautiful, the film artistic without being arty. Thank goodness it's not a big studio production, which would inevitably have resulted in a new commercial brat-pack showcase for young actors the studio wanted to promote. You know the type?

If one were hypercritical one might say that the dating couple appear to experience a complete change of character as the date progresses. He is sulky and neurotic at first: she is pushy and pottymouthed. These personae are dumped along the way as so much posturing, leaving us with simply an attractive couple of people on a date, one with great highs and miserable lows.

Funny and warm flick which is believable and never insipid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an indie flick with real heart, 12 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't really sure what to expect from this one. The title leads you to believe it will be a fairly run of the mill, cheesy love story. I was surprised in every way. It's very real and gritty and it's exploration of the themes of love and attraction is in no way corny or rose-tinted. The actors are all fantastically believable. Prior to watching this movie I had heard of none of them, but I will definitely seek them out in other stuff. I laughed heartily at all the laddish, crude banter, but the film really delivers on a deeper emotional level, as the leads let their guards down and connect with each other. The tension is palpable and the way it is filmed makes it feel as if it's all happening to youself, the viewer - you really feel them being drawn together.
It was apparently shot in eight days, on a shoe string budget, which makes it legendary in my book. The music is also worth a mention. The tracks by Shearwater are first rate. In short, I loved it and would recommend it to all my friends, male or female, but maybe not to older folks, because in places it is quite coarse, though not offensive IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for some..., 24 May 2010
By 
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
A very enjoyable film, however if you do not like dialouge heavy movies this is not for you. It's quiet but direct and I found it affecting. Recommended if you enjoyed Before Sunrise and Before Sunset, or are interested in indie modern US film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Indie Romantic Comedy, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
ISOAMK is a sweet, funny romantic comedy in the vein of Before Sunset (and apprantly Once). It is pretty much just a couple walking around LA on NYE talking. Luckily for me this is just the sort of film i love. Its is very low budget, apparently the directory moved to LA from Austin with some of his Friends who acted and starred in it, to make it. All the characters are great particularly the neorotic, insecure, overly sensitive main lead. There are some really funny lines particularly between the main male protagonist and his friend and it has a fantastic soundtrack led by Shearwater that really adds to the sweet but melancholic mood. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Nick (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Since catching it on TV, I've bought copies for all my friends who I think'd watch it (as well as for myself). It's beautifully filmed in black'n'white - never seen Los Angeles look like this before, the locations and cinematography both exceptional - while the unstarry, appealing actors flesh out well-rounded, complex characters in the best indie-romance since 'Before Sunrise'/'Before Sunset'. In a way, too, it felt like a modern, profane 'Annie Hall' or 'Manhattan' - funny, fresh, romantic but true. At this ridiculously low price, well worth trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good indie film, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Dr. I. Donald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This starts of a little on the irritating - too cool for school front. It quickly moves into a good narrative developing character to the point that you care what happens to them. The lead woman is very annoying to begin with and as is true to life lets her self blossom creating a character that draws you in, surprisingly liking her. The sound track is good too - I downloaded it from Amazon.
I read somewhere that this is a bit "emo". Having looked that up, I'd have to agree, but it's also a little boho, a little gritty and a little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this film, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Don't take any notice of the one negative review of this film. If you have an ounce of the romantic in you then I think you will love this film. However, if you want the usual cheesy love story then maybe its not for you.
I loved this film. Beautifully shot in black and white. Good script and good acting. only once or twice does it become a bit corny...in the old cinema for instance.
I loved the two main characters. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classy and funny low budget feature, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyable and witty piece with excellent and charming performances from Scoot McNairy, Sara Simmonds and a great turn from goofy mate Brian McGuire. One of those things where it all happens in 24 hours which reminded me a bit of Daytrippers and also a bit of the early Hal Hartley days. The plot ain't huge but it keeps just surprising you when you think you know where it's going and the dialogue is real and earthy and most of the time made me feel like it was improvised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD]
In Search Of A Midnight Kiss [DVD] by Alex Holdridge (DVD - 2008)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews