Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars141
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2008
I can't add much to the other reviews other than say what a great purchase this set is from Katie. A selection of her best tracks, three great new songs, two songs not on her standard albums and the fantastic live Rotterdam DVD where Katies 2008 live set can be relived in all its glory, complete with between songs chat. For those interested, these are the live songs on the DVD :-

1. Piece by piece
2. I do believe in love
3. My aphrodisiac is you
4. Crawling up a hill
5. Mary Pickford
6. Blues in the Night
7. If you were a Sailboat
8. Ghost Town
9. Thank you, Stars
10. Perfect Circle
11. What I miss about you
12. Spiders Web
13. If the lights go out
14. Scary Films
15. Spellbound
16. Mockingbird Song
17. The closest thing to Crazy
18. Nine Million Bicycles

19. On the Road again
20. Kozmic Blues
21. I cried for you
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2008
A Collection after just three albums, some of you might think it's too soon... But actually, there are some great song missing! And that's not because of bad choices, because all songs here are masterpieces!
For those who don't have the albums, it's a great opportunity to discover the magical voice of Katie Melua.
For those who already have them, there are three new wonderful songs, a bluesy one with "Somewhere in The Same Hotel", a more catchy with "Two Bare Feet", and an undescribable "Toy Collection". There are also two released songs but not on the albums, "What A Wonderful World", the impossible duet with Eva Cassidy, and "When You Taught Me How To Dance", from the soundtrack of "Miss Potter", which are also worth the purchase of the Collection.

Moreover, there is the DVD with the Rotterdam concert, which should end up convincing you, or re-live an unforgettable evening if you went to a concert of the Pictures Tour.

To sum up, a must have for everyone!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
With all that this outstanding artist has achieved it is difficult to believe that she still only 24!

This CD contains Katie's best known songs including, "Closest Thing to Crazy", and "Nine Million Bicycles" as well as a selection of the best of her first three albums. However, even if you have the other albums, the CD is worth buying for the three new tracks;

"Two Bare Feet" is a catchy jazzy number and "Somewhere in the Same Hotel" is laid back and soothing. However the best of the new tracks for me is. "Toy Collection", written by Katie herself with a slight folky and haunting sound to it which again shows her outstanding songwriting ability which is at least as good if not better than her manager Mike Batt.

The cherry on the top however is the 90 minute DVD of Katie's concert in Rotterdam recorded on her current world tour. Here, Katie demonstrates her natural live performing ability. She opens completely on her own with just a guitar and piano on stage for the first two numbers, flawlessly delivered before her top quality band makes it's entrance.

Katie's stage presence shines throughout. Her natural charm and warmth is evident in the way she efforflessly chats to the audience between numbers. Rather than merely performing the songs e
33 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
Living in the USA I was unable to attend this tour. However I pre-ordered The Collection when it was about to come out. Gosh I am glad I did. The CD is good but the DVD WOW. This is not only one my favorite Katie realted items I own but it is probably my favorite concert DVD. What a concert. It shows Katie at her best. So many great songs on the DVD it is great to see these songs performed live. I can only imagine what is was like being there. Also outstanding video and audio quality. The "Behind the Screens" bonus is also quite enjoyable to watch. I hope Katie and Co. keep making outstanding items like this in the future.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
The Katie Melua Collection" is an overall compelling selection of Katie Melua's best songs so far.
Among others there are "What A Wonderful World", a great duet with the deceased singer
"Eva Cassidy" and naturally one of the most popular songs "Nine Million Bicycles"
The 17 track collection also includes three new songs.
The up-tempo track Two Bare Feet", which will be released on the 27th October as single,
the melancholic-poetic composition "Toy Collection" (which was written by Katie for the MySpace film `Faintheart') and the blues-song "Somewhere In The Same Hotel".
Unfortunately my favourite song "What I Miss About You", a result of a collaboration with Andrea McEwan is only seen on the DVD, which includes a 90 min. live show, filmed in Rotterdam during Katie's 2008 tour. On this tour Katie Melua was supported by Andrea McEwan, whose debut single "Candle In A Chatroom" was also released recently. (Have a look at it! It is recommended for all friends of "jazz-pop / folk"-music).
The DVD includes a very interesting video-blog "Behind the Screens", showing the preparation of the tour this year. (by B. M. Powell's "MelvilleB" & MichaelWSt)
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my hubby who is a fan but I wasnt convinced, since listening to her album though I have been converted and play it more often than he does!! A lovely album and a lovely voice.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
The combination of Katie Melua's distinctive sound with what can best be described as relaxing and often emotionally stimulating songs make this Katie Melua "Collection" one of the "Must have's" for your music collection.
So put the kettle on, make yourself a brew or even tip a little wine into a glass and treat yourself to a little bit of time to yourself as you absorb Katie's magnificent vocals - Enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
Didn't know much about her bought it to find out more, what a good idea it's never off the cd player and the dvd is full of great extras too. Hoping to get to see her live.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
How can anyone not love Katie. I just love listening to her beautiful voice. Katie is a very talented young lady. Another lovely CD. Can't wait for the next one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
I bought this product mainly for that bonus DVD with the concert on it. I can tell you I had a great time watching it, Katie sounds amazing live! Some costumers above complained about the concert not being as spectacular as those of many pop stars. This is true, but personally I don't care. This is not about the show (although those screens in the background are pretty cool) it's about listening to good quality live music.

The best-of CD is great, too, especially recommended for those who don't own Katie's three studio albums yet. I do, so if the DVD had been available separately, I probably would have gotten only that.

To sum it up, it's a great package and is really worth buying.
review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.