Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track list for the live DVD
I can't add much to the other reviews other than say what a great purchase this set is from Katie. A selection of her best tracks, three great new songs, two songs not on her standard albums and the fantastic live Rotterdam DVD where Katies 2008 live set can be relived in all its glory, complete with between songs chat. For those interested, these are the live songs on...
Published on 20 Nov 2008 by S. C. Trump

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK as background
Not a really bad album considering some very average songs. It suffers mainly from Katie Melua trying to be something she is not. She would in my opinion be a far better recording artist without the odd excursion into silly voices which simply do not work. Also in attempting to stretch her vocals she gets close to screeching The duet with Eva Cassidy is a good example as...
Published 5 months ago by robsure


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track list for the live DVD, 20 Nov 2008
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
I can't add much to the other reviews other than say what a great purchase this set is from Katie. A selection of her best tracks, three great new songs, two songs not on her standard albums and the fantastic live Rotterdam DVD where Katies 2008 live set can be relived in all its glory, complete with between songs chat. For those interested, these are the live songs on the DVD :-

1. Piece by piece
2. I do believe in love
3. My aphrodisiac is you
4. Crawling up a hill
5. Mary Pickford
6. Blues in the Night
7. If you were a Sailboat
8. Ghost Town
9. Thank you, Stars
10. Perfect Circle
11. What I miss about you
12. Spiders Web
13. If the lights go out
14. Scary Films
15. Spellbound
16. Mockingbird Song
17. The closest thing to Crazy
18. Nine Million Bicycles

19. On the Road again
20. Kozmic Blues
21. I cried for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie at her best!, 29 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
A Collection after just three albums, some of you might think it's too soon... But actually, there are some great song missing! And that's not because of bad choices, because all songs here are masterpieces!
For those who don't have the albums, it's a great opportunity to discover the magical voice of Katie Melua.
For those who already have them, there are three new wonderful songs, a bluesy one with "Somewhere in The Same Hotel", a more catchy with "Two Bare Feet", and an undescribable "Toy Collection". There are also two released songs but not on the albums, "What A Wonderful World", the impossible duet with Eva Cassidy, and "When You Taught Me How To Dance", from the soundtrack of "Miss Potter", which are also worth the purchase of the Collection.

Moreover, there is the DVD with the Rotterdam concert, which should end up convincing you, or re-live an unforgettable evening if you went to a concert of the Pictures Tour.

To sum up, a must have for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Brilliance!, 28 Oct 2008
By 
M. C. Danvers "Mark Danvers" (Peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
With all that this outstanding artist has achieved it is difficult to believe that she still only 24!

This CD contains Katie's best known songs including, "Closest Thing to Crazy", and "Nine Million Bicycles" as well as a selection of the best of her first three albums. However, even if you have the other albums, the CD is worth buying for the three new tracks;

"Two Bare Feet" is a catchy jazzy number and "Somewhere in the Same Hotel" is laid back and soothing. However the best of the new tracks for me is. "Toy Collection", written by Katie herself with a slight folky and haunting sound to it which again shows her outstanding songwriting ability which is at least as good if not better than her manager Mike Batt.

The cherry on the top however is the 90 minute DVD of Katie's concert in Rotterdam recorded on her current world tour. Here, Katie demonstrates her natural live performing ability. She opens completely on her own with just a guitar and piano on stage for the first two numbers, flawlessly delivered before her top quality band makes it's entrance.

Katie's stage presence shines throughout. Her natural charm and warmth is evident in the way she efforflessly chats to the audience between numbers. Rather than merely performing the songs e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favorite Katie Items, 21 May 2009
By 
Bruce Roubitchek (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
Living in the USA I was unable to attend this tour. However I pre-ordered The Collection when it was about to come out. Gosh I am glad I did. The CD is good but the DVD WOW. This is not only one my favorite Katie realted items I own but it is probably my favorite concert DVD. What a concert. It shows Katie at her best. So many great songs on the DVD it is great to see these songs performed live. I can only imagine what is was like being there. Also outstanding video and audio quality. The "Behind the Screens" bonus is also quite enjoyable to watch. I hope Katie and Co. keep making outstanding items like this in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 19 Oct 2008
By 
B. M. Powell "MelvilleB" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
The Katie Melua Collection" is an overall compelling selection of Katie Melua's best songs so far.
Among others there are "What A Wonderful World", a great duet with the deceased singer
"Eva Cassidy" and naturally one of the most popular songs "Nine Million Bicycles"
The 17 track collection also includes three new songs.
The up-tempo track Two Bare Feet", which will be released on the 27th October as single,
the melancholic-poetic composition "Toy Collection" (which was written by Katie for the MySpace film `Faintheart') and the blues-song "Somewhere In The Same Hotel".
Unfortunately my favourite song "What I Miss About You", a result of a collaboration with Andrea McEwan is only seen on the DVD, which includes a 90 min. live show, filmed in Rotterdam during Katie's 2008 tour. On this tour Katie Melua was supported by Andrea McEwan, whose debut single "Candle In A Chatroom" was also released recently. (Have a look at it! It is recommended for all friends of "jazz-pop / folk"-music).
The DVD includes a very interesting video-blog "Behind the Screens", showing the preparation of the tour this year. (by B. M. Powell's "MelvilleB" & MichaelWSt)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Album, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Law (North Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my hubby who is a fan but I wasnt convinced, since listening to her album though I have been converted and play it more often than he does!! A lovely album and a lovely voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie hits the spot, 15 Dec 2009
By 
M. J. Bundy (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
The combination of Katie Melua's distinctive sound with what can best be described as relaxing and often emotionally stimulating songs make this Katie Melua "Collection" one of the "Must have's" for your music collection.
So put the kettle on, make yourself a brew or even tip a little wine into a glass and treat yourself to a little bit of time to yourself as you absorb Katie's magnificent vocals - Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Katie Melua Collection & DVD, 9 Feb 2009
By 
G. Raynor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
Didn't know much about her bought it to find out more, what a good idea it's never off the cd player and the dvd is full of great extras too. Hoping to get to see her live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say about Katie?, 1 Feb 2009
By 
J. Barry "En Joy" (Kettering) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
How can anyone not love Katie. I just love listening to her beautiful voice. Katie is a very talented young lady. Another lovely CD. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Janos Csupor (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Katie Melua Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this product mainly for that bonus DVD with the concert on it. I can tell you I had a great time watching it, Katie sounds amazing live! Some costumers above complained about the concert not being as spectacular as those of many pop stars. This is true, but personally I don't care. This is not about the show (although those screens in the background are pretty cool) it's about listening to good quality live music.

The best-of CD is great, too, especially recommended for those who don't own Katie's three studio albums yet. I do, so if the DVD had been available separately, I probably would have gotten only that.

To sum it up, it's a great package and is really worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Katie Melua Collection
The Katie Melua Collection by Katie Melua (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews