Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but not always fun
Final Fantasy IV is a graphically overhauled conversion of an old SNES RPG classic released as Final Fantasy II in America (IV in Japan) and re-released on PS1 in a retro package.

As an old game with a new gloss of paint containing voice acting, animated cut scenes and a few extras this is new retro in the same vein as the FFIII remake. However IV is the...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by G. Hanks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much fun as FF 3
Not as much fun as FF 3. I had forgot all about until I was prompted to review it. I found it frustrating and full. This may irk the purists.
Published 2 months ago by Alister Crompton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but not always fun, 26 Oct 2009
By 
G. Hanks "hanks1980" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Final Fantasy IV is a graphically overhauled conversion of an old SNES RPG classic released as Final Fantasy II in America (IV in Japan) and re-released on PS1 in a retro package.

As an old game with a new gloss of paint containing voice acting, animated cut scenes and a few extras this is new retro in the same vein as the FFIII remake. However IV is the stronger game considerably, most owing to the far greater source material. It provides a great opportunity for fans of the original to wander down the path of memory lane but without having to squint at small characters on a small screen, or dust off their old SNES. For new-comers it provides a slightly archaic but still enjoyable RPG romp that gives some history into the evolution of the series.

One of the main improvements, and certainly a necessary one is the inclusion of a map that completes as you explore a dungeon. This saves on unnecessary back-tracking and also makes locating treasure chests much less painful. There are also mini-games to help train up a new character that can be summoned by a member of your party. They're pretty basic but can provide a fun distraction from the main quest.

The flaws in the game such as difficulty spikes and grinding are still prevalent however grinding has now become much more of a chore. In the original you were zapped straight into a random battle and could end it pretty swiftly meaning that despatching low level peons wasn't too time consuming. Due to the graphical improvements the battles now have a similar cut-scene feel that started in FF7 and have made random battles more of a curse than they ever were. Now a random battle can take up to three times as long as it would've done in the original which makes it three times the chore.

Despite this, FFIV is still an enjoyable RPG experience for old and new-comers alike and is close to essential if you're a fan of the genre, providing around 30-40 hours of adventure. Despite the grinding gripes I really enjoyed my time with it and oddly enough for an RPG it really worked well as a commuting game. Well it certainly took the edge off the grinding aspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommended it enough!, 27 Sep 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I've been a final fantasy fan for 2 years now and I haven't been dissapointed with one of their games to date, and this is no exception.
This game is an awesome remake of a twenty year old game and is now one of my personal favourates.
I'ts a little harder than the old one, but this doesn't matter because you'll be hooked on it for ages, with over 30 hours of slick, brilliant gameplay.
The storyline is phenomenal, the gameplay is addictive and the boss battles are actually quite stategic, and the fully voiced cut scenes just add to excitment. Overall this is an amazing game. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic RPG fun, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
One of my favorite games of all time is Final Fantasy IIV. When the remake of Final Fantasy III came out i gave it a try as i own a DS and have never played any FF games befor VII. Fianl Fantasy III was pretty good.

Final Fantasy IV however is in my opinion an amazing game for the DS its been handled with care and attention. The story is not as dramatic as todays standards of story telling in games but still its fun and has a classic feel to it. Graphics are very nice for the DS with some fully voiced cut scenes that help bring the characters to life which there are many and most are really cool (find out for your self).

I am about 30 hours in to the game and still have few things to do, i should also mention that this game is though but as long as you spend time to level up you will be fine.

I have the force unleashed for my 360 sitting on a shelf but that can wait until i fininsh this, choosing my DS over my 360? This game must be good.

If you like Final Fantasy you will love if you dont maybe you should try this.

I hope they foloow up with some more remakes i would love to try V and VI and maybe one day square might give the world what it wants Final Fantasy VII the remake?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 15 Sep 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
All I can say is WOW.

I did order this from Amazon.co.uk on pre order, but was very let down when I got an email from them saying it was delayed for 1 month!

I looked at Amazon Market place, where it is cheaper and also in stock. I received mine very promptly.

I never played any of the early Final Fantasy games. I started at FF7. But when the old games were released on the PS1, some years back I did start and play some.

This game on the DS is great. The game has been redone lovingly tight to the old one. The graphics are fab for this little DS and the relationships between the characters are believable, and the bond between them is strong.

The story line is fantastic, and also there are some tear jerker moments in the game.

I have just gotten an airship from Cid, and so at the moment I am leveling up my characters and getting as much HP as possible to face a very hard boss between the dark elf!

The castles and the villages are great where there is an inn, a pub, shops ext. I couldn't stop laughing when I was turned into a toad by the Black Madge in Mysidia!

The music is also stunning, and the world map music is one of the best world map scores to date.

There are Chocobo Forests, and you get to catch a Black Chocobo and fly it! You can also summon monsters in this game. Summoner is Rydia.

Your party has set roles. Dark Night, White Madge, Black Mage, Summoner, Bard etc. Each character is vital in the battles. You learn abilities after you've battled, as well as get gil, more hp/mp points etc.

The battle system is easy, and slick.

There are save points in the dungeons, near to the boss, and you can use tent and cottage to heal your party, as well as save.

Get this game. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy IV DS Review, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Jcp Light (Winchester, Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The original version and various ports of Final Fantasy IV remain some of my favourite games ever created. After Final Fantasy VI, IV has to be my favourite entry in the series and one of my favourite RPGs ever released. I think this is a wonderful remake of a classic game.

Firstly, the story remains almost unchanged from the original. While some could see this as a negative point, given the strength of the original's epic storyline I prefer it this way. This time, the story is told using about 15 minutes worth of FMVs featuring voice actingbuilt using the ingame engine. I am pleased to say that for once in a JRPG the english voice acting is actually very good. The soundtrack, another strength of the 1991 original has been lovingly updated using high quality MIDIs (alas not orchastrated due to the DS card's size limit). With arguably the best music of any game even today, the tracks are well worth a listen on Youtube. The game's graphics are among the best on the DS, running at a smooth 30 frame per second (I think) with good models, above average textures, but incredible HDR lighting considering the limitations of the handheld. The game clocks in at above 30 hours a playthrough, without any sidequests (which would add probably another 8-12 hours on). The game features the 'New Game +' feature included in other Square-Enix titles, you can play through the game again but keeping your augmented characters. The only negative aspect with the game is the difficulty, the Western versions of the original were known to be much easier than the Japanese versions. This remake is harder to a moderate degree than the Japanese original, this should be not much of a problem for JRPG veteran like me, but for new fans it could be a little too hard.

To conclude, this game is fantastic and is well worth a purchase for any JRPG lover out there. If I had to give it a % grade, I would give it 93%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic adventure, 22 Feb 2009
By 
M. Munroe (England, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Final Fantasy IV is the first volume in the series of games that truly feels like the Final Fantasies we've come to love today; it provides all the features an FF game needs to make us cherish them: an epic story, likeable characters with depth and fun, strategic battles.

You play the game as Cecil, a Dark Knight who is captain of the kingdom of Baron's airship fleet "The Red Wings", Cecil begins to doubt his king's violent demands of obtaining crystals from different nations and also doubts the purity left inside of him; an epic journey of redemption, revenge, retribution, and sacrifice begins. Cecil performs one last task for his king, to redeem himself after feeling guilt for disagreeing with his orders; this task only causes Cecil to further despise his king's rulings and leads to him setting out on a quest to find out who's really behind the king's sudden destructive behaviour, and why he requires the crystals. A plethora of charming and absorbing characters whom all have a compelling back story join Cecil in his attempt to retrieve the crystals before the villain does, this story may seem simple, but it's always fascinating and becomes more and more innovative as the game progresses.

The game is quite linear, although side quests are available at later parts in the game, the games linearity isn't a bad thing. Going from point a to point b in this game is exciting stuff; powerful and emotional events happen as you progress. The games cut scenes are short and sweet, don't be expecting cut scenes or dialogue sequences that lasts for over 5 minutes like in the later Final Fantasies; even with the short dialogue sequences, the game still manages to propel you forward and deliver great character and plot development. The characters and the tragedies that befall them grip you to the game and offer an experience you will not be able to put down or forget.

The actual game play is great, firstly, the game is extremely difficult if compared to other Final Fantasy games; the DS version especially is by far the hardest Final Fantasy game out there. Is this a bad thing? Not if your an RPG veteran who's looking for a game that isn't a complete pushover like most recent RPGs, but if you're a newcomer to RPGs then the difficulty may be off putting which is a shame because I would love to recommend this game to everybody. The game features augments which are abilities given to you upon finding them, talking to somebody for them or unmissable story events. If you're like me however and don't follow a guide whilst playing for the first time then you'll miss almost every augment available and the game will be even harder than expected.

I really did enjoy the difficulty on boss fights, they're more strategic than your typical Final Fantasy boss fights - the fact that you now fight with 5 members in stead of 3 or 4 contributes to this, the ATB system being introduced also adds much more strategy than the more luck based systems of FF1 to FF3. An example of the strategy required in this game: after the half way mark in the game almost every boss has counter attack abilities, thinking of just bashing away at it with attack until it's dead? You'll have to think again because of counter attacks, even some normal random encounter enemies have counters. The boss fights are all memorable and all fun, packed with great music to boot. The random encounters really can unforgiving at times, bumping into a pack of 3 enemies that spam the same group damaging spell over and over can decimate your party quickly; a little grinding is required in order to keep up with the unforgiving random encounters, but levelling in this game is fast and fun so I don't see it as an issue.

And last but not least, it's impossible to forget... the absolutely mesmerizing soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu crafted the soundtracks for the first 3 FF's, and they were all great; but the soundtrack he composed for FF4, is just timeless and surpasses the previous instalments in every way. This time around new artists rearranged the original soundtrack and with the limitations of the SNES gone the soundtrack is even greater than the original. The "Theme of Love" is one of the most emotionally invoking songs ever created for a game, try finishing this game then listen to it play during the ending without getting chills throughout your entire body. Not playing this game with headphones in spoils one of its greatest assets.

Final Fantasy IV is an amazing game that deserves a place in everybody's DS collection - although the difficulty may dissuade a newcomer to Japanese RPGs from playing through the entire game. An easier RPG a newcomer can enjoy with ease would be "Chrono Trigger" which was recently ported to the DS. Still, this is a fantastic game that everybody who's ever enjoyed an RPG should try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding game, 9 Feb 2010
By 
T. Mansbridge "Timoo" (N.East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I wouldn't say that I'm the most hardcore Final Fantasy fan, having played only VII, III and a small bit of X before IV. Despite this, Final Fantasy IV is not a let down; in my opinion, better than the remake of III for the DS, where grinding to improve job levels was a must.

As opposed to naysayers, I only ever had to grind once in this game and after that I found myself adequately skilled to complete the game. It's hard (to the point where random encounters could wipe the party out, if caught off guard), don't get me wrong, but it's not a struggle, it's a challenge. None of the bosses were too hard, neither were they a cakewalk.

For first timers to the Final Fantasy series, I wouldn't say that there's much of a learning curve. After about 10 battles you get the hang of things and can quite quickly figure working strategies. The real-time/turn-based crossover combat system was a small bit strange to get used to, but it can be sped-up and slowed in the options, to make for quicker battles or to allow thinking time.

The augments are a strange feature, and involves really thinking as to who would be best suited to each ability. While they aren't the biggest focus of the game, they carry over play-throughs and allow players to max characters on subsequent games, which, for me, was an appealing little feature.

The storyline is fine, occasionally clichéd, and backed up by a cast that the player can easily connect with. The voice acting can be rather melodramatic at times, and despite not being a downside, is a weak point, but shouldn't act as a put-off. The music is excellent, really adding to the atmosphere of the game overall.

If you're a fan of RPG's, then this should be for you. I found it really engaging and thoroughly enjoyable. Expect easily 30+ hours of gameplay and bosses aplenty, in this world of loved-up mages, spoony bards and troubled warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Brilliant To Handle!, 25 Nov 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The good points of this game are:
1. Voiced cut scenes.
2. Bosses take skill and strategy.
3. Lovely background music.
4. Beautiful graphics.
5. Amazingly gripping storyline.
6. Long lasting, but not too long lasting storyline.
7. Challenging.
There is only one bad thing about this game, it may be a bit to challenging.
So don't buy this game if your looking for a pushover.
If your looking for an amazing and challenging game then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and an improvement on FFIII, but not quite 5 stars, 6 Nov 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I played Final Fantasy III all the way through from beginning to end. As a result, I was really psyched to buy this game. On so many levels, FFIV is an improvement on FFIII. The spell system is both broader and deeper, allowing for many more variations and complexities to master.

The cast of characters changes continually, which helps to keep the game challenging in all senses of the word (it's a bit irritating at times that one of your team may depart just when you have spent lots of time grinding in dungeons to level them up, but at the same time it's quite fun because you keep getting new characters with different abilities to learn about and use).

The combat animations are much improved on FFIII too, with a variety of different angles so the combats don't feel so samey.

As I said, this game is a great improvement on so many levels. My reluctance to give it five stars stems from the fact that I actually didn't complete the game. Whereas I felt compelled to play FFIII (even taking it to work and being a total antisocial geek), I put FFIV down for a while and didn't seem to have the motivation to pick it up again. I don't know why, but I think that the improvements weren't quite enough to hold my attention for the whole game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun :D, 16 Nov 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of Final Fantasy games, and, unlike Final Fantasy 3, this one did not disappoint.
Final Fantasy 7 was, in my opinion, one of the best ones, and if you liked that, you'll like this. The battle system is very similar, as are the graphics.
The best aspect of this game is the boss battles. They usually have some kind of quirk to them, which makes you really have to think and develop a strategy. I've played quite a few RPG's on the DS, and I felt a lot of them you could get through just by constantly attacking. Not here!
The new cut scenes added for the DS were really nice, if just a little cheesy in places, but i feel this just added to the experience.
To level up your Eidolons (summons), you play mini games using the touch screen and stylus. I found these fun and sometimes challenging (but hopefully you're better at maths than me!).
Of course, a Final Fantasy game on a handheld is never going to be as in depth as a home console, so if you're looking for another FFX, don't get your hopes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS)
Final Fantasy IV (Nintendo DS) by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews