Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last word
Aside from The Beatles, there can't be many bands as mythologised and documented as Joy Division. Happily, this does what 'The Filth & The Fury' did for the Sex Pistols; the people who were there tell the story of what really happened.

Apart from the archive material that's widely available on YouTube, it has a couple of 'scoops'. An eerie cassette of Ian...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by Jeffrey M. Black

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I'm a massive JD fan but was very let down by this.

The good:

Goes into a lot of detail about Ian and the band's time together, some really funny and moving moments. Also some great visual effects (!) and very intelligent/fascinating commentary.

The bad:

It basically has nothing of JD's music except in the background and...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Mr. A. C. Pyke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last word, 13 Aug 2008
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from The Beatles, there can't be many bands as mythologised and documented as Joy Division. Happily, this does what 'The Filth & The Fury' did for the Sex Pistols; the people who were there tell the story of what really happened.

Apart from the archive material that's widely available on YouTube, it has a couple of 'scoops'. An eerie cassette of Ian Curtis being hypnotised by Bernard and apparently regressing to a past life is undeniably fascinating and a little chilling. However, the film's main coup is having the elusive Annik Honore appear on camera for the first time (for those not familiar, she was Curtis's Belgian mistress and has refused to talk in public up till now). She comes across and quite sensitive and wise. This is probably why there is no Deborah Curtis though.

The extras take the form of 48 various interview out-takes, featuring the usual reliable anecdotes from the band, the late Tony Wilson and others. Ex-roadie Terry Mason musing on what its like having to deal with the consequences of Curtis's death without the cushioning aspect of the band's fame is particularly poignant.

The documentary is the closest we'll get to the final word on Joy Division. Devotees young and old will revel in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last word on Joy Division?, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
Less is more. The genius of this documentary is Jon Savage's interview technique. The 3 surviving Joy Division members talk with the interviewer like they were talking to a mate in the pub, in a totally unaffected manner. The end result is the most insightful piece on Ian Curtis to date and - surprise, surprise - he was just an ordinary guy.

Slick production values (Peter Saville is a "consultant") give the video a pleasing Factory-ish feel. The copious extras (unused interview snippets from the various participants) are bitty but something that avid fans will want to work their way through religiously.

Curiosity value is added in the short contributions from Richard H. Kirk and Genesis P. Orridge (who looks more like Pete Burns than I remember).

A well put together, well presented film by people who clearly understand Joy Division.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 10 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
When reading Deborah Curtis's memoir "Touching from a Distance", the real revelation to me came at the appendix where all the Joy Division lyrics are printed shoulder to shoulder. To a shocking degree they express fear, disgust, alienation, confusion, or guilt. This observation is shared by one of the persons interviewed in the documentary: "Was THAT what he was singing???"
In hindsight, we feel that the signs must have been everywhere, but as the film shows us, nobody knew or cared where to look. I mean, pulling someone from their hospital bed to have them play a gig the night after a suicide attempt?

Everybody, including the medical people, seems to have been utterly clueless. This documentary reinforces my impression of a boy who was in the wrong place at the wrong time and didn't really stand a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Necessary Addition To The Joy Division History, 13 Aug 2008
By 
S. P. Sanders "Simon Sanders" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
With 'Control' and, to a lesser extent, '24 Hour Party People' giving the Joy Division story fresh momentum, this documentary is a timely addition which will provide informative background to fans old and new. Very well contextualised, the viewer is given insight into the socio-economic and class structures of the times, the impact of punk on Manchester, and what the denizens of that city did to sing along to the new music.

Key players of the era get face time as they add colour to the narrative, and of course you get the surviving band members; as ever earthy, honest and still reflective about the fate of their bandmate. There's rare documentary and performance footage, as well. There are a few things missing for me. Time has taken away the vital contributions of Rob Gretton and Martin Hannett, and it would have been nice to have the full TV performances rather than extracts. Having said that, still well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 22 Mar 2009
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
Joy Division are my band. Closer is and always will be my favourite album of all-time. They have always got into my heart. I have seen everything, got everything. I know this story.

Yet, there was enough in this documentary to keep me hooked. There were things I didn't know and hearing some of the people talking about it for the first time was genuinely eye-opening.

So well worth a watch. I have to say, I enjoyed this more than Control because this, for the first time, talks about the depth of Curtis' lyrics and what he must have been feeling.

Best bits for me was Hooky saying he didn't like Unknown Pleasures (I rarely listen to that either!) and also saying they would have been bigger than U2 which is what I have always thought as well (although I may have got that from an earlier Hooky interview)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
I rather think the reviewers who have given 2 or 3 stars to this awesome documentary have got hold of the wrong end of the stick. It seems that what they wanted was a "greatest hits" collection of JD videos and live footage, something which this film does not purport to be. What we have here is the Joy Division story, from inception to untimely demise, told by those who were actually there and took part in it. This is the story of one of the most important and influential bands in the history of British popular music, and as such it should be considered - not as a "Best Of" compilation.
Mr A.C. Pyke says that he can't understand how anyone can like this. I would reply that it's diificult to see how a true Joy Division fan wouldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. A. C. Pyke "Alex" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a massive JD fan but was very let down by this.

The good:

Goes into a lot of detail about Ian and the band's time together, some really funny and moving moments. Also some great visual effects (!) and very intelligent/fascinating commentary.

The bad:

It basically has nothing of JD's music except in the background and seriously small snippets here and there, with a lot of talking over them.

This really impoverishes the experience,for me Joy Division is all about tension and ambience but the film doesn't let you `get into' a single song even once. The furtherest you're allowed to go is like `verse 1, chorus 1' and BANG it's back to an interview.

It's frustrating, because I don't see how anyone could enjoy this. JD virgins are likely to be thinking `Well let me hear some of this band for real (or at least more than 30 seconds)' and JD fans will just be frustrated they STILL don't have DVD-quality, full - versions of JD's meagre but very special performances.

This film tried to do far too much....I would have been happy with leaving some of the live performances in the extras if the thing had been allowed to flow and breathe properly.....instead it rather cheapens JD's music because it's all `in the background' sometimes, the audio of the interview's is even louder than the (very short) performances!

Joy Division is serious, thought=provoking, cathartic, tense, immense, beautiful music ..... Why does this doc reduce it all to MTV-friendly 30 second attention blasts of industrial noise?

Even the NewOrderstory is flawed but it gives us full performances at least.

And yes I appreicate Joy division are a band of such stature that you can generate a lot of very interesting academic, artistic and imaginative ideas and it's good to have these discussed somewhere.

But do the music first!

And don't start me on the ultra-rare snippet of `she's lost control' .... hanging that in front of JD fans is just evil! argH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable, 24 May 2009
By 
JimmyDCFC (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
Good points:
Peter Saville - very amusing bloke.
Annik - touching and honest.
Steve Morris - also funny.
You get a real feel of how crap mid seventies Britain was.

to be honest the rest of it is pretty good too.

Bad point:
More pretentious twaddle from Paul Morley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
This is a documentary about Joy Division (believe it or not!) and it fits very nicely on your DVD shelf alongside Corbijn's "Control" - a factual drama about the group (actually, more about Ian and Deborah Curtis). It would be quite interesting to play this and Control back-to-back to compare Sam Riley's (uncanny) depiction of Curtis with the real thing, but I digress.

This is an interesting window onto a legendary group and it is made up of live gig footage, TV performances and interviews with a host of personalities such as the surviving band members, Tony Wilson etc etc.

Interesting yes, but ultimately a disappointment to me. I was mostly hoping that the DVD or documentary would include full length versions of some of Joy Division's TV performances eg from Something Else or The Old Grey Whistle Test. Unfortunately only edited highlights are included and if you want full length versions you'll have to go to "Control" and accept that the performances (e.g. Transmission) are reenactments albeit pretty good ones.

I think you might get my drift - buy "Control" instead...

"All dressed in uniforms so fine, they drank and killed to pass the time"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PLenty of Joy, a lot of Division, 23 Feb 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joy Division [DVD] (DVD)
This is a dramatised version of the short life of Ian Curtis and the band and essential viewing for any fan.

Was he a tragic person? I don't know, but he lived through tragedy. I know Macclesfeld quite well and, like many northern industrial towns, leaving is often the only way to succeed. Although the rest of the band suffered from what many consider to have been a very selfish act, it often seems forgotten that he left a young wife and child at a time when benefits were nowhere near as generous as they are now. I think he was a romantic who was hit hard when real life collided with his ideals.

There are some excellent performances by the actors playing the band and this is highly recommended for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joy Division [DVD]
Joy Division [DVD] by Grant Gee (DVD - 2008)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews