Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farside of Anderson
Thoroughly enjoyable sci-fi story in that 60's vein - strangely paranoid, 'anything could happen' storylines were abundant during the cold war - we could use more of those now.
If you are a fan of Space 1999 or in particular UFO, this is a must have. A lot of familiar GA cast members are included here - including Ed Bishop - and the models and sets are classic...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Paul M. Edwards

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned modernity
The plot is quite interesting and when you think of all its implications, which are only alluded to in the film, you get somehow confused. Besides, it is amazing to see how the future is difficult to imagine today. Although the story is supposed to happen around hundred years after the time the film was made the pictures bring you back to the 1960s. On the whole, quite...
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by F. Bergeot


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farside of Anderson, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Paul M. Edwards "Edwards" (Boston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyable sci-fi story in that 60's vein - strangely paranoid, 'anything could happen' storylines were abundant during the cold war - we could use more of those now.
If you are a fan of Space 1999 or in particular UFO, this is a must have. A lot of familiar GA cast members are included here - including Ed Bishop - and the models and sets are classic Anderson - which is to say marvellous.
2001 it ain't, but given the popularity of the makers - I'm surprised that this little gem has stayed hidden for so long. Anderson gets pretty dark at times - and Thinnes plays it straight, adding some real drama. It's all here, really - so pleased that I got a copy.

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great scifi, 13 April 2009
By 
S. Dandridge (guildford surrey england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Great sixties film, from the time when people still had a sense of wonder and everything seemed possible!
Great acting and special effects for the time, coupled with the original story line make it a film worth watching even after forty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Darren Allen (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
This is an excellent piece of late Sixties SF from Gerry & Sylvia Anderson. Like UFO and Space 1999 (well, season one anyway!)which followed, it provides the viewer with a blend of action and mystery. Coupling a thought provoking script with the excellent effects that had graced their Supermarionation output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true sci- fi classic from the gerry anderson stable., 3 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. A. Smallburn "logan 5" (aberlour, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
i have always been a fan of gerry anderson since my childhood, and was never able to pin down this particular title.as a big fan of miniatures such as used in thunderbirds and stingray, this is right up there with the best of them!highly entertaining, great story and effects.but the ending is a real enigma. all i can say is watch and enjoy this superb tale.definately 5 stars in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Whole Story..., 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Correct me if I'm wrong (and I may well be since no other reviewer here has mentioned it) but wasn't this 'film' originally the pilot for a planned TV series called 'Doppelganger'?

I'm sure that, as a young teenager in the 1960's and hooked on Ford's UK motorsport activities, I remember reading, in the FordSport magazine, details of a forthcoming Gerry Anderson series to be called 'Doppelganger' (a German term meaning the "paranormal double of a living person" and representing the "evil/dark" side of said person).

The series was due to star Roy Thinnes and Gayle Hunnicutt and the reason I was reading about it in that Ford publication was because Ford had been asked/contracted to design one or two futuristic-looking cars (basically re-bodied cars from their existing and then-current model range in the UK) to be used in the TV series.

As everyone knows, Ford were well involved in British television- and film-making during this era, supplying unusual and bespoke vehicles (for "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang", "UFO" etc) as well as providing off-the-shelf cars later on for "The Sweeney", "The Professionals" and others, of course.

Anyway, I have a notion that "Doppelganger" failed to inspire Gerry Anderson's backers (Lew Grade's ITC?) at the time and the proposed series was dropped, maybe in favour of the subsequent series "UFO".

Reviewers have noted that Journey to the Far Side of the Sun resembles an 'overblown' episode of UFO and maybe the reason for this is that, once the decision had been made concerning the non-future of "Doppelganger", the lone pilot episode was the stretched into the film "Journey to the Far Side of the Sun" and thus the line was drawn.

I agree it doesn't quite tick enough boxes as a stand-alone sci-fi film but there are some interesting ideas and concepts explored and I feel, within the time and frame-work of a TV series, "Doppelganger" might well have worked out well at the time. Most TV series undergo an ongoing 'evolutionary' process (a luxury most films don't enjoy) in their script-writing and plot development and who knows where this might have led, given the chance.

Thus, I definitely like "Journey to the Far Side of the Sun" as a 'what might have been...?' production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Journey to the dark side of the Sun", 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
In all a well balanced story considering the time period it was made. Nice little twist on the end. Quite unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent movie with a really good twist years before Capricone ..., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
A must for Sci-fi fans. This is an excellent movie with a really good twist years before Capricone One or the James Bond Moonraker but still very good ever after all these years with some rally good acting from Ed Bishop and Roy Thinnes. What was a surprise
was the models been had been made by Gary Anderson of Thunderbird fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned modernity, 15 Mar 2009
By 
F. Bergeot (Montpellier, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
The plot is quite interesting and when you think of all its implications, which are only alluded to in the film, you get somehow confused. Besides, it is amazing to see how the future is difficult to imagine today. Although the story is supposed to happen around hundred years after the time the film was made the pictures bring you back to the 1960s. On the whole, quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, it was preposterous., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
The story was preposterous! Viewers without a science background might get something from it, but I cringed much of the time. Ok, it was made in 1969 so I should give it some allowance because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
I suspect you need to be an Anderson fan to really like this. Probably a certain age. I am. Both. So I do. A standard range of Anderson models and TV-level actors adorn this enjoyable romp.

The whole premise is silly, but intriguing. Old sci fi clichés abound, but you tend to think GA thought them up for himself. Everybody does what's necessary. In true Anderson style there are a few enjoyable puzzles, espionage and a few jokes.

The models are lovely, though you know that's what they are.

I DO like it, but ,dear reader, if you DON'T like it, I fully understand, just let me enjoy it.

There is poor stuff in GA's legacy, but this is not. it's fun.

Oh, and isn't is a shame Roy Thinnes never played the lead in "The Paul Newman Story"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey To The Far Side of The Sun (aka  Doppelgänger) [DVD] [1969]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews