Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Rate
I have to admit that I had concerns about buying this disc. But it has surpassed my expectations. It is not as sentimental as so many of these interpretations are, and Bryn Terfel's singing is excellent. The duets provide appropriate and beautiful diversifications. I think 'Danny Boy' may have worked better as a solo, but it is still a great duet which works well. I say...
Published on 18 Sep 2008 by JHL ... Fermanagh Man

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely ridiculous.
It's allways the same big problem: you cannot sing folk songs with a professional operatic voice, created to overwhelm an audience of 2500 or more on a big stage... this is the SMALL FORM of music, the tone needs to be more, let's say: inaccurate. And intimously. To make it harder: the orchestral arrangements are far beyond good taste, this is cheap Holly/Bolly/Nollywood...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by waidler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, 18 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I had concerns about buying this disc. But it has surpassed my expectations. It is not as sentimental as so many of these interpretations are, and Bryn Terfel's singing is excellent. The duets provide appropriate and beautiful diversifications. I think 'Danny Boy' may have worked better as a solo, but it is still a great duet which works well. I say this as someone who also loves 'Led Zeppelin' 'The Who' 'Beethoven' and 'Wagner'. Whether that adds anything to my opinion I know not; but this disc is worth buying if you enjoy listening to a darn good song, sung by a master, and supported by a great cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful CD, 22 Dec 2008
By 
emu_b "emu_b" (brisbane, australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
this is a terrific CD, that has my children singing along to Molly Malone with gusto. If we want to keep these beautiful songs in the collective consciousness as part of our cultural heritage, it's a must. I would agree with a previous reviewer, though, that the duet in Danny Boy is the low point, though it does serve to illustrate just how rich Bryn's voice is. My highlight - hard to choose, but the Robbie Burns song had me in tears the first time I heard it. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent disc but..., 29 Dec 2009
By 
Walter Bender (Wiesbaden, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
I don't like track 5 because of the singing? of Ronan Keating. This boy first should learn how to sing. So I can't really understand why such a good singer like Bryn Terfel sung a duet with him.

All other titles are really worthful to listen to. Simply excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voice as brilliant as ever, 13 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable except for "Danny Boy" which, with Keating, I thought was dire.
The female duetists were an asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ehat a great voice Bryn has, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
I love it it's great and it arrived on time and good value I listen to it in my car dailyThank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
Loved this c.d , full of brilliant songs to cheer you up on dreary days . Would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs from a great singer., 26 Feb 2013
By 
Shinkansen "letrayas" (Vale of Evesham - England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
What is there to say? I took my partner, who was very ill, to hear Bryn Terfel singing some of these folk songs at a CBSO concert in Symphony Hall. We had a wonderful evening. This disc is a reminder of that evening.

Bryn Terfel is ... well, Bryn Terfel. It is interesting to compare his style with that of Ronan Keating (in duet in Danny Boy). Chris Hazell's arrangements are played by the London Symphony Orchestra under Barry Wordsworth.

It is probable that this disc has a special meaning for me - but even so, it is still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic songs, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
I have played it many times and never tire of his lovely voice. The selection of songs is very good. Definitely a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryn at his best!, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Tennant "Sandy" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
When I received this cd of Bryn Terfel, I was unsure whether I would like it as I don't like all opera but this was so beautiful and such a wonderfule selection of songs. I would happily recommend it to both young and old. A wonderful evocative collection, which stirs the heart and memories. Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D., 10 Feb 2012
By 
Anne Burgess "Anne" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Love - Songs from the British Isles (Audio CD)
We just love this beautiful collection of songs form the wonderful Bryn.He sings with such feeling some in Welsh some in English.I can't fault any of it. Thanks Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Love - Songs from the British Isles
First Love - Songs from the British Isles by Bryn Terfel (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews