Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2008
This has to be the best new album that I've heard this year. The covers are, as you would expect from a Master like Dave Stewart, exceptionally credible. Truly the most entertaining and inspirational, progressive yet deceptively simple of the year. I rarely come across albums that make me want to review....but I just can't help it. This is a FIRST CLASS piece of work that Mr. Stewart should be PROUD OF !!

Many Thanks Dave
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
This double cd is a masterpiece full of great music ,vocals and backing vocals , a nice assortment of tracks from daves songwriting catalogue ,some better than the original versions owing to the new vocals and music arrangements , by far the best cd i have purchased in a long time , the cd contains a booklet written by dave giving some intersting background information about the tracks , a gem well worth adding to any cd collection ..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Of course Dave Stewart will always be a producer who can make the lighter genre acceptable to a (hard) rocker like me. Still I prefer Dave when he lets go on his guitar and for many guitarists a cover is good reason to add some flashy guitar work. So I was hopeful.
Dave, of course, chooses his own way and does not.
Result is a very good collection of Dave songs performed by all with great skill. But it leaves this guitar rock lover hungry for more guitar work.
But hey if you don't have "Lily was here" this is a perfect album to fill that gap in your collection. That is a song that I can listen to any time, any place, any mood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
After hearing his album the Blackbird Diaries I enjoyed it so much I bought this album and was very pleased with it. It was also a good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
I really like this collection. Dave Stewart is a really under-rated guitarist and songwriter. His band and singers are on great form here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
Great compilation album of songs written by Dave Stewart, 2 disc album with 21 tracks a must have for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Some interesting versions of great songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
No doubt rhe ex Longdancer and Eurhythmic was aware of his Stiff namesake who was half of a duo with ex Spirogyro BARBARA GASKIN as he seems to become David A Stewart for Lily Was Here-the soundtrack of a terrible film which spawned a hit single for Dutch saxizt Candy Dulfer
But he next surfaced as Dave Stewart & the Spiritual Cowboys among other short lived mostly producing projects.
Both these different acts appear under Dave Stewart on Amazon and Gemm.
I only have a minimal interest-the other duo was more interesting as they did a stack of covers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)