Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best sit-com EVER
I grew up on the exploits of the On The Buses characters,but on revisiting the scripts and shows 40 years later,it shows what an incredible stroke of luck was involved to create such a piece of pure entertainment.For a start,the initial premise involves an ordinary cockney bus-driver,who despairs of his disfunctional family,his dogs life at work,and his never-ending...
Published on 16 Sept. 2010 by scifiry

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
If you enjoy old series this is a good selection of this series.
Published 7 months ago by tumbletun


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best sit-com EVER, 16 Sept. 2010
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up on the exploits of the On The Buses characters,but on revisiting the scripts and shows 40 years later,it shows what an incredible stroke of luck was involved to create such a piece of pure entertainment.For a start,the initial premise involves an ordinary cockney bus-driver,who despairs of his disfunctional family,his dogs life at work,and his never-ending persuit of women and love.Not much on paper,but,the scripts are surprisingly fresh and relevant.A show ahead of its time,in many ways.It can appeal across the board.My own young children love the show.A lot of the credit must also go to the actors.Special mention must go to the following;Stephen Lewis(Blakey),who is awesome as the exasperated inspector.I just love the way he says "Butler".Just a name or word,but he's SO funny!Bob Grant,as Jack,the randy conductor.I can't beleive he could 'pull' any woman,but he's great nonetheless.Finally.special accolades must go to Michael Robbins,as Arthur,Stans brother in law.He's nothing short of magnificent,giving,in my opinion,THE most comically amazing performance in ANY show/film/whatever EVER!Just a look,grimace,or abarked line is enough to reduce me(and my family to stitches!)Perfect scripts,perfect cast,perfect fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On The Buses - The Complete Series (repackaged), 5 April 2010
By 
D. V. Harris "David Harris" (Portsmouth, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because I love some of the older series from TV and I was not disappointed. I found it just as enjoyable and funny as the first time I saw it. I would recommend that if you haven't seen it, watch it. Sadly most of the main actors in the series have passed away now leaving only Anna Karen (Olive) and Stephen Lewis (The Inspector Blakey) left. However the show is a fitting tribute to them all. My wife and I watched the whole series from beginning to end and laughed loudly as we did. The extras are also brilliant. I can only hope that sometime in the future that they will release the 13 episodes of the spin off series starring Steven Lewis called Don't Drink The Water. The first episode is included as an extra along with Reg Varney's play The Best Legs In The Business. I have given this a five star rating as it deserves it for the hours of enjoyment it has brought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore, 27 April 2010
By 
Fatboy (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing this on Sky and instantly becoming hooked I decided to get the complete series. Its an absolute perfect example of a good British comedy, that was wrote in the day when political correctness was not even thought of (pity it didn't stop that way).

The superbly casted parts and superbly acted as well, make for a really good comedy. Its a laugh a minute has Jack & Stan try to do as little a work has possible and Blakey (the inspector) tries to make them do otherwise.

Its worth every penny.

Errrrrr, I hate you Butler : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legendary late 60s/early 70s sitcom, 17 May 2013
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Yeh, I grew up with OTB too (Sunday evenings wasn't it?) Great memories - refreshingly unpretentious, un-PC et al. Brylcreem-coiffered bus driver, Stan Butler (Reg Varney) and his conductor, Jack Harper (Bob Grant) forever chasing the ladies and trying to skive off at every opportunity while attempting to dodge the hawk-eyed lanky figure of inspector 'Blakey' Blake (Stephen Lewis)... A time when women were affectionately known as "birds" and birds were of course known as..er...crumpet! A gloriously dated Carry On-style sitcom perhaps?.... Well actually there's more to this series than what appears on the surface.

With the assembled cast always managing to wring every ounce of mirth from the simple yet cheerfully funny scripts, the writing does possess a certain amount of pathos, with Stan always struggling to hold onto a girlfriend, along with his strong sense of obligation to his close-knit family which is made up of his Mum (Doris Hare) sister, Olive (Anna Karen) and brother in-law, Arthur (my fave character, superbly played by Michael Robbins). The Arthur/Olive relationship is a very funny forerunner to the "George & Mildred" pairing, with Arthur's reluctance to engage in any intimate contact with his sex-starved wife following his 'operation' (Anna Karen was actually quite a babe when not playing Olive!)

I always find the domestic scenes in the Butler household to be the funniest, with many of the family disputes taking place around the kitchen table at breakfast or dinner time - no wonder I'm always so damn hungry after each episode! As you would expect from a long running series (seven series, 74 episodes) you do get the odd weak episode now & then. For me, the first series feels essentially like a 'feet-finding' exercise before the series really gets into it's stride. The later departure from the series of Reg Varney & Michael Robbins was a blow, offset to a certain extent by Blakey taking up lodgings at the Butler household. Only the weaker episodes prevent me from awarding 5 stars. 9/10.

Considering the age of the videotape source, the picture and sound quality is mostly good. You also get the occasional black & white episode popping up amongst the colour productions. There are no subtitles. The special features include archive news footage, a 1968 play "The Best Pair of Legs In The Business" starring Reg Varney, as well as the pilot episode from the spin-off series "Don't Drink The Water" which centres on the 'Blakey' character now living in Spain.

Eleven discs, seven series, 74 episodes, all stored in six slim cases & compactly housed in a card outer case - at £30 a go, well worth a punt I reckon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and laugther for all times, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Hans Moolhuizen (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It was fun to watch all the episodes since most of them were not broadcasted in my country.
I had never seen the episodes without Stan or Arthur and even they were very funny.
The quality of the dvd's is very good and there are extra's on some of them.

I find this box very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ain't it marvelous!, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
C. A. cardoza - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased the complete On The Buses sight unseen based upon having seen Stephen Lewis in Oh Doctor Beeching! (brilliant!). Initially, I was a bit disappointed. As has been mentioned by others, series 1 and 2 are weak, I almost gave up on the show. But by the middle of series 3 it had grown on me and I was hooked.

Of course every time Blakey (Lewis) opens his mouth it is pure gold. Far and away the character that makes this show for me. Additionally the characters of Arthur (Michael Robbins) and Olive (Anna Karen). Olive is funny straight away in the first episode and the interaction between the two gets better the longer the show is on. Arthur's obvious contempt for his wife who clearly adores him is simply well played and always funny.

Stan (Reg Varney) and Jack (Bob Grant) are both capable at carrying the story lines and providing ample comedy on their own and with Blakey and the various clippys who throw themselves at these two paragons of masculine prowess. Sadly, something always seems to get in the way for poor old Stan. Often getting in the way is his mum (Doris Hare). Mum as a character does a fine job of being the glue for the family and she furthers much of the plot.

The stories are simple and predictable. You will likley never be surprised by some wicked plot twist. But it's not about that, it's about this group of 6 characters and their interactions with each other and the comedy which results. There is quite a bit of clever word play as well as some very good physical comedy from Reg Varney (the episode where he's done his back in and the lads load him into the cab of his bus whilst he is wearing a corset is brilliant physical comedy).

I was torn between 3 or 4 stars for this show, but in the end, it makes me happy and makes the characters seem like old friends rendering it both watchable and re-watchable. So I give 4. I would not give it 5 stars because it pales when compared to shows like The Good Life, To The Manor Born or Dad's Army where the writing and character development and even acting is far more sophisticated. This show views much more like a filmed play than a polished show. There are a lot of fluffed lines, but there is also genuine live audience reaction.

And if you like this show and loved the Blakey character, check out Oh Doctor Beeching!, he's the same old Stephen Lewis, and ain't it marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE COMEDY CLASSIC., 8 Jun. 2009
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
On the Buses has to be one of the all time comedy classics that's non P.C but still very funny and of it's time. The now sadly late Reg Varney as errant driver Stan Butler was born for this role. With dowdy Olive who seems to get herself into all sorts of scrapes due to her short sightedness. The series was very sucessful and ran for seven series from 1969-73 with three Hammer movie spin-offs. I was only four yours old when the series ended so i caught the re-runs on ITV. Im glad it's been re-issued and affordable at last so i can add this classic to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic 70s, 3 Mar. 2013
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in my 30,s so wasn't around when this aired. I remember an episode from my youth so decided to flatter my intrigue and bought the box set. I couldn't have spent my money any better. My fave sitcom of all time. This is essentially "carry on the buses", proper naughty seaside postcard humour. All the characters are treasures in their own right. The main characters being Butler, harper and blake with great support from Arthur, olive and mum. All episodes are a perfect 1/2 hour of enjoyment of nostalgia. Have watched an episode a week at least since watching the whole series in one go. Never get tired of the goings on and continue to watch after owning for 2 years. Add the films to the mix and a weekend will fly by. Appreciate comedy at its best, no swearing, just gentle comedy that you don't get nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Is This Series So Popular, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
Chris Waywell "cjwaywell" (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having lived through the 60's I can assure anyone watching On The Buses that it is all true. I remember the sexy clippy's uniforms that left nothing to the imagination, the banter that went on between the conductors the drivers and the passengers. The whole experience of catching a bus was totally brilliant you jumped on the back even when the bus was moving off, you could smoke upstairs, you didn't have to fiddle about with your money until you were comfortably seated, you felt very safe on a bus as the two man crew would look after you. Everything from the smell of the bus to the way the bus crew dressed was sexy.

This continued through the 70's with slight differences being made to save cost. Then suddenly some fool came up with the idea of bus drivers taking the fares and doing away with the conductors. This killed the pleasure of working as a psv driver and it destroyed the experience the passenger once enjoyed. Imagine On The Buses being made now, it would be as much as a flop as it is in reality.

Now we simply enjoy the new standard of buses but tolerate the new breed of pcv drivers who know little about customer services and of old fashioned values and as few can speak the mother tongue it is very rare to hear the type of cheeky and suggestive banter that once made your journey to work or home such a unique pleasure.

So historically speaking this DVD set is a true account of how it was back then in the good old days. You'd now have to go to London and get on a tourist bus to experience it and even these are getting rare.

It wasn't all good as Stan will show you, it was hard work driving an old bus, the money wasn't great and the shifts were awful. But you had the crack, the banter and it was very sexy and it actually used to be a very good laugh and a pleasure to be on a bus crew.

I could watch On The Buses all day every day as it captures something special that has been lost. It is the best program to have ever been made for TV. Anyone who doesn't like On The buses just doesn't understand what they are missing or what they have missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I 'ate you Butler!", 3 Jan. 2009
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Broadcast long before I was even born (1969-1973) here we have a seminal situation comedy, On the Buses.

Starring the likes of Reg Varney who plays the lovable rouge Stan, this follows Stan and his family, his friend the womanising Jack through the various mishaps of their many days, and Stan's failed attempts at getting a girl, or getting one up on Blakey.

Yes, On the Buses may be a comedy of its time - but there's not one weak episode across seven series of laughter, innuendo and sarcasam aplenty.

What makes on the buses so endearing to me - who never saw it on TV first time around (I was born in 1980) - is the characters. Stan, is as mentioned, the lovable rogue who loves nothing better than getting one over on the memorable Blakey, and tries desperately to successfully woo a woman.

Then, there is his equally memorable mother, played by Doris Hare. She's a stern woman, but cunning as well. She disapproves of Stan's attempts at wooing women, and won't have that sort of thing going on in her house. She's also cunning as well, feigning injury when Stan insists he has moved out for good in order to bring him back into the fold.

Just as captivating is the dynamic pairing of Michael Robbins and Anna Karen, playing Arthur and Olive respectively. Arthur is married to Mum's daughter, Olive - who is the butt of many jokes - most of them made by her uncaring, ever sarcastic husband. Much is made of Olive's appetite, short sightedness, and dowdy appearence - but Arthur sometimes gets as good as he gives, with Olive making repeated references to Arthur's "operation" and lack of prowess in the bedroom department.

Jack, Stan's companion is also lovable, as the womanising Jack who loves women and concocts various plans to upset Blakey.

With such memorable characters, this is what makes On the Buses such a masterpiece. The comedy very much centres on a somewhat sexist approach, but this is comedy of the sixties and seventies - and much material was around playing on similar aspects (Carry On - anyone) and I personally do not find it offensive in the slightest. What you do have here, is a gem of a comedy series that is far cleaner, funnier and wittier than many comedies of today. With the PC brigade going completely potty nowadays, a series like this probably wouldn't have been made today, so thank god the PC Brigade wasn't about then.

So come on, buy this boxset and climb aboard with Stan and co and buses which never run on time - but have they ever?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD]
On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] by Reg Varney (DVD - 2008)
£36.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews