Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far So Good
I bought this PIR Detector through Amazon to replace a failed one on a floodlight. I'm not an electrician but this item was easy enough to instal and it does a really good job. There are adjustments for Sensitivity, 'On' time and Ambient light. Poorer products often allow no adjustment so the light comes on when its not required. This one is fully adjustable. And I'm...
Published on 20 Sept. 2012 by Brown Bear

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Water ingress after one month
My first impression of this product was that it wasn't sufficiently sealed to keep the water out. The cable entrance in particular is not designed for an exterior cable and doesn't form a tight seal. I installed it and used a lot of silicone to correct the inadequate sealing. It worked perfectly with good sensitivity and range, but after 3-4 weeks without much rain it...
Published on 28 Mar. 2013 by Fell Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but with reservations, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Its a good price but the distance is no where near what is claimed and wire entry is poor for something supposed to be situated externally ie external quality cable has to be used which needs a relatively large to carry a current capacity for 1000W, the grommet is solid, despite drilling the hole as big as possible I could not get the cable through so had to drill out the plastic and use a larger grommet - surely somebody checked this out? also noting depending on your set-up you may need to get 2 cables in there now that would be challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got this for my outside lighting, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Due to the council turning the lights off at night I decided to install this so I wasn't coming home to complete darkness, works well and has been working now for some time. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PIR Motion Detector - indoor use only?, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I bought three of these to improve the security lighting outside the house. On reading the instructions, however, I found they are intended for indoor use only! No hint of this in the Amazon online blurb. Since I am using them under the eaves of the house, and since they are obviously sealed against moisture ingress, I went ahead and installed them anyway. Eight weeks down the line, no problems, so hopefully it is the instructions that are incorrect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Device will not switch off. Beware., 4 Oct. 2013
By 
BigJohnD (Glannau Mersi, Lloegr) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I'm returning the PIR Detector. Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1000W Max Black

1. Fitting instructions and initial set up are minimal and somewhat confusing, being just diagrams and symbols, without any text for clarification.

2. Wiring up was however straightforward, though it took me some time as there was not a lot of space in the terminal box and the grommets were tricky to get fully home.

3. An initial test before finally clipping everything in place suggested all was well. However, the attached light would not go out despite setting the sensitivity and time on to the minimum, as the instructions seemed to suggest.

4. At dusk, the device switches the light on even though there is no movement, and it won't go off - even though the time on is set to the minimum.

I have given this product the lowest rating. It should work as expected, even if the sensitivity, duration and light level need a lot of adjusting. I see other users of the device have suffered similarity.

Future purchasers beware.

Update: I have now received a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my needs. Until it failed., 10 April 2013
By 
Linz G (Nottinghamshire : England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased this to replace a very old faulty one.

Very easy to install, easy to set the sensitivity, the time and the light levels for it to work, on here it claims to be IP44 rated and that it's suitable for outdoor use. In my opinion, this is NOT suitable for outdoor use as the seals are not water tight. If I recall, the instructions say this is not suitable for outdoor use.

However, this was to be fitted in a shed, away from any water so, is perfect for my needs.

Had it have been waterproof and so suitable for external use, I would have rated it 5 stars.

Update...

20mths in use and Item has failed, so much so, it now constantly trips the mains feed. It been indoors since being fitted, not suseptable to extremes of temperature, being inside means no rain has got i to it, I've evening I noticed the lights kept flashing on and off, the following evening (1am to be precise) it tripped the fuse. Tried to reset but no, it's failed. Dissapointed that it's lasted less than 2yrs.

Downgraded to 1 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive, but a very effective sensor, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Received ahead of delivery date. Fitting instructions, at first, appeared daunting but I quickly realised that much of it was a duplicate in several other languages. For me this is always reassuring as it suggests that the product is being successfully sold in many countries around the world.
All necessary fitments, screws rawlplugs and grommets come supplied with the sensor and the elecrical connections that are required are very easy to do. Once installed the sensor can be set to allow a 'walking' test under normal daylight conditions, so that you may make adjustments of angle etc., to ensure that the sensor is detecting motion in the full area you wish to protect.
This is a very effective sensor, yet inexpensive. I have no reservations in rating it with five stars and recommending it to all who may be viewing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just works, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
It just works right out of the box. Installation took around 20 minutes after unpacking and set up was very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars short life, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
easy to fit, worked well for 9 month then kaput. Its a nightmare trying to return anything over 30 days old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Effective so far, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I have had several of these over the years, and they have all worked well enough until one day they stop working, either leaving the light on all the time, failing to detect when it's dark, or not switching on at all. I have a pair on my garage, so the lights come on whichever direction you approach, and the other one has been on there for many years without issue, but this one has been replaced 2 or 3 times. No idea why, as they both do the same job, although this one faces South, so maybe they don't like strong sunlight?
The instructions are not very good, and the adjustment controls are very fiddly and difficult to see, especially when installed. Tip: familiarise yourself with the controls, and span of adjustment before you install it, so you get a feel for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early review, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
Leslie Reed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
After a month the detector is still working well. The real test is if it's working in a year. I will update then. Not too difficult to install and easy to adjust the controls.

September 2014 - still working perfectly after a year and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews