Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far So Good
I bought this PIR Detector through Amazon to replace a failed one on a floodlight. I'm not an electrician but this item was easy enough to instal and it does a really good job. There are adjustments for Sensitivity, 'On' time and Ambient light. Poorer products often allow no adjustment so the light comes on when its not required. This one is fully adjustable. And I'm...
Published on 20 Sep 2012 by Brown Bear

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Water ingress after one month
My first impression of this product was that it wasn't sufficiently sealed to keep the water out. The cable entrance in particular is not designed for an exterior cable and doesn't form a tight seal. I installed it and used a lot of silicone to correct the inadequate sealing. It worked perfectly with good sensitivity and range, but after 3-4 weeks without much rain it...
Published 21 months ago by Fell Walker


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far So Good, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this PIR Detector through Amazon to replace a failed one on a floodlight. I'm not an electrician but this item was easy enough to instal and it does a really good job. There are adjustments for Sensitivity, 'On' time and Ambient light. Poorer products often allow no adjustment so the light comes on when its not required. This one is fully adjustable. And I'm about to buy a second.

Some reviews suggested it might not last very long. I've only had mine for a few days, so fingers crossed it keeps going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Water ingress after one month, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Fell Walker (Lake District, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
My first impression of this product was that it wasn't sufficiently sealed to keep the water out. The cable entrance in particular is not designed for an exterior cable and doesn't form a tight seal. I installed it and used a lot of silicone to correct the inadequate sealing. It worked perfectly with good sensitivity and range, but after 3-4 weeks without much rain it failed in the open position, so the light is always on.

Water is visible behind the detector screen. Very annoying to have to replace it. I imagine quite a few of the positive reviews are written after a few days of installation. A predictable failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails in a year or less - Don't bother, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Animal 62 (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Two units installed Feb 2012, both have since failed and have to be replaced. Unfortunately purchased late 2011 so not worth the hassle of complaining or returning for the money, I just won't buy any more Byron Elro products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor detection facilities, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Not a good purchase, poor movement detection. I took it down and purchased a better product (cost more).
Seems like it's cheap because it's poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
It works ok, but difficult to achieve the required setting to prevent day time operation and hard to see which adjusters are which, after unit is installed and is way off the ground. Also it is difficult to catch hold of the control knobs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't know, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I have tried wiring this up as prescribed and I have also tried every other combination possible. I can get it to come on, but it never turns off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Review, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
I found this sensor relatively easy to install with no major issues to report. The only minor point I have to report is thefact that the gromets which the wires pass through were too stiff and could not be easily fixed into the unit itself after the wires had been passed through. Other than this, the detection of movement and switching the light on and the time which teh light remained on was spot on. Not a bad product for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motion Detector Switch, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Easy to fit with simple instructions. Appears to work very well so I'm very happy with my purchase. Also delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
dead easy to set up, mount, switch on, adjust the various settings and away you go,
but beware of moving objects in windy conditions, it will see them and switch on not the products fault.
so check line of site, good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging more sturdy than product!, 31 Oct 2014
This review is from: Byron Elro ES90 PIR Motion Detector Switch Area 180° x 12M 1200W Max Black (Kitchen & Home)
Flimsy and cheap, if you like wasting time installing poor quality electronics which then don't work, go ahead and purchase - you won't be disappointed. I bought two of these, the second of which is faulty and less value than a piece of wire. It has been installed over one year since bought so out of warranty period. Note to self buy quality in future... just ordered a Steinel for considerably more money to replace. You get what you pay for etc.

Bought to replace sensors which were old and tatty looking, but still working. Unfortunately I didn't apply the addage, if it aint broke don't fix it. It appeared to be working initially, but within 24hrs of fitting, water is visible behind the lens of the sensor part, so clearly not a well sealed product (note Steinel, made in Germany products are better sealed, IP54 rated).

The plastic is brittle and of low quality. The three adjustable rotatory dials are situated beneath the sensor lens component. These are fiddly and very cheap. On the one that does work, they are hard to set accurately, why therefore bother having a product with three items you can vary - crap shoot comes to mind!

The one which doesn't work at least doesn't switch on during the day, but once activated at night, stays lit invariably for multiple hours, even with the time set to minimum and the sensitivity set to minimum.

It isn't always better to pay more money, but in my experience with this product, I would recommend avoiding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews