Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't go back, so look to the future
I have to admit that, on first listen, I was really quite taken aback by this album - it isn't what I was expecting at all. Even though Primal Scream have, throughout the years, been musical chameleons, 'Beautiful Future' is different enough from their previous releases to be a genuine surprise when you first hear it. I have noticed that this album has pretty much split...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by A. Sweeney

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Symphonies
Absolutely have to agree with Mark Astons review here over the missing-middle-eight-repetitiveness of this album. At first listen it sounds like a glorious sugar coated update of the Screams first album, "Sonic Flower Groove", with "Beautiful Future" and the "Glory of Love "(in both forms) particularly brilliant in a second-summer-of-pop type way. "Uptown" is good in the...
Published on 2 Sep 2008 by Johnentwistlespout


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Symphonies, 2 Sep 2008
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
Absolutely have to agree with Mark Astons review here over the missing-middle-eight-repetitiveness of this album. At first listen it sounds like a glorious sugar coated update of the Screams first album, "Sonic Flower Groove", with "Beautiful Future" and the "Glory of Love "(in both forms) particularly brilliant in a second-summer-of-pop type way. "Uptown" is good in the same way that "Trainspotting" and "Screamadelica" (the track not the album) were, and cover "Over & Over" is another Broken Bobby (TM) version of "Damaged". But it's true, all these songs sound unfinished and either repeat themselves adnausium in some sick loop after about 20 seconds, or else take the cursed fade out route at the end. Criminal stuff because this could have been once of The Screams best albums. As it is it bores you senseless after a couple of listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't go back, so look to the future, 11 Aug 2008
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
I have to admit that, on first listen, I was really quite taken aback by this album - it isn't what I was expecting at all. Even though Primal Scream have, throughout the years, been musical chameleons, 'Beautiful Future' is different enough from their previous releases to be a genuine surprise when you first hear it. I have noticed that this album has pretty much split the fanbase down the middle and I can't say I'm shocked - this album has probably the most catchy, shimmering, near-mainstream pop Primal Scream have ever released with only glimpses of the hard-edged dirtiness which have characterised some of their most loved releases in the last decade or so.

In fact, when the opening, title track starts, complete with chiming bells, bouncy beat and radio-friendly sing-a-long chorus, you wonder if they're joking but, as it turns out, they're not - they're serious and, quite honestly, it's seriously good. The single 'Can't Go Back' is a raucous piece of brilliance which, along with the menacing 'Suicide Bomb' and the brilliant Josh Homme collaboration 'Necro Hex Blues', provide the edge and character which makes the album distinctively Primal Scream, but the album is equally as good for songs such as the mellow, chilled out 'Uptown' and the understated but catchy 'Glory Of Love'. There's even a quietly superb break-up ballad, a cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'Over & Over' featuring Linda Thompson. Not everything on 'Beautiful Future' is exactly fantastic, in fact there is a distinct mid-album lull, but it's all very listenable and, on the whole, a very good album.

Leave your pre-conceptions and reservations behind - Primal Scream have made an album to be enjoyed, so just buy it with an open mind, play it, go with the flow and enjoy it but, be warned, if you want anything similar to 'XTRMNTR' or 'Evil Heat', you're likely to be very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IN A WORD : YAWN!, 20 Aug 2008
By 
god knows what the scream were thinking when they made "beautiful future"; this album is so blatantly commercial, it could make you scream (pun intended).

I miss everything that this band ever stood for - and I say this with about 13 or so years hindsight: there`s no urgency here, no irony, nothing...not even real sleaze...it`s simply utterly boring.

in a nutshell, primal scream have obviously run out of ideas: this might well be their last shot at chart success - and the scream`s motivation for targeting the kiddie market. mark my words, it`s not gonna work.

therefore, avoid this one like the pest; and hope for better days...maybe.

beautiful future? not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Played it Over & Over, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Martin Mckenna "McKenna" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
This Primal Scream album is one which takes a little getting used to, and repeated plays on the ipod have convinced me of its quality. In my opinion many of the reviews have been a little too critical and some people maybe expecting too much from a band who change approach and direction with almost every track and album.

The many uptempo tracks really hit the spot and the slowest Over & Over is really excellent.

Looking forward to seeing many of these tracks, along with some old classics, played live on the upcoming tour.

I suggest anyone who liked any Primal Scream album should buy it, give it a few listens, and make up your own mind as many of the reviews, I believe, are misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 July 2008
By 
Al (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
I must admit to being a little bit excited about this release after hearing "Can't Go Back", my purchase of "Riot City Blues" ended up on Amazon Marketplace after less than a week of listening. After listening to "Evil Heat", "XTRMNTR" and I suppose even going back as far as "Vanishing Point", I couldn't take the return to the "Give Out But Don't Give Up" era, so off it went.

So after my first listening to Beautiful Future I didn't get the amazing smack-in-my-face rock and roll goodness that I expected after hearing Can't Go Back. In fact, I had to listen to it a second time as none of the tracks really grabbed my attention.

After a few listens, I can safely say that Can't Look Back is the best track on the album, I might even stretch to say that The Glory of Love is a half decent album track, but that's about it I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different viewpoint on Primal Scream, 22 July 2008
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
Reading through other peoples reviews, it seems that the previous few albums are prefered to "Beautiful Future". I only have "Screamadelica" , "Vanishing Point" and "Dirty Hits", and my initial thoughts were how different in style this album is compared to the others I have listened to. This is not neccessarily a bad thing, however.

The album is more rock than the previous electronic processed sound I am used to associating Primal Scream with (such as "Kowalski" and "Get Duffy" from the album "Vanishing Point") or numbers like "Swastika Eyes". I was disappointed in the aspect that I was hoping for more of this type of music, and by judging the latter half of "Dirty Hits", I assume to be the style of most albums post-Vanishing Point era.

However, despite this new musical path, I have to admit I do like the album, as I am a fan of this brand of 'light' rock. "Zombie Man" is a very anthemic track, which is groovy to listen to but will probably be one of those tracks I get bored of from being overheard in a short space of time. "Uptown" and "Can't Go Back" are good songs to kick the album off to, whilst "Beautiful Summer" is a slower paced song with a relaxing feel to it during the middle.

I can't help feel that the band is trying to attract a more mainstream audience, as musically the songs are a lot more plain in progression and structure compared to past songs which seemed more innovative and electronica-based (The bass line of "If They Move, Kill 'Em" springs to mind). Not very Primal Scream-y, this aside, I think it is a comprehensive and casual album to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IN A WORD : YAWN!, 20 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
god knows what the scream were thinking when they made "beautiful future"; this album is so blatantly commercial, it could make you scream (pun intended).

I miss everything that this band ever stood for - and I say this with about 13 or so years hindsight: there`s no urgency here, no irony, nothing...not even real sleaze...it`s simply utterly boring.

in a nutshell, primal scream have obviously run out of ideas: this might well be their last shot at chart success - and the scream`s motivation for targeting the kiddie market. mark my words, it`s not gonna work.

therefore, avoid this one like the pest; and hope for better days...maybe.

beautiful future? not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., 30 July 2008
XTRMNTR. There, I've mentioned it. It had to be brought up at some point, so why not at the start? Essentially, this album will never hit the heady heights of that album. Every album after XTMNTR has been a hopeful, patient wait to see if Primal Scream can do it again- but time and time again they've been a let down. Evil Heat was patchy, and Riot City Blues was just a bizarre Stones and 13th Floor Elevators homage.

14 tracks are on this album. Great! However, 1 is a video, 2 are covers which really fail to grab the imagination, and 1 is a single version of another track. OK, it could be worse. But I really would have expected them to pack in a few good ones. It just seems, sadly, that they've run out of ideas.

There are no terrible songs here, just a few distinctly average ones. The Glory of Love (why did they pick that for the next single? At least, I assume it is the next one- as it is the aforementioned 'single version'), Beautiful Summer and Suicide Bomb are just average songs that chug along, without much happening. Zombie Man could be lifted off Riot City Blues, and Necro Hex Blues similarly.

But there are a few redeeming features. Can't Go Back is brilliant, as is Uptown. Time of the Assassins and Love to Be Hurt also get honourable mentions. However that is not enough for a band with some classic albums. Yes, I've heard people call it a grower, but I don't think any album is worth 15 times of listening intently, waiting to 'get it'.

For a band who I've sat through some distinctly average albums for, waiting for the good songs because they're Primal Scream, they are really testing the patience. I would give this 2.5 stars if I could, because it's not a 2 star, but it really doesn't deserve 3 stars either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thankfully back on track. The Scream rediscover their form..., 22 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
Following 2006's lamentable `Riot City Blues`, it's a joy to hear Primal Scream take yet another, more virtuous U-turn on `Beautiful Future`.

Gone are the retro-rock posturing and lyrical laziness that hampered their previous record and in with the trademark electronics and powering guitars, not heard since their underrated "Evil Heat" album of 2002.

Although still not the Primal Scream turned up to 11 they gave us on `Xtrmntr', `Beautiful Future' is certainly a step in the right direction. The brooding paranoia on `Uptown', `Suicide Bomb' and `Beautiful Summer' rank as some of their best efforts yet while lead single, `Can't Go Back' comes on like the shiny cousin of `Accelerator`.

This time round however, the albums finest moments lay with it's collaborators.

Lovefoxxx adds a haunting vocal to the chilling `I Love To Hurt (You Love To Be Hurt)' which also marks the welcome return of Jagz Kooner on electronics. This is followed by Bobby and folk star Linda Thompson dueting on `Over & Over' - a track which could have easily been lifted from `Screamadelica'.

Lined-up against their previous work, it sits best next to 1998's `Vanishing Point'. An album that also came at a time when Primal Scream had been all but written off after the critical shrug of the shoulders that was `Give Out But Don't Give Up'.

With a resilience that holds no bars, you can't help but think if nuclear fall-out were to happen tomorrow all that would remain would be cockroaches and Primal Scream.

So...all is forgiven. Bring on album number ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent album, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Future (Audio CD)
reasonal album from post-punk but little known group, everybody should buy and listen to at least one of their albums and this a good one to start with. You never know, maybe you become fans and buy a few more, which will help them reform
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3636c9c)

This product

Beautiful Future
Beautiful Future by Primal Scream (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews