Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compromise between practicality and functionality, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
There is an inherent pay off with tripods - sturdiness and stability vs weight and practicality. Sure this isn't one of those "I'll withstand anything you throw at me and remain rock solid" type of tripods - but they are heavy and expensive. This is a great compromise though. It's light but perfectly stable in most conditions - plus it has a hook that you can add weight to via your camera bag if conditions so require.

Solidly constructed of lightweight aluminium, it telescopes down into four units - again plus points for practicality as those that only go down to three are, by definition larger when compressed. This you can comfortably add to your backpack and head off without feeling like you are lugging around a ton of rocks. It's intuitive to use and a few minutes spend playing with the instruction leaflet will explain what moves how and where. Once mastered, it's lightening fast to set up in the field. There's a low use base that can be interchanged so you can get really low shots if needed.

It's perfect for travelling and days out, but that doesn't mean it's all compromise. It's a sturdy, well built unit and so not one that you will feel that you are making do. If you need a rock-steady indestructible platform, you might want to look elsewhere, but as a totally practical everyday tripod - this is an excellent, value for money choice.

Note that it does not come with head attached so you will have to use your own head (that sounds odd, but you now what I mean!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can any more be said about the Giottos MT 9340B Tripod?, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
Michael Watts (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
For the price you pay the Giotto MT 9340B 4 Section Professional Tripod is a well made piece of equipment and guaranteed for 5 years. The spirit level has been mentioned but on the centre column there is a hook to hang a weight to stabilise the tripod.
The extension sections diameters are 20. 16. 12 and 8 mm.
With the 8 mm. diameter leg extended it looks a bit flimsy, but remember this is a travel tripod and if you upgraded to a carbon fibre then another £200 and more could be added to the price.
I have fitted the Manfrotto 234RC Monopod Head.
This has a quick release unit with a lockable hinge which will swing the camera from a landscape to portrait position, and anything in between.
It is very compact and light unit, and it is very cheap compared to a ball head which could cost as much as the tripod.
None of my lenses are "Image Stabilised" but if you have the "IS" type then you should switch the function off before using any tripod.
In my opinion if you own a compact, bridge or a DSLR and the weight of your equipment does not exceed 2.0 Kgs. then this tripod will suit your needs perfectly.
Update 18th. April 2012. For an alternative have a look at the Velbon Ultra Rexi L Tripod, a little more money, but worth the extra cost with regards to stability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giottos Tripod GTMT 9340B, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. John Wood "jw" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
Light but strong and stable. The central column makes a useful horizontal flower-stalking position for close-ups. Better still with the 3-way head attached - Giottos, not mine!! I bought this because of it's size - just about right for carrying around, it's just a bit longer than my Billingham 350 bag. It's a lot lighter than my two previous (fairly ancient)ones. Wish I could say the same about my body !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, short and Rigid - perfect for your suitcase, 15 May 2010
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
I bought the GTMT 9340B to take on Holiday.

As a 4 section tripod it collapses down to a very compact block which easily fits inside a small suitcase. Getting it into a suitcase is one thing it needs to perform when you get to your destination. Besides being compact the 9390b is light but strong enough to take a heavy pro slr with a good zoom lens. Having 4 short sections in each leg makes the height very adjustable; and the legs can also pulled out to reduce the height further; included in the pack is a shorter length head which lets you have a very wide base but exceptionally low to the ground tripod should you need it - though this conversion requires using a toolkit to remove and adjust the head. When using the long centre column the system allows you to either tilt it at an angle; or used completely horizontally at the expense of some stability but enabling some more creative freedom. The centre column ring has a very useful spirit level - something I haven't had on any of my previous tripods.

A tripod is only useful if you use it; and the 9340b made an excellent travel companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to keep the legs held in place..., 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
I was really pleased with the tripod when new, but after prolonged and continued use the legs are increasingly difficult to tighten, with the small bottom rubber sleeves spinning freely on the shafts. It's frustrating when the tripod keeps sliding down on one or two of the legs. Shame, because it's an ideal sized travel tripod. Interesting to see if others encounter this problem over time.
Amended 23.12.2011 - following a general enquiry to Giootas, I recieved a surprise packet constining 3 new replacement rubbers. What fantastic after sales service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tripod that will get used, 1 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
The order was delivered on time. This Giottos tripod is compact and light, and well engineered. The downside is at full extension it feels a bit spindly, understandably. However it will get used much more than the 30 year old, heavy (aluminium?) and rickety model it replaces simply because of its portability and convenience in use. With a Manfrotto 494RC2 ball head it seems ideal for my Canon DSLR and 100 - 300 mm lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good tripod, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
Marcelo Garcia (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
I used this tripod in my travel to Spain and was good, stable, and easy to carry. Looks solid, and the rubber in the legs make it easy to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tripod, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
This is a good travel tripod, which goes every where with me, it is not much heavier than a much more expensive carbon fibre equivalent. It is solid to use.
The only thing stopping it getting 5 stars, was the toolkit came with the wrong size allen key, and the spirit level is slighty out, meaning I have to use an external spirit level if I am doing and panning shots.

But all in all a good tripos with good features.
Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 21 May 2010
By 
Kakema (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
Great product for the price - very well built and easy to use. Obviously not as stable as some sturdier (and heavier) tripods (I have a Manfrotto 190proB that is rock-solid but weighs much more) but ideal for travel use - it's now strapped to my backpack and I'm heading out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Tripod, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Professional Series MT GTMT9340B 4-Section Aluminium Travel Tripod with Two-Way Column (Accessory)
A great tripod for producing those special shots rather then those wobbly out of focus ones. Also it can be used for taking those long video shots .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews