Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars192
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2013
I've watched this film since 1980. I think it is so wonderfully well made and observed.

The acting is superb; the violence not excessive but still real and obvious - a little scary but still understated bearing in mind the reality of teenage gang violence in 1963 New York.

BUT the FILM IS NOT ABOUT GANG VIOLENCE! In my view it is a remarkable comment on the social inter-relations for the working class communites of all ethnic communites - "Joey's" family situation is actually terrifying - just meet his dad!

Still the character "Terror" of the "Baldies" gang is perfect but his adversaries (and real stars) are the members of the Wanderers gang Ritchie, Joey, Buddy and the infamous "Turkey". Where they end up is so interesting.

Fantastic soundtrack from the era. You must see this film.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
So, here's how this edition looks (pretty nice, if you ask me). Enjoy the snapshots!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2003
Based on the Richard Price book of self contained vignettes of his own youth in the Bronx, the film is a series of set pieces of killer dialogue, (just too many quotable lines), ensemble acting and truly disturbing violence. Although the plot doesn't hang together perfectly and we are asked to suspend belief in a couple of the fight scenes (especially Perry's introduction and the amazing materialising Ducky Boys at the football game), you just have to forgive this film for its faults.
There is so much to enjoy from the bravado of youth that is Turkey, to the pantomime that is Terror. The soundtrack that kicks in with "Walk Like a Man" is so apt, and gets better and funnier.
It is a feel good movie in that although there are bad people out there, and this film doesn't shirk from showing them, the overwhelming message is that if you stick with your friends you won't go far wrong.
Absolutely essential post pub viewing , cos, hey, I ain't no hard guy.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
One of my favourite films of all time, I was really disappointed as the film has dutch subtitles along the bottom of the screen. Still a great film though.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2004
A real taste of the sixties...well the end of the fifties...the beginning of a new age. There is so much life in this film, and Bronx characters that stay with you for a long time. Teenage gangs, Italian businessmen calling the shots...and who's gonna forget the Forham Baldies? Great clothes...superb dialogue and a superb soundtrack...who could ask for more...I've always loved this film...and it doesn't lose it over time...this came out about the same time as the Warriors...but there's much more to it...Great great great film!
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Excellent film and so glad I found it without those Dutch sub titles. Used to have it on VHS so made up to have it on DVD now. Another DVD that I highly recommend enjoy
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I bought my bluray copy the other day and the disc itself is fine, great in fact, it's awesome seeing the film in such good quality. But it's advertised as a Directors Cut, with an addition 25 minutes extra as stated on the front cover. I can't seem to find these extra 25 minutes - there doesn't appear to be an option to watch two different versions, and from what I could translate from the extra page, no option there either.

Does anybody know if this bluray actually has these extras, or if this version is the same as the dvd version?? I've tried googling this and there seems to be a variety of different cuts - pretty confusing

But even if these extra scenes aren't included, I recommend this version of the film just to see it in such good quality.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
This film is superb, it's the type of movie that you can watch over and over again.
Based in 1963 the film is about a teenage gang called The Wanderers, it's a film about friendship, love, betrayal. It's a Movie that once you've finished watching it, you will have to rewind it and watch it all over again.
I recommend this film to anyone.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
I see that now I am being asked to rate this product, there is a note on the screen to the effect that although it is brand new, boxed and in English, there are NON-removable Dutch subtitles. Had this been evident from the screen I purchased it through, would not have ordered as they are a great distraction and cannot see why they had to be there. Why non-removable? first unsatisfactory purchase from Amazon and would have returned it but my husband loves the music from the film and it is very hard to get hold of a DVD of it at a reasonable price. Be more upfront seller!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
whats with the SUBTITLES .. dutch subtitles all the way through and on the picture , not removable ... very annoying and distracts from the film .
nowhere is this mentioned
also poor quality cover and not the original picture
picture is also poor quality .. very grainy
avoid this dvd and hope a british release is on the way !!
88 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)