Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Wanderers" is superb. A must see for all ages AND related Social Historians of gang and social culture in NY
I've watched this film since 1980. I think it is so wonderfully well made and observed.

The acting is superb; the violence not excessive but still real and obvious - a little scary but still understated bearing in mind the reality of teenage gang violence in 1963 New York.

BUT the FILM IS NOT ABOUT GANG VIOLENCE! In my view it is a remarkable...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. M. T. Quinn

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise there were subtitles
One of my favourite films of all time, I was really disappointed as the film has dutch subtitles along the bottom of the screen. Still a great film though.
Published on 30 July 2009 by Graham Millar


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Wanderers" is superb. A must see for all ages AND related Social Historians of gang and social culture in NY, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've watched this film since 1980. I think it is so wonderfully well made and observed.

The acting is superb; the violence not excessive but still real and obvious - a little scary but still understated bearing in mind the reality of teenage gang violence in 1963 New York.

BUT the FILM IS NOT ABOUT GANG VIOLENCE! In my view it is a remarkable comment on the social inter-relations for the working class communites of all ethnic communites - "Joey's" family situation is actually terrifying - just meet his dad!

Still the character "Terror" of the "Baldies" gang is perfect but his adversaries (and real stars) are the members of the Wanderers gang Ritchie, Joey, Buddy and the infamous "Turkey". Where they end up is so interesting.

Fantastic soundtrack from the era. You must see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanderers forever!, 11 Sep 2004
By A Customer
A real taste of the sixties...well the end of the fifties...the beginning of a new age. There is so much life in this film, and Bronx characters that stay with you for a long time. Teenage gangs, Italian businessmen calling the shots...and who's gonna forget the Forham Baldies? Great clothes...superb dialogue and a superb soundtrack...who could ask for more...I've always loved this film...and it doesn't lose it over time...this came out about the same time as the Warriors...but there's much more to it...Great great great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jun 2013
This is my fiancé's gave film and hard to get on DVD without distracting subtitles all over it. I paid more than I would usually like to but it's well worth it for such s great film. Recommended 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanderers Forever, 24 Dec 2003
By 
derek wilson (alexandria, dunbartonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Based on the Richard Price book of self contained vignettes of his own youth in the Bronx, the film is a series of set pieces of killer dialogue, (just too many quotable lines), ensemble acting and truly disturbing violence. Although the plot doesn't hang together perfectly and we are asked to suspend belief in a couple of the fight scenes (especially Perry's introduction and the amazing materialising Ducky Boys at the football game), you just have to forgive this film for its faults.
There is so much to enjoy from the bravado of youth that is Turkey, to the pantomime that is Terror. The soundtrack that kicks in with "Walk Like a Man" is so apt, and gets better and funnier.
It is a feel good movie in that although there are bad people out there, and this film doesn't shirk from showing them, the overwhelming message is that if you stick with your friends you won't go far wrong.
Absolutely essential post pub viewing , cos, hey, I ain't no hard guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise there were subtitles, 30 July 2009
By 
Graham Millar "Thesaxman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wanderers [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite films of all time, I was really disappointed as the film has dutch subtitles along the bottom of the screen. Still a great film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what these sellers do to make a sale, 8 Feb 2011
whats with the SUBTITLES .. dutch subtitles all the way through and on the picture , not removable ... very annoying and distracts from the film .
nowhere is this mentioned
also poor quality cover and not the original picture
picture is also poor quality .. very grainy
avoid this dvd and hope a british release is on the way !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars always check the item info, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Wanderers [DVD] (DVD)
wasn't what i expected, watched the film years ago and yes its still a classic, but not the DVD i purchased, came with the wrong cover on the box, it was filmed in 4 x 6 and on a 42" screen doesn't look good. The picture wasn't sharp, in my opinion it had been filmed by someone in a cinema.
Not a happy buyer, it wont be staying in my collection, i'll emphasise again not a good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a film, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. Leyland (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film and so glad I found it without those Dutch sub titles. Used to have it on VHS so made up to have it on DVD now. Another DVD that I highly recommend enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
delivered promptly all the way from Australia an oldie but brings back all those old rental vhs days when the video shop was a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Wanderers (DVD)
Love this film and havent seen it in ages but if you dont want to see dutch subtitles throught the movie then dont buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wanderers
The Wanderers by Philip Kaufman (DVD)
£24.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews