Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good
It does the job, design on packaging a bit like an advert for some soft porn and was flimsy and scruffy but as it was for me it didn't matter. I would have been concerned if it was for a gift. Delivery was very quick, within 2 days. One tip, wear it inside out, serious, I wore it the other way and had a deep seam mark going down my forehead it was there for ages..
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Debs

versus
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it silk
I am disappointed by this balaclava. Yes it looks just like the photograph, but it is described as silk, when it is in fact synthetic silk. Surely this flies in the face of the Trade Descriptions Act. I have previously had a silk balaclava and found it to be excellent. I feel deceived by Amazon.
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Paul Pacey


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
It does the job, design on packaging a bit like an advert for some soft porn and was flimsy and scruffy but as it was for me it didn't matter. I would have been concerned if it was for a gift. Delivery was very quick, within 2 days. One tip, wear it inside out, serious, I wore it the other way and had a deep seam mark going down my forehead it was there for ages..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not like the Phot, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Paul E Barrett (Keelby Nr grimsby) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
I only gave this item 4 stars only because when you put it on it does not come any where near to covering your neck like in the photo, apart from that the item is very good just don't expect it to cover your neck like the photo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars partner on motorbike very happy, 4 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
partner on motorbike very happy. Cam squished in box and box was crumpled in post but this did not affect the product just made the pressie look a bit shabby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balaclava, 3 Dec 2011
By 
tone1428 "Tone" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
Have worn this for the first time during this spell of cooler weather.I bought it to wear under my cycling helmet as I am seriously follically challenged! and of course these helmets all have airslits in them.
I have to agree with other reviewers who commented on the size of the seam...it is pretty huge! however I dont find it too uncomfortable at all and it certainly kept my bald old head warm too!
In 2 short phrases,cheap as chips, and warm as toast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 18 Dec 2010
By 
B. J. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
I've had other balaclavas over the years and after a short time they go out of shape especially around the eyes(bumps of material sticking out by the corner of the eye) and are too short around the neck.This is made of a type of lycra material so the whole thing is elasticated. Your vision not impaired as it hugs the face it comes down enough to give fair neck protection,is comfortable and is warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thermal Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection, 4 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
first class would recommend this product good fit and it keeps you nice and warm.
i would buy this again without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, effective, cheap; comfortable if worn inside-out!, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
Summary: Owned one of these for a while, and had some decent use out of it. It's cheap, and does the job very well. Wear it inside-out for increased comfort. Withstands use, and washes, well.

First Impressions:
I was tired of being given scummy loaner helmets at trackdays and karting sessions, and considering that I couldn't quite afford a helmet of my own, I thought a balaclava would be the best option. And it is!

The photo *is* a little misleading, in that the product does not afford any neck protection, but that wasn't an issue for me, and there are no other complaints I can really level at this thing. The product is stuffed into an undersized box bearing some .. interesting.. artwork on it, and the whole affair feels as you might expect it to, at this sort of price-point. Give the balaclava a good wash before first use!

In use:
In use under a helmet, the garment will keep your head pretty warm, but not excessively so. I've worn mine on a good number of occasions now, both indoor and outdoor, each time with a different helmet, and at no point has it ever never felt uncomfortable. Temperature and 'breathablility' are both satisfactory.

The only thing I'd really point out is that, owing to a huge seam running all the way along what is meant to be the inside of the balaclava, you might be left with an impression running up your forehead. It could even be a bit uncomfortable. Wear the garment inside-out to avoid this. It's supremely cosy when worn in this way.

Closing:
It's wonderfully cheap, and feels like it's withstood multiple outings and washes (a 40C wash seems to be fine), and should last for many more, too. Buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it silk, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Paul Pacey (Lincoln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
I am disappointed by this balaclava. Yes it looks just like the photograph, but it is described as silk, when it is in fact synthetic silk. Surely this flies in the face of the Trade Descriptions Act. I have previously had a silk balaclava and found it to be excellent. I feel deceived by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not silk, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Steve_e (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
I, too, feel that this is sold misleadingly as "silk". It's only when you read the small print that you see it is in fact "synthetic silk". Don't buy it if you want the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thin but good for price, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Scott Harrower (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermal Synthetic Silk Black Balaclava Under Helmet Protection
the balaclava is quite thin but I only bought it to keep jack frost from biting at the back of my neck and face if we get a nippy winter again. It's cheap but good for the price paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews