Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars40
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£16.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 14 March 2012
This is an essential recording a veritable masterpiece. The previous reviewer dismisses the show as mediocre but what we have here is Elvis' glorious return to live performance after a break of 7 years (it was never ten!) Elvis performs his 50's hits with gusto his voice had deepened and he belts them out almost hoarsly but in a true rock n roll manner! Stand outs are the fabulous One Night and Trying to Get to You which are actually better than the 1950's versions. Elvis also demonstrates some excellent guitar play. Indeed old Elvis never looked or sounded better than this. The King of em all y'all!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 1 March 2009
this product is excellent. elvis at his best, especially the sit down gig. one night with you one of the best songs and versions done by elvis. box set highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 31 December 2010
Wow, have not stopped playing these CDs since they arrived. I am really impressed with them, listening to them makes you feel you are part of the audience! Would highly recommend these to any Elvis fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 18 April 2010
No need to write about the music here, it's all been written before and of course is great, however it's a shame Sony/BMG have used the original edited versions for the road medley and gospel medley on disc 1 (the original album). The road medley has about 6 minutes or so chopped out of it and both contain edits that would make a butcher proud! If, like me, you're used to hearing the full versions from the "Memories" double CD, the edits sounds like the CD has jumped. The missing songs are added as bonus tracks but they make better sense as part of the full medley. There's plenty of room on disc 1 too as even with bonus tracks it's still only 58 minutes long.

Good packaging and booklet though and the rest is great just not quite as "Complete" as the title implies.

Oh well, only 8 years to go and we can all buy the extended uncut 50th anniversary edition! (plus the DVD of course on the next format that supercedes blu-ray!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
If you're a fan of the black leather clad, mean looking, panther pacing, awesome looking, hip shaking, guitar toting, and energising Elvis Presley, then this box set is for you. Almost everything that took place during the recording of the '68 Comeback Special is here (at the time it was called the Singer Special, as sponsored by Singer sewing machines. And remember, the show is from 1968, so expect that year's sound technology - no more and no less.

Elvis sings his lungs out with the excitement of a freed prisoner. And you could even argue that he was in a kind of prison - a Hollywood prison, contracted to churning out movie after movie for the past eight years solid. But Elvis belonged on stage thrilling the crowds - and that's exactly where he finds himself now. He belts out song after song, mostly from the 50's glory years - singing with even more gusto and sizzling with pent-up energy. The closing number of the televised show was the iconic IF I CAN DREAM. In this box set, you will hear it a few times in its full glory, just as you will other songs.

Weather you're a new fan or a collector, I thoroughly recommend this well presented handsome box set, complete with a great booklet. And at the time of writing, the price is an absolute bargain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2012
A fantastic product. Great quality produce used that, of course, is what you want - there is no flimsy paper booklet that you are scared to read in case it rips!
It goes without saying that the content is second to none, which to me personally, anything created involving / around Elvis Presley is a no-brainer!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 19 August 2008
This 4 cd set represents most of what is available from the '68 TV Special live and studio recordings. It is great to have it all in one box set as earlier releases were rather fragmented. I don't think there is much unreleased material on this and certainly there is no indication of any unreleased material at all in the comprehensive booklet which accompanies the set. Having said that some of the dialogue did appear "new" to me. Elvis does a grand rocking job throughout and as we all know was lean, mean and vocall fired up throughout. Buy it and enjoy the best ever Unplugged set ever!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Although I have seen recently on DVD the 68' comeback with all the extra footage I have to mention this cd set covers the Kings comeback 100% although you might get a bit bored with the tracks "Baby What You Want Me To Do" and "If I Can Dream" because the play the same songs at least 5
times with only a slight different take but if you don't have it you must definitely buy it because its a must have for every rock n roll fan and especially Elvis fans, even my family that does not like Elvis adored it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 22 March 2012
Back in early 1968 Elvis Presley was far from the 'King', instead he was a half forgotten rocker from the 1950s who was churning such "classic" films as Clambake! His songs, such as 'Guitar Man', were barely troubling all but the lowest reaches of the pop charts - just scraped the top 40 in the US, whilst in the UK it reached the dizzy heights of 16! So was the man washed up?, had his time come and gone?, could he no longer cut it as a live act? For anyone of a certain age they will know the answer, but for the rest I suggest putting on this blistering 4 cd set and discover a man, a performer blasting away the years, the doubters, the rubbish films etc and getting back to basics! Here we hear Presley as a raw and vital act once again, his voice raspy and hoarse - just perfect for belting out those rock 'n' roll numbers, yet controlled enough to make the most delicate of ballads live and breath. When the show was aired on television at the end of 1968 the effect was immediate and long lasting - Elvis was back, and this time for good!

Presley may never have been a true innovator in the same way as Dylan or the Beatles etc may have, he may have never written a single song of his own, but when he sang with passion and heart the world listened, and continues to listen to this day. A lot of this was undoubtly down to this show, a show in which he showed the world he still had what it took - The King was dead, Long Live The King! Ironically enough the closet British lp that this remains me of is John Lennon's 'Rock and Roll', another album in which an artist stips away all the polish and shine and gets back to some good, old fashioned ballsy rocking!

A quick word on the package. The way the cds are held in the case leaves a bit to be desired, but the booklet is very good with some rare photos and good potted history on the show itself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
A simply superb album from the greatest star of all time still unsurpassed by anyone, not convinced then listen to only two of the tracks off the album Memories and If I can dream, performed with vocal supremacy, No one alive or dead can sing like Elvis the maestro full stop.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Memories - 68' Comeback Special
Memories - 68' Comeback Special by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2014)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.