Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edward VII as he was - a magnificient personal portrait of the King
Christopher Hibbert is the wide-ranging historian writing mainly on 18th, 19th and 20th century British, Italian and French History. He has also written splendid history-guide books. Described as 'a writer of the highest ability' or as 'a pearl of biographers', he is, in the words of The Times Educational Supplement, 'perhaps the most gifted popular historian we...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by Amelrode

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK. A lot of repetition from other ...
It was OK. A lot of repetition from other books on Edward VII.
Published 1 month ago by Joanne Burch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edward VII as he was - a magnificient personal portrait of the King, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Christopher Hibbert is the wide-ranging historian writing mainly on 18th, 19th and 20th century British, Italian and French History. He has also written splendid history-guide books. Described as 'a writer of the highest ability' or as 'a pearl of biographers', he is, in the words of The Times Educational Supplement, 'perhaps the most gifted popular historian we have'.

He puts his amazing talent to good use in his personal history of Edward VII. One understands this "eternal" Prince of Wales who turns out to be a pretty good king in spite of his less promising career before his accessions at least in the eyes of his domineering mother, Queen Victoria. Edward is a likeable character, often weak, hedonistic, interested in the less important things in life, bon vivant, elegant, witty. There is not the high handed, constant moral approach of the Prince Consort which can be at times quite tiresome. He seems to be rather more like his mother, a likeness she did not like. While she fought her weaknesses, he lived them. Hibbert is never blind to his weaknesses, but equally not to his strength like his talent for diplomacy. It is a mere pleasure to read this. I enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very likeable Royal!, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Diane Burke (Perth, WA formerly Aberdeen UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edward was nearly 60 years of age when he became King. Nowadays most wealthy men of that age are looking to retire - certainly not looking to become King & Emperor as he did.

Hibbert has written a portrait of a very real human being. Edward or Bertie as he was to his family had what most people would call a difficult childhood; one cannot imagine having the form of education he had - very much the irresistable force against the immovable object. Yet, Edward had the real people skills that cannot be taught and Hibbert brings this to life.

Books on Edward are possibly difficult to research as upon his death, Edward instructed that all his personal papers be destroyed - something that Queen Alexandra too instructed upon her death in 1925. However, read this and purchase the DVD series of Edward the Seventh and you have a rich portrait of a King sadly destined to wait more years than he was ever to rule. One can sense how saddened he would have been to see his nephews and son go to war against each other just over 4 years after his death and how he would have reacted to the Czar's assassination with his family, one cannot comprehend.

What we are left with is a story which has been excellently researched and sheds contemporary light on a King who rightly deserves his place in history; who was aware of the need for the continuity of monarchy and ensured that he would never be forgotten.

This is a book that was enjoyable to read and one I couldn't put down. I had a liking for Edward as a monarch after watching the series, now I intend to purchase Sir Phillip Magnus' book on Edward to compare with this one. I recommend it and consider it would make excellent research material for students studying British life prior to World War I as the style of writing is clear and concise.

Buy it! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Bertie, 5 Nov 2008
I found this an absolutely enthralling book. So well written and set out. As a frequent visitor to Sandringham House, it was wonderful to get to know it's principal inhabitants, Edward and Alexandra. Much critised for his extravagant life style, I believe that Bertie would have been an excellent statesman given half the chance. Which of course was the one thing that his mother tried to prevent. Hence the filandering, partying life style. Plenty of money and no job to do!! Wouldn't we all be the same? The author really enables the reader to understand Edwards character make-up, which his own parents were largely responsible for building. I'm sad that Bertie didn't have a long time on the throne, as I feel he would have been a very sucessful and highly popular monarch. I found him an irresistably charming and highly educated man who, sadly, was not allowed to achieve his full potential. With his death, it seems that truly the Victorian years came to an end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best royal biography I've read, 2 July 2012
This review is from: Edward VII: The Last Victorian King (Kindle Edition)
Having read a huge amount of biographies on the royal family down through the years this stands out as far an away the most enjoyable and the most informative. A very likeable person who had his flaws but comes across as being very humane and a bit of fun. His mother doesn't fare as well! I will go back to this book and re read it many times I would imagine as I didn't want the book to end. Pure entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edward viii the last Victorian king, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edward VII: The Last Victorian King (Kindle Edition)
Well written , the author had obviously done their research. Not deep enough for a scholar to use as a reference book, but for the average reader of historical fact it makes a very interesting and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edward VII: The Last Victorian King (Kindle Edition)
I do read a lot of biographies and this is now one of my favourites. This King was a bit of a jack tha lad, and you cannot help but like the man. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK. A lot of repetition from other ..., 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was OK. A lot of repetition from other books on Edward VII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bit long winded in places but interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edward VII: The Last Victorian King (Kindle Edition)
As ever with Christopher Hibbert a top-notch read. Turns out Edward was quite the slug: faithless, feckless and full of his own importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edward VII: The Last Victorian King
£7.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews