Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great game unless you are a metalhead, then its just beautiful!
first things 1st i should point out that i am a metalhead. if you are not then immediately take a star off of the overall score

being rather metallically inclined as it were i was obviously salivating at the idea of this game, jack black might have lost some on screen credibility recently (subject to opinion)but his love of heavy metal cannot be denied so in a...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Mr Bubbles

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genre Confused
Brutal Legend had a lot of hype behind it and a lot of my friends have said its fantastic but I cant help but feel disappointed. Do not by any means think that I am saying its a bad game because its not but it just doesn't live up to expectations.

I usually do very detailed reviews of games, so if you are looking for a more detailed review you might want to...
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Mstr J. Spiers


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Because of the story characters and soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Woefully short, and annoyingly out of focus, 22 Oct 2009
By 
T. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has a great atmosphere, but even though it has been in production for years feels severely lacking. The core game can be completed in 5-7 hours. Most side quests are repeated several times to the point they become meaningless filler, and ridicul9ously easy and unsatisfying even on the hardest difficulty. Halfway through the game changes it's focus from 3rd person action/open world driving, to a very weak attempt at an RTS game. The control system is a pain, leaving your army standing around seemingly unaffected by the four types of order you can give out to nearby units, or the one giant beacon you can summon. I was left wishing this was a Russian WW2 game, atleast then I would have specially trained officers to execute my troops that refused to fight or advance when given instructions. I really enjoyed the first half of the game but halfway through it practically becomes unplayable unless you are willing to brute force a very weak imitation of an RTS game with none of the control or features you would normally expect from a game of that type. The setting, characters and humour is good, but ultimately I bought a game not an hour long CGI cutscene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DisJointed, 25 Jan 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Sorry just cant get into this game, It is all over the place. Good Graphics, Good Sound Track. But bad game play.If I had to sum the game up in one word, That WORD would be IRRITATING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could of been so much more, 9 Nov 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Whilst early on this game is fun to play, once you have done over 40 off world missions you start to lose the will to live, also the band battles take a lot of getting used to, would of been nice to have an overview map of the battles and an easier way of deploying your troops rather than click and over there.

Multiplayer is a big let down as its just the battle of the bands.

Save yourself 40 quid and rent it, you'l complete it easy enough and will have saved yourself enough cash to get MODERN WARFARE2, ASSASINS CREED2 or DRAGONS AGE ORIGINS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Schafer, 3 Nov 2009
By 
M. C. Emerson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Tim Schafer is the man behind the story of Brütal Legend, relatively well known for his critically-acclaimed but commercially unsuccessful games such as Monkey Island, Grim Fandango and most recently Psychonauts. This game has an amazing story and great characterisation with Schafer's wonderful sense of humour. It is one of very few games whose stories make up for shortcomings in gameplay. For some the gameplay leaves something to be desired because it consists of simplified RTS and hack 'n' slash game styles melded together. The scavenging and side missions become repetitive but you don't have to complete them if you don't want to :P
Driving around the wonderfully made world of metal (you should watch the "legends" explaining the lore for an intersting and humourous background story) while listening to your tracks is a great experience. At 9 hours of gameplay it is a little short but it is still worth the money in my opinion and you can always play some multiplayer.

It is at least original and I consider it one of the greatest games in the last couple of years.

And the soundtrack is arguably the greatest game soundtrack of all time if you enjoy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Great, 21 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a amazing game, loved from the moment i've played the demo.
The story and the acting is great although the RTS parts may not be for everyone.
It very much reminded me of Ocarina of Time, probably the best game ever. And if you like Metal Music your going to have a hell of a laugh.
Try it, the demo is on xbox live, and if you like it buy it, your going to have a most memorable time
Absolute Top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Black and his 4 star Axe!, 16 Oct 2009
By 
H. Stevenson "SeriouslyHugh" (East Grinstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has had a lot of hype just before its release, and I won't lie, I was definately one of those people.
And I'm glad to say, I don't regret it.
Brutal Legend is FUN. Key word there.
Its cartoony, its colourful and it is funny!
Now I do feel for a lot of people, this game is a game where you possibly needed to be excited about it before it
came out. If you weren't then chances are, you're just not going to give this a go. And that's a shame.
If there was one thing I could say to those people, it's rent it.
The game has a LOT to do in it. Lots of things to find. There are upgrades, no big surprise. They seem to be
all the rage at the moment.
The combat is simple, doesn't feel bad. They have an overlord system in there, which is by no means a bad thing.
It brings some variety to combat, although at points, they don't seem to follow orders to the tee. But hey,
rockers are rebels. And they don't rebel too much. So it's only a minor complaint.
The "Deuce" is a nice hot rod that Mr. Eddie Riggs drives around in. Its not mandatory that you use it to get around in,
but it sure as hell is handy. And when you start upgrading it, you wont want to deny Eddie it ever again.
For those of you who like to grow your hair real long and swing it back and forth until your head turns a nice
shade of red. This game is definately worth a try. Lots of good metal tracks are on there, with a few well known
faces popping up now and again.
And for those of you who are more inclined to get a haircut more regularly, still, give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
bom jeux .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brutal legend, 17 Oct 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game had started to gain a lot of hipe just before its release and i wont lie, because it is a fantasticly fun game.
firstly ill get the bad points out of the way.
one of the main things about exploration games is that eventually you should be able to go just about anywhere, but in this game that is not true as you dont have the ability to jump!
another thing would be that some of the missions are badly explained and impossibly hard.
however this game makes up for those bad things by being just so much fun, like what games do you get a giant car from hell which allows you to go splattering nastys? i think the answer to that is none!
there is also a lot of good comedy and funny moments in the game.
however, this game is rated a 15 for a reason there is a lot of lims being cut off. bodies being burnt and all manner of different swear words used throuout the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contender for "Best Game Of The Year", 20 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well what can I say, a few months ago I was cringing of the sight of this gam. I thought that it was just another generic Guitar Hero Game. But boy was I wrong. As soon as the demo was out I downloaded it. Just 30 seconds into the game and I fell in love with it. The voice acting is spot on, the graphics are polished to an amazing standard, and all in all it drew me in.

I played the demo several times and pre ordered it that same day. Got to be one of the most intreresting not to mention original games I have ever played. IMO a worthy contender for the Game of the year.

Everything about this game is brilliant.
A worthy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brutal Legend (Xbox 360)
Brutal Legend (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews