Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£22.29+ £1.91 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 August 2009
Love him or loathe him, 50 Cent is everywhere. This sequel to the million selling Bulletproof is a major improvement. The plot sees 50 and G Unit doing a show in an unnamed Middle Eastern city. Promised $10 million, the money has been stolen when Fiddy goes to collect. The sleazy promoter offers an alternative, a diamond encrusted skull. However, returning to the airport, their convoy is ambushed and the skull is taken. Which sets up an excuse for 50 & G Unit to go on a murderous rampage to reclaim their prize.

Developer Swordfish has borrowed elements from other shooters, the cover mechanic from Gears of War, the scoring system from The Club. Bullet time from Max Payne. Fiddy can choose a partner from G Unit (Young Buck is replaced by DJ Whoo Kid) to help with combat and navigate environmental obstacles. This aspect is remarkably similar to Resident Evil 5, and works just as effectively.
The gratuitously over the top action is structured well by its scoring system. It awards points for chaining kills, use of cover, insults etc, adding layers to the core gameplay. Timed sections unlock ammo such as incendiary and explosive rounds. A typical example would be: kill all reinforcements within 30 seconds. Failure simply causes the game to continue, minus the bonus, which ensures the action is constant and relentless throughout. Counter kills are well presented, and the weapon selection is also complete, with a large and varied choice, accessible via payphones. Hidden extras also increase longevity. Posters and targets are hidden on every level, in addition to loot.

Presentation is also impressive, with some nicely rendered war torn cities for Fiddy to battle through.
Level design is solid, presented as sheer urban warfare, the hood away from the hood. Standout sections include an abandoned shopping mall that's now a heroin factory. A building site surrounding by a busy highway. And a theatre literally burning to the ground. Fans will love the music player, featuring current, classic and exclusive tracks. Play lists can be fully customised too, so annoying tunes (P.I.M.P, Disco Inferno) can be permanently erased. Favourites (What Up Gangsta, Fire) can be selected multiple times. Voice acting is of a very high standard too.

The appeal of Blood on the Sand is inevitably determined by 50 Cent, which shouldn't be the case. The cast have more character than most shooters on the market, and it isn't as self-indulgent as it appears. Actually it's a very solid shooter, regardless of your music tastes.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
well i used to just watch youtube videos on people playing this game i finally decided to order it. It came in a matter of days but when i got back from school it was just sitting at my door step bit of a worry but anyway the game is really good alot of fun the graphics are pretty good the campaign is a bit short can be completed in a day atleast depending on difficulty etc. There is alot to do though even when youre finished you keep going back for more. I recommend this game to anyone that just loves games its ounestly a great game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
For starters in no way am i a 50 fan, even though i in some way respect him, but wanted to try the game so i got it today in the post.

Pros - 1.Very good graphics
2. Good gameplay e.g. shooting mechanics, cover system, good AI team mate
3. Weapons
4. Co-op

Cons - 1. Short story
2. Not very good story
3. No trophies
4. Only mode is story which which you can have a friend join
5. Removed some good things from the last game.

Overall I think it's a cool game but it's definately not worth release price as it has very little content and missing features that could have made it better.
I'm actually tradiing this in tomorrow which is the actual release date so hopefully will get very good money for it maybe. I will probably re-purhcase it but not until it's very cheap as it can be a fun game to play.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
this game is really good if you like max payne 3 you should like this game the graphics on this game are amazing and its fun to play my friend loves this game to i would give this game 5 stars if you could save where you got to in the game and your friend could save where they got to in the game but it only lets one person save where they got to then it says entering this mode will overwrite your current save game do you wish to continue x continue o cancel
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
i enjoyed this game its a good arcade shooter with excellent graphics.
an its diffrent from all the other army shooting games
what the markets flooded with it had an element of fun what most games dont have anymore.
an i wouldnt say the story was short either but it ends when your not expecting it to.
the games also has a great music player of old an new tunes what you can choose so you can
select the music you want.

overall a good game i have played a lot worse. . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
This game I feel is a quality addition to 50's collection. The game is based in some arabic country and basically revolves around 50 searching for askull and chasing money. The game features good effects, a nice weapon selection and a range of special fighting techniques. It is all entertaining along with the variety of G-Unit music included and is good for keeping you enterained when you have nothing to do. I would however criticise the game for having a story line which is too short, but then again Amazon are selling it for just £20, so you do get your moneys worth. I would also recommend not going on easy mode on this game If you do it is practically impossible to die. All in all good game, just a shame it isn't longer thats all.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Always nice to have a fifty sent game for cheap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
Well I had bought this game as my brother's christmas present, it came through the post and it was in decent condition. I'm sure he'll have much fun playing it as he's a 50 cent fan. So thank you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
it's okay got some good set pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
This is a really good fun game, albeit a bit short. There is online, but you can only play online with one other person. The story is a bit short. Graphics are great and it's a fast shooting game. Similar to gears of war. Worth a play.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.