Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet afternoon
I got this pre-owned game from a friendly local shop last Wednesday, and finished it by Thursday. I had great fun, probably the best 5 pounds ever spent in my long and nerdy life. The game has been influenced by Tarantino Films (like a lot), Bioshock and Max Paine. Has the same shooting style from the latter, and the environment created for every level is very seductive...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything an Action Game should be ... Almost
You known when your watching an action movie and you see someone fly through the air firing two guns at the same time screaming, then landing on their knees and sliding along the ground still firing in Slow-Motion whilst enemies fall down all around them in a mass of blood and guts.
When watching scenes like this I find myself thinking things like: Why can't I do...
Published on 5 Oct. 2010 by Aaron


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything an Action Game should be ... Almost, 5 Oct. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
You known when your watching an action movie and you see someone fly through the air firing two guns at the same time screaming, then landing on their knees and sliding along the ground still firing in Slow-Motion whilst enemies fall down all around them in a mass of blood and guts.
When watching scenes like this I find myself thinking things like: Why can't I do that?
Well, now you can ... sort of. WET allows you to fly through the air in slow-motion firing two shotguns at a time before landing on your back - still firing - and slide along the floor in between enemies legs - occasionally swapping to Machine Guns for a little extra gore. It will not however allow you to jump from one ledge to another. Some elements of the game (mostly the plat-forming sections will have you falling down cliffs that should be easily jumpable and hitting things that you were miles from just simply because you didn't take the route that the designers recommend. These moments of poor Game Design can be infuriating but as soon as you get to the next open area and you slow time down so you can run up, then back flip off a wall you will fall back in love with this hilarious game again. No multiplayer can be a bit limiting but for the price it's a great boredom killer for any action fans.
Think Just Cause - great fun but not without it's issues.
Graphics are below average as well, but that is made up for with the rocking Soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet afternoon, 28 Jun. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this pre-owned game from a friendly local shop last Wednesday, and finished it by Thursday. I had great fun, probably the best 5 pounds ever spent in my long and nerdy life. The game has been influenced by Tarantino Films (like a lot), Bioshock and Max Paine. Has the same shooting style from the latter, and the environment created for every level is very seductive. It has some little things, but in general is an enjoyable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be BLOWN AWAY !!!, 22 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wet is very special indeed. The main character is a gutsy female who uses her sword & gun skills to take down hundreds of enemies.
The combat is intense & very responsive, the enemies come thick & fast & the gore & violence is satisfying too. I especially love the car chase sequence where you can jump from vehicle to vehicle WHILST fighting off the bad guys. Amazing !! There is so much to enjoy in this game & there isn't a dull moment in it. Stylish, violent & action packed, Wet is unmissable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kill Bill: The Game, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
John Roberts (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
WET was a surprisingly good TPS game, offering all kinds of challenges, fluent control and an amazing vengeance story. Wet does what other shooters could be, giving great slow-mo, acrobatics, rewards for killing enemies other than "n0sk0pez" and "headshots!!!!11111!!".

While it has been a while since I've played this game, I remember it for an amazing protagonist, gore, bad language and a footstompin' soundtrack one can't possibly forget! Wet takes players around the globe fighting for answers and vengeance in a fully immersive shooter packed with action.

Unless you're willing to accept something a little different and perhaps generic, WET is definitely a recommendation especially if you can get it under £15! And if you don't believe me, the name's JohnGreasyGamer, check it out on HubPages and you can see just how reliable this review is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Full of missed potential, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
R. L. Araujo "Bex" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought WET because I'm on the hunt for games that have kickass female leads and WET does have a female lead and she certainly knows how to kick ass.

Gameplay:
I must say the game mechanics are both fun and frustrating, as with any game that has jumping in it can really get rather annoying when the character doesn't do what you wanted it to do WET is no different but not as bad as say Alice: the madness returns. The slow-mo battles at first seem a little hard to grasp but they become immensely fun and do add to film style the game has going for it. The one thing I really hated was the amount of quick time events which are really pointless and make the big fights really lacklustre especially the final fight of the game, to simply be a quick time event was very disappointing. Levels are pretty dull even though the game changes locations a few times there's not much to explore and they're all very forgettable. There's no real challenges and you are continually killing the same enemies over and over, there is very little diversity in level or enemies.

Look:
The game is really quite ugly, not really sure why perhaps it's a bit old but really, blocky hair and faces are pretty unacceptable these days.

Story:
Ultimately the story is pretty non-existent which is a shame especially with all the vocal talents. It starts off with the hope of going some where with some snappy dialogue but falls flat as the villain loses his charisma as does Rubi the other characters are really just there for her to have a few conversations with rather than show Rubi's relationships or anything to do with her personally.

The game had a lot of potential to be a real kill bill esque game and in some respects it does have a some of those elements in, but where kill bill had an interesting overarching storyline WET does not deliver such a story line. But for the price it's an ok time waster just don't expect anything amazing or even interesting really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated and Intriguing, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
M. Witcombe "Slazey" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wet is best described as a collection of great ideas that don't quite work as well together as they could. At their best, the action sequences are breathtaking and frantic, the platform elements subtle yet effective and the slow motion elegant. The game only really encounters problems when it tries to mix the three.

Think Mirror's Edge meets Max Payne and you're nearly there. You're also close to the game's big problem, that those two games worked so well because they did one thing really, really well. They also represent two types of gamer mentality: the technical, platform puzzle gamer and the Matrix-loving shooter gamer. Never, until Wet (and perhaps Wolverine: Origins), the twain did meet. I just don't think it's possible to please both sets of gamers in one game- but Wet tries hard, and for that alone it deserves a playthrough.

Graphically the game is lush, the cutscenes are well-executed and the grindhouse b-movie theme is beautifully executed- which you'd kinda hope would be the case, given Bethesda's great current track record with the retro-futuristic Fallout games. The soundtrack complements the game perfectly, too. When everything works, the game is a marvel: the levels flash by a whirl of blood and colour. When it doesn't, it's infuriating. Sometimes Rubi runs the wrong way, backflips into sledgehammers and enthusiastically flings herself off cliffs. Sometimes the conjunction of platform and shooter isn't great, with ledge jumps interspersed with rooms of bad guys. Sometimes the bosses are bullet magnets requiring patience more than skill to defeat.

But! Wet is a good game. It may be a bit of a celebration of style over substance, and the constant slow-motion gets a little repetitive- but it's got enough variety, enough brilliant moments and is just cool enough in general to get a thumbs up. At this price, you may as well give it a shot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good game that has been getting a bad rep..., 18 Oct. 2009
By 
B. M. Clent "MaDmAn" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wet is a game that puts you in the shoes of a hot chick named Ruby, and is a blend of gunplay, platform, and pure fun. The mix of playstyles works perfectly and hacking through tons of enemies is PURE FUN! The game shurely borrowed the mechanic of Devil May Cry, so if you liked that game then you will love this one! Its great to take out your stress with a few flying arms and legs and bloody corpses in the end of the day, and is a good game that was set back by a few problems (read on).

Ok, here we go, this is why Wet is a blast!:
The awesomeness! Slo-mo gunfights, flying arms after a stylish slash of a sword, secret monkeys (yeah no kidding) and overall amazing fun!
The score multiplier: Is good! It keeps you moving and although it can be hard to master combos in the first hour, later its a second nature sliding and jumping to look for your prey after you killed the first group of guys.
The graphics are quite good, nothing mind-blowing but good, except on cut-scenes where it zooms on the characters and you notice the imperfections. I encountered 3 graphical glitches in the whole playthrough, nothing serious, and were actually funny so no worries.
The lengh of the game, was actually longer than I expected, and that is a plus!
The artwork is very good, and the characters are as stylish as the game. Great art design overall.
Beautifull animation, very very good, but I was actually expecting that, and I was still impressed.
The story is o.k., nothing special.

It is time for the bad parts. If it weren't for these the game would deserve a 5! But unfortunately nothing is perfect and the game has its flaws.
First off is the level design, although well thought of, is extremely tight and doesn't allow much free movement, I mean, everything is packed in such a tight space that jumping around can be fustrating because there are so many obstacles.
Secondly, is something that really was a nuisance, is the cut scenes, you just cant skip most of them, so if you die (wich is fairly common on harder difficulties) you have to watch the friggin' thing all over again, and it gets saturating, seriously...
Last but not least, is the lack of moves the game offers, so you have just a few sword moves and not many acrobatics, wich makes the game quite repetetive at times, unfortunately.

There you go, IMO, I recommend it to anyone that likes mindless fun and killing, personally I loved the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars short-lived fun, 9 Dec. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
if you're familiar with stranglehold then you already know how to play this game, saying they're similar is putting it mildly. not to say that's a bad thing, its a completely different style of play to your average FPS, and they've definitely tried some new stuff with the rage mode (though more than one person in my house said they wished the whole game was like that). the game is very very linear, and without much scope for character upgrades, there's not all that much brain power required to play. the game has good points too, the 70's tarantino-esque film style they've got going on is really nice and it works surprisingly well with the matrix-like slo-mo combat, the motorway fight (although irritatingly linear)is surprisingly epic.

all in all, this game is quirky and playable, but lacks that certain something to make you want to play it more than once. it took me an afternoon and evening to finish and the end was disapointing.

however it cost me like three quid. well worth it at that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game, 11 May 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Recently brought WET on an off chance. I'm very glad that i did as it's a excellent game, mixing a compelling storyline with an all action dynamic combat. Think Lara croft with a lot more attitude and more acrobatic. Fight your way through hordes of enimes to one of the best soundtracks that i have heard for a long time. The graphics are very good, more like a movie in the cutscreens with the occasional flicker in the game. Addding to the seedy backdrop of the main story.

The only real dissapointment that i have with the game is that they haven't added a multiplayer option. Which is a shame because it feels like a game that would be excellent if you could play the arena battles with other people. Although this is a minor point when compared to the rest of the game, when your sliding down a ladder upside down and firing down towards the enimes or diving through the air with two revolvers.

I brought the game on an off chance and have no regrets at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT and OK at the same time, 31 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WET (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
GREAT:
Really good idea and setting for the game. The characters are good, Rubi is a badass so she rocks in my opinion! The combat system is undoubtedly the focus point of the game and its pulled off well. At first it seems really fun but when you master it towards the end of the game you'll get a lot more satisfaction out of the fast paced and brutal action. The story is actually quite good, pretty simple but it gets better as you play along.

OK:
The reason I am only giving this game 3 stars however is simple. Its a little shoddily put together. The pysics are sometimes ridiculous when performing acrobatics around certain environments that make it look stupid but this only happens on occasion and you can actually stop it happening yourself by, for example, not diving through the air when your too close to a wall... Game could have been a lot better, but theres no denying its good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WET (Xbox 360)
WET (Xbox 360) by Bethesda (Xbox 360)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews