Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2013
Having already purchased "Holy Diver", "The Last In Line" & "Sacred Heart", I was very excited when I got the email from amazon about the release of Dio's "Dream Evil" as a "Deluxe Version". The first 3 titles had, in my opinion, all lived up to the "Deluxe Version" billing, however, to say that I am disappointed with "Dream Evil" is an understatement. I played Disc 1 back to back with the original, and although it sounds "cleaner" (for want of a better word), there's not to choose much between the two. Disc 2 is a huge disappointment, to say the least! Bonus tracks?? Pah!!! The live tracks are the MoR 1987 gig, already available as Disc 2 of the "Dio at Donnington" live album. Throwing in the "single edit" of "I Could Have Been A Dreamer" and "Hide In The Rainbow" from the "Dio EP" stinks of pure lack of thought. Are you seriously trying to convince me that there are not other live tracks or alternative version of the orignal album avavilable somewhere? Come on!! Treat the memory of one of Heavy Metals true legends with a bit more respect!!
55 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dio's fourth album Dream Evil is the last studio album to feature Claude Schnell and the first to feature gutiarist Craig Goldy (previously of Rough Cutt, but not at the same time as Claude.) Craig ably and deftly handles guitar duties and although his style is slightly different to previous guitarist Vivian Campbell, fits into the overall Dio sound perfectly.

Dream Evil is a bit of an interesting one, in that some fans say it isn't as good as the first three (or two in some cases) albums and some say that it is great and the last good Dio album. Personally I find Dream Evil to be everything I want in a Dio album, I think it is strong and well written, I like the general style and the majority of the songs are up there with the best Dio has to offer.

I will admit that there are one or two songs that seem a tad weak or generic when listening to the album from beginning to end, but which are fine in isolation. Still, the album contains tracks like 'Sunset Superman,' 'Dream Evil,' and 'All The Fools Sailed Away,' that no right minded Dio fan could ignore, some of the best material the band put out and essential for any best of compilation.

The only real problem I can find with Dream Evil is that the production (largely because of the keyboard sound) has dated somewhat, which may be a problem for some fans who only like Dio's harder and heavier material... but the band slowly introduced keyboards more and more over the previous three albums and it just feels like the logical progression here.

Another thing that needs pointing out is that Dream Evil isn't some weird departure; with the exception of the scope of keyboard usage, and the introduction of an almost-power-ballad, Dream Evil is stylistically bang on the trademark Dio formula, riffy fast songs mixed with mid paced melodic numbers, soaked in Dio's great voice and guitar solos all over.

Guitar solos have always played a big part of Dio's sound and even with a new guitarist on board, Dream Evil does not disappoint in this department. And while guitarist Vivian Campbell was gone, at least spokes-daemon "Murray" returned for the album's front cover, shame he never took off in quite the same way as Vic Rattlehead, Snaggletooth or Eddie.

To summarise; as an album, Dream Evil is worth a place in your collection, it is up there with the best Dio albums, if just shy of being able to be called a contender for best Dio album. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get into Dio and who has already bought and enjoyed Holy Diver.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2008
Dio's fourth solo effort is markedly a departure from the last three in style. Although the format largely follows the same pattern of its predecessors (opening out and out rocker, followed by the title track and with the keyboard layered single sitting roughly where 'Rainbow In The Dark' did on 'Holy Diver' and 'Mystery' did on 'The Last In Line') the sound is much more seventies in style, almost Rainbow esque in places, and a lot more bluesy - this may simply be down to the introduction of guitar wizard Craig Goldie on guitar duties (it is most noticeable on the title track which trades heavily on the riff from Man on The Silver Mountain or on Overlove). From Dio's perspective the delivery is darker and more melancholic than on previous offerings but the result is an album that is streets ahead of the stodgy, ponderous and rather lacklustre Sacred Heart which precedes it. However it is not at the stratospheric level of the magnificent and consistent 'The Last in Line', which is Dio's post Sabbath high water mark, or say Sabbath's Heaven and Hell.

Highlights are the pulsating and jabbing opener 'Night People', the reflective and emotionally tinged `All the Fools Sailed Away' and the mandatory key board infused single `I Could Have Been A Dreamer'. 'Sunset Superman' also has a peculiar charm, despite it's baffling title, and 'Naked in the Rain' comes closest to the grander style of 'The Last In Line'.

On the down side the production is a little stiff and unfocussed, the keyboards sound as if they are being played with Claude Schnell's fist and the drumming is surprisingly pedestrian (by Appice standards). Unfortunately, like Sacred Heart, the whole piece fizzles out with the two weakest songs at the end, both hampered by notably weak choruses.

Hopefully this will get the remastering deluxe treatment in the future as brightening up the production may go some way to re vamp Appice's drums and lighten the touch with the ham fisted keyboard playing - here's hoping.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2003
Ronnie James Dio may be small in stature but the guy can sing with the best of them! This is a polished eighties metal album, crunching guitar riffs backed by full synth sounds and a solid rhythm section and little RJD's booming voice. You know the sort of stuff you're going to get here; castles and magic etc. but it's done well. Night People and the title track are my personal favourites, although All The Fools Sailed Away might appeal to any Led Zep fans as it has a real Plant/Page quality to it. If you like 80's rock but want a change of subject matter from sex, drugs and rock n' roll then give this a go.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
This deluxe edition of Dream Evil is in the same vein as the Black Sabbath Live Evil deluxe edition. The album itself is great, but the bonus material sucks! I don't understand why some of these reissues are like that. If there isn't enough extra material to put out then why do a two disc edition? The Donnington gig is good, don't get me wrong, but it's already on cd and why is Hide The Rainbow on here when it was on the deluxe edition of Sacred Heart? This is sloppy and insults the fans who buy the records. Never the less, if you don't own Dream Evil then buy this version, if you already have it, then don't bother.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Dio's fourth solo effort is markedly a departure from the last three in style. Although the format largely follows the same pattern of its predecessors (opening out and out rocker, followed by the title track and with the keyboard layered single sitting roughly where 'Rainbow In The Dark' did on 'Holy Diver' and 'Mystery' did on 'The Last In Line') the sound is much more seventies in style, almost Rainbow esque in places, and a lot more bluesy - this may simply be down to the introduction of guitar wizard Craig Goldie on guitar duties (it is most noticeable on the title track which trades heavily on the riff from Man on The Silver Mountain or on Overlove). From Dio's perspective the delivery is darker and more melancholic than on previous offerings but the result is an album that is streets ahead of the stodgy, ponderous and rather lacklustre Sacred Heart which precedes it. However it is not at the stratospheric level of the magnificent and consistent 'The Last in Line', which is Dio's post Sabbath high water mark, or say Sabbath's Heaven and Hell.

Highlights are the pulsating and jabbing opener 'Night People', the reflective and emotionally tinged `All the Fools Sailed Away' and the mandatory key board infused single `I Could Have Been A Dreamer'. 'Sunset Superman' also has a peculiar charm, despite it's baffling title, and 'Naked in the Rain' comes closest to the grander style of 'The Last In Line'.

On the down side the original production is a little stiff and unfocussed, the keyboards sound as if they are being played with Claude Schnell's fist and the drumming is surprisingly pedestrian (by Appice standards). Unfortunately, like Sacred Heart, the whole piece fizzles out with the two weakest songs at the end, both hampered by notably weak choruses.

This remastered version does brighten up the production but imagine the horror incredulity when I discovered that the 'extras' included just the shortened Donington 87 set released in the non too distant past. Never mind I thought, as even the most dunderhead of money grabbing executives would have thought to restore opener 'Stand up and Shout' and `Sunset Superman' to the rostrum, particularly as the latter is a Dream Evil track......well, knock me down with a feather, but this marketing trick alluded them as well. This raises the question as to why there is no 'Stars' live in Japan from 1987 (which I would have relished) or 'Overlove' live or 'I Could Have been a Dreamer' live - all aired on that tour?

So for your money you are left with the not-so-juicy prospect of Hide in the Rainbow (hang on, wasn't this on the Sacred Heart reissue? - surely not...) and an edit of I Could Have Been Dreamer, which to my simple brain has all the appeal of offering fish and chips minus the fish or watching Jaws with the shark edited out. Who in their right mind thinks that having something shorter is in some way a bonus....

So, in summary, a missed opportunity and a bit of an own goal, although I am sure the box is suitably chunky and there are some liner notes by a journalist of some description to make it worth the effort and money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I am a big DIO fan i like all his albums
even this album DREAM EVIL
the sound is a bit different from his previous 3 albums
cause each track has elements from the RAINBOW sound so it does sound a bit more heavy
similar to Rainbow from the 70'S it says so in the new liner notes in this Deluxe edition
i guess that is why this album wasn't a massive success when it was released back in 1987
but so what, from a fans point of view i love the sound of the album

before this Deluxe edition was released, this album was only available from an original cd pressing
which sounded terrible
this Deluxe edition has the original album Digital remastered for enhanced sound quality
so it does sound much better than the first cd release

Disc 2 has the LIVE concert from Donington 1987,
the same concert released on the 2 Disc Donington UK CD back 3 years ago 2010
which i already have, so there is nothing new there
you can still get the 2 Disc Donington concerts on amazon uk or amazon.com

the booklet is Great, there is recent interviews with the Guitarist from the album
talking about the Making of the album etc, very interesting reading for any DIO fan

so the only reason for buying this Deluxe edition version of Dream evil
is cause the whole album has been Digital remastered for enhanced audio quality like i said
better quality than the Original cd release

still a really Good DIO album in my opinion,
definitely time for an upgrade if you only have the original cd pressing
worth the money to get the Deluxe edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2006
This is my favorite Dio-album. Good heavy metal, good riffs, nice harmonies, good vocal lines. Highly recommended to any fan of quality metal music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
This is more like it, after the disappointment that was "Intermission". Definitely back on form. Great vocals, strong guitars from newbie, Craig Goldie. The whole band have lifted their game for this superb offering. This does not stray from the good vs. evil template that served Dio so well over the years. The lyrics aside, the tunes stand up well nearly 25 years later and have aged far better than many of the "metal" bands that were Dio's contemporaries. One of 1987's better rock records that deserves it's place in any rock collection. Contains everything that made Dio great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
I have been most impressed with this Dream Evil digitally remastered version of clearer sound quality than original version was previously released on CD by Warner Bros. U.S.A. and all songs were good heavy rock music in late '80s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)