Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carly Simon was not born too late to sing torch songs
As you might have guessed from the title, Carly Simon's 1981 album "Torch" has her covering some pop standards from the past, such as "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)," "I Get Along Without You Very Well," and, most impressively, "Body and Soul." There are also a few of her own compositions thrown into the mix and ends with a superb version of "Not a Day Goes By" from...
Published on 1 Jun 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carly Simon, Torch
Have loved Carly Simon and Neil Diamond for years now, and am really happy with all the recently bought CDs.. from both of them. As always I cannot in any way fault Amazon...thankyou, you wonderful people....and as for Carly Simon....everything she performs is magic for me, and Torch is no exception..

Thankyou as always to all of you at Amazon..
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Mrs. PECoupe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carly Simon was not born too late to sing torch songs, 1 Jun 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
As you might have guessed from the title, Carly Simon's 1981 album "Torch" has her covering some pop standards from the past, such as "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)," "I Get Along Without You Very Well," and, most impressively, "Body and Soul." There are also a few of her own compositions thrown into the mix and ends with a superb version of "Not a Day Goes By" from the Stephen Sondheim musical "Merrily We Roll Along." After having regained her songwriting touch with the 1978 album "Boys in the Trees," Simon had suffered an onstage collapse in 1980, which would see her confined largely to the studio for many years. During that time Simon would show that she could sing the songs of others as if she had written them herself. The songs of Ellington, Carmichael, Rodgers & Hart, and the others were well suited to Simon's singing at this point in her career, where her voice was starting to fully mature. Producer Mike Mainieri was also able to bring in some pretty good “sessions” players for “Torch,” such as David Sanborn playing alto saxophone on the opening track “Blue of Blues.” A lot of other contemporary pop singers would go into the studio to cover old standards, but Carly Simon is pretty much acknowledged to have been ahead of the curve on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars overlooked classic from one of the world's finest vocalists, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
Carly Simon has never really been given the credit she deserves for interpreting these amazing songs. I still love it 29 years later. The production of the album showcases a clarity and cohesion ahead of it's time. What a voice, what a gift to share. Other artists have followed, but this is the blueprint. It is documented somewhere, that Mo Ostin regrets that he didn't recognise the potential in the album....hope he reads this sometime. Torch is sophistication supreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
The first Carly Simon album I bought, way back in 1982. Lovely, rich voice with lush arrangements. 'What Shall We Do With The Child' still brings a lump to my throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carly at her best, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
This album is 5 stars all the way. I taped this many years ago, found the tape, listened and decided to buy the album. The ballads, jazzy stuff and old favourites are put together in an outstanding way. Carly Simon fans, buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful CD. Such talent - such a voice, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
A wonderful CD. Such talent - such a voice! Very difficult to avoid very moist eyes whenever I listen. If only some of the so-called singing stars of today would listen to it and learn and then perhaps give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carly Simon, Torch, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. PECoupe (East Sussex, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torch (Audio CD)
Have loved Carly Simon and Neil Diamond for years now, and am really happy with all the recently bought CDs.. from both of them. As always I cannot in any way fault Amazon...thankyou, you wonderful people....and as for Carly Simon....everything she performs is magic for me, and Torch is no exception..

Thankyou as always to all of you at Amazon..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torch
Torch by Carly Simon (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews