Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart People: A sole-soothing and very rewarding comedy-drama
My title says it all! Like a previous reviewer has stated, it's all been done before, but not much better than this. Smart People is like 'the icing on the cake' for its genre.

From the makers of the heart-warming comedy-drama classic, Sideways, Smart People simply follows a group of people going through the usual ups and downs of every day life... And the...
Published on 19 Nov 2008 by D. Jackson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a look
I enjoyed this film. It's not brilliant but it is watchable and funny and a few of the characters are nicely played.
It's a film in the same vein as several others, so it breaks new new ground and is in no way original.
There is also a few narks with the storyline. I still find it unbelievable that Sarah Jessica Parker's character would have went on a second...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by F. Candlish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a look, 14 Oct 2008
By 
F. Candlish "frc" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film. It's not brilliant but it is watchable and funny and a few of the characters are nicely played.
It's a film in the same vein as several others, so it breaks new new ground and is in no way original.
There is also a few narks with the storyline. I still find it unbelievable that Sarah Jessica Parker's character would have went on a second date with Dennis Quaid's and Ellen Page's actions at first toward her father contradict the way she obviously feels about him. Ellen Page again has put in another great performance, she has a wonderful fun loving glint in her eye that betrays the icy young Republican student character she plays- best thing about the film.
Definitely worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart People: A sole-soothing and very rewarding comedy-drama, 19 Nov 2008
By 
D. Jackson "DJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
My title says it all! Like a previous reviewer has stated, it's all been done before, but not much better than this. Smart People is like 'the icing on the cake' for its genre.

From the makers of the heart-warming comedy-drama classic, Sideways, Smart People simply follows a group of people going through the usual ups and downs of every day life... And the funny thing is: it never gets boring.

Even if it doesn't sound like your cup of tea, there's always Sarah Jessica Parker to brighten your day, plus the consistently brilliant and surprising Ellen Page, who is surely a huge star-in-the-making.

Bumbling along with a fantastic acoustic sound-track, Smart People is probably one of the most refreshing -but obviously underrated- indie pleasures of the year. Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Clare Webster (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
A fairly good idea for a storyline and a decent cast but the film was surprisingly weak. The film didn't really go anywhere and it became quite tedious by the end. I wanted to like it but near the end I was waiting for it to be over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching paint dry!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
SO SO BORING! I thought this would be a great film considering the actors in it but it was so boring! Took ages to get into it and then it was still boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ELLEN PAGE ROCKS!, 10 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
Cute and clever does not always translate into funny. The movie had numerous funny moments and lines, but it also spun its wheels at numerous times trying to get going. Perhaps the funniest line (plot spoiler) was near the end when Dennis Quaid asks, "Why would you have a baby with me?" Sarah Jessica Parker responds, "Because you don't know how to properly wear a condom." The movie is at its best when the daughter Ellen Page (I love her) or the adopted brother, Thomas Haden Church are on the screen. They are the real stars in this movie. The banter between Quaid and Parker is far less humorous, although clever and witty, which is hard to do. The movie also over uses a lame acoustical guitar soundtrack, a clear cry for help in an attempt to say "clever and witty." There are a few f-bombs but not overly so. The sex scenes are minor and do not last longer than teen sex. No nudity. A great movie to go see with your teenage niece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs perseverance, but is worth it., 3 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
A variation on the redemption theme which started with Ebenezer Scrooge in 'A Christmas Carol' and was successfully continued in 'It's a Wonderful Life', 'The Singing Detective' (UK TV version with Michael Gambon), Scrooged etc, and was humorously inverted in 'Blackadder's Christmas Carol'.
This take on the theme varies in that the resolution is not a complete transformation of the 3 inadequate characters (the adoptive brother is only superficially inadequate, and is actually the only major character living a sane life), but a sense that the father (Quaid), girlfriend (Parker) and daughter (Page) may be starting to turn in the right direction. Acting honours go to Page for creating a character that you simultaneously want to slap and hug, and would bring out the paternal/maternal in anyone over 20.
The soundtrack is something to be endured, not enjoyed, conjuring up the atmosphere of a rainy day in Alaska, but all in all the film is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Bells (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
I'm quite easily pleased when it comes to films, but this one was a disappointment. It was neither 'hilarious' or 'touching'.
It raised a couple of half hearted laughs, but considering the respectable cast, it was severely lacking in energy, emotion and humour. The story was very slow-moving and quite boring, but I kept thinking 'it must get better soon...!' I was wrong, and I was left wondering what the point of it all was. I think there's a moral in there somewhere, but it's completely lost by the end of the film. Ah well...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 24 Aug 2009
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
This is not the best film I've ever seen, but its definitely not a waste of time! Its nice to see Sarah Jessica Parker in a different role, and Ellen Page is as brilliant as in Juno. Quaid and his on-screen brother work well with the rest of the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smart and flawed but contemporary bliss, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
this year the best social contemporary observation on modern behaviour and familial affiliations,somewhat cliched but enough origonality to make it winsome ,quaid was superb as the arrogant erudite scholar who bumps into an old student after a freaky funny accident in the ER room ,as if parkers romance or rather face to face conversations as they call them is not enough insight into our attitudes to relationships we also have a pot -smoking ,redundant uncle join this family of widower dad,smart but caring daughter and smarter but underplaying son who is a budding poet,

the plot unfolds with some really smart lines and the best satire on modern sexual attitudes with ellen page trying to seduce her uncle in a drunken moment and the hostility that develops between quaid and sarah as she finds herself pregnant ,

this is a wise script as it then does not wreck itself by dooming it's smart characters as we have seen enough of that but rather redeems them in a moment of salvation for the miseries of our robotic lives ,the clones the characters were developing into as a perception of reality as in reality per se is interrupted and the liberation comes in an ingenious moment of joy and truth .

i think it was quaid's best act since far from heaven and i forgave him for vantage point ,also ellen page played a jealous,embittered and protective daughter extremely well ,better then in juno -truly this was a more intelligent version of the modern teen age female version ,her contrived lines suited her here as she derives herself as a role model from her father ,

sarah has the best role and she is superb as she walks out on the first date and then pretends to having been paged after the intercourse in a moment of panic ,

it was really great as she turns up uninvited on the x-mas family dinner,with the brother -sister banter to entertain us a bonus .

the small details of the student-teacher interaction and the reading of the feedback reactions was true -to life and hilarious,the movie was so well executed i forgave or even forfeited it's few flaws like the happy ending which was actually a real smart move as we the audience are entitled to some serious dramas giving us a respite from the doom of our mundane ,smart but robotic lives ,i hope that hollywood indulges in these somewhat origonal and pleasant incursions into the insights of our minds more often as i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and i agree with scott ,it was the trivia which made it delightful like sarah telling quaid -you do not know how to use a condom -or the neurologist telling sarah that the hospital is litterred with the wake of her dating disasters,

not to mention the female english teacher exclaiming her students are more interested in her sexuality then her teaching skills -the smartest drama so far this year and a smart move to put it in the critic's pick .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart , Funny Film, 23 Sep 2008
By 
David Byrne "David Byrne" (United Kindgom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart People [DVD] (DVD)
How can anyone find this film boring ? This film's amazing.Its cool,smart,funny and warming.Its a film that actually has a story worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smart People [DVD]
Smart People [DVD] by Noam Murro (DVD - 2008)
1.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews