Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget Hilarity
I had heard about this film through a friend in the USA, who said that in places it has a continued marathon run every year. I thought `Oh, this must be interesting then if people still flock to see it!'
Well I was right!
This is a piece of pure low budget corny goodness that can be enjoyed without any struggle. Set around the lives of a Texas family this film...
Published on 16 Mar 2009 by M. R. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the series
Could've been good, but seemed very amateur / low budget.
If you get the chance, watch the series (but shame they only made one series).
Published 9 months ago by Mr Derrick J Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget Hilarity, 16 Mar 2009
By 
M. R. Jones (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard about this film through a friend in the USA, who said that in places it has a continued marathon run every year. I thought `Oh, this must be interesting then if people still flock to see it!'
Well I was right!
This is a piece of pure low budget corny goodness that can be enjoyed without any struggle. Set around the lives of a Texas family this film explores death, addiction, forgiveness and coming out in a comical yet sometimes moving way.
All the actors have a good crack at making this movie special, especially Leslie Jordan as the institutionalised Tammy Wynette fan who goes around dressing and performing like his idol. And the lovely Olivia Newton-John strutting her stuff as an ex-con lesbian and belting out a few tunes. She's never lost it!
Yes it's cheesy, corny and all the other derogatory words I can think off. But it is a lovely film, and it's easy to see why it has become such a cult movie in America. Hey The Rocky Horror Picture Show wasn't a perfect film, but look at the fame that has garnered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King of the Hill In Hyperdrive, 24 Feb 2008
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Watching writer and director Del Shores's Bible Belt parody, Sordid Lives, is like driving through the boondocks, finding only honky tonk radio and listening to one of those raunchy tunes; it's weird, it's funny and you find yourself humming along." Scott Holleran

We know we can't choose our relatives and aren't we glad someone else has this group? White Trailer Trash may not be apropos for this collection of oddities because these people are so damn funny. Don't think their intention is to be funny, but they are all just a little bit left of center. They are living their lifestyles or not, but they are doing this in their own way.

The beginning of the movie starts at a slow pace but soon builds to a crescendo that will have you laughing til your sides hurt. Sissy Hickey is on the phone discussing the demise of her sister. A rather unfortunate incident of tripping over the wooden legs of her married lover in a third rate motel. Now, the two daughters, Latrelle played by Bonnie Bedelia, and Noletta played by Delta Burke, are arguing over whether mom should be buried in her fur wrap in the middle of summer. This done over a table full of southern fried food sent in by neighbors. The talk turns to Noletta's husband, the lover with the wooden legs, mom's son-in-law. And then turns to Boy Brother, their younger bro, who dresses in women's clothing and has spent the past 20 years in the insane asylum. Latrelle's son is in Hollywood and acting in gay plays. The curious incident of the wooden legs has made the family a laughing stock and how to deal with this?

In the meantime Boy Brother and his psychiatrist, Dr Eve Bolinger, are undergoing his therapy. Dr Bolinger is going to cure Boy Brother of his homosexuality and make her so famous she will appear on Oprah. However Boy Brother is not cooperating, He does not want to change. So, there appears to be a stand-off.

The problems of each family member and the collective are enough to make a grown man cry. However, in this case, we may be down on our knees gasping from our laughter. How this family comes together is a mystery and the country western singer, played by Olivia Newton John , sings the family back home. Not a laugh a minute but funny enough to keep us all off-base.

"Like a live-action version of "King of the Hill" in hyperdrive, features some ornery down-homers who remain convinced of their common sense even when every move puts them in deeper doo-doo. The doo-doo that they do so well is adultery, with the latest round of musical beds in the tale's unnamed small town having resulted in the death of old Peggy, who tripped over the misplaced wooden legs of her married lover, G.W. (Beau Bridges)." Ken Eisner

Highly Entertaining and will become a cult classic. prisrob 02-11-08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trailer Trash at its best!, 7 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I found out about the television series this is taken from by accident when I downloaded a clip. The irreverent and bad taste humour is wonderfully American and it is so wonderful to buy a DVD you have never heard of based on a short clip and then find it hailariously funny. I loved every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the bad reviews!, 4 July 2010
Just a quickie to say that for anyone rating this as 1 Star, must have had a serious sense of humour bypass, gotten out of the wrong side of the bed, or must just be a plain old misery! In that nothing's perfect, this isn't perfect, but it's a fun, camp romp, with some great little diva performances, especially Leslie Jordan, and for good measure some nice little tunes from Newton-John. Also on the plus side the main gay character 'Ty' is both better looking than the one from the series, and he's a better actor as well. There are plenty of good little one liners to keep you smiling throughout, and some proper laughs too, anyone not finding 'that tumour made my Mama a nymphomaniac' (whilst said at her funeral) must need electro shock therapy ;-)

Don't expect too much, have a glass of cheap wine, and enjoy - God Bless you Tammy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gem movie of the the queer community, 23 Jan 2004
By 
Thomas Lindvall (Stockholm Sweden) - See all my reviews
This wonderful, touching, witty and fun movie has become the highlight movie in Palm Springs where it has been running for years. To the gay community in and outside Palm Springs is has become the signature of accepted diversity. Everyone is queer in some sense, including the heterosexuals, so everyone can find her role model in life. The actors perform splendidly and the music backs them up to create a perfect blend of the American "anno da zu mal" feeling of the 50's and the gay communities of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sordid Lives - The Movie, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. Judith Rastall (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen "Sordid Lives, The Series" broadcast in the US in 2008, this movie was a "must have" when I returned home to England. Confusingly, the Series was made after the Movie but recounts the events leading up to the start of the Movie. The Series is wonderful and I can't wait for it to become available here in the UK. The Movie is, by comparison, disappointing and probably makes little sense without seeing The Series first. The characters are less well developed in this Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious gay comedy!!, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this film as it has both gay and lesbian characters but I thought it sounded interesting and funny so I thought I would give it a watch. Well, I certainly wasn't disappointed because it was very funny. The only downside to this film was that it was slightly disjointed with very strong American accents that sometimes made it difficult to follow as there were no subtitles. This has only prompted me to rewatch it so that I can pick up on bits I may have missed the first time around. However, I am looking forward to it. I must stress though that this is not a romantic film and although it has lesbian and gay male characters in it, it is more about a dysfunctional family and not about romantic same sex relations. A real must see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the series, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Could've been good, but seemed very amateur / low budget.
If you get the chance, watch the series (but shame they only made one series).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but looks cheaply made, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
There's lots to like here from a wonderfully weird plot to a bizarre cast of characters. However, the camerawork looks incredibly cheap and the climax, which has such a wonderful lead-up, ultimately disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average film, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Wasnt really as funny as i expected, got bored half way through, Some of the characters were a little boring and very un-natural
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD]
Sordid Lives [2000] [DVD] by Del Shores (DVD - 2008)
£4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews