Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a sublime collection of violin works, 15 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
The recordings cover a 20 year or so recording period from the mid fifties and I was expecting to have to make allowances for their age. However, so good is EMI's remastering that one was rarely conscious of the vintage, even with the mono recordings. This may be partly because the recordings seem to focus, perhaps not entirely surprisingly, on the violin, so occasionally in the concertos the orchestra sounds distant if not actually on its on its way home; this means that the versions on these discs would not always be the only example you would want in your collection. But, for all that, what an extraordinary legacy it is.

My vocabulary does not stretch to describing violin tones so suffice it to say that Oistrakh played with a classical understated serenity conveying a sense of 'rightness' that makes many modern virtuosi sound mannered or intrusive.

I can't stop playing these discs even to the point of repeated listening to those works falling outside my rather conservative central European bias and to which I would not previously given the time of day. Revelatory is an over-used word in reviews but for me this collection has been that, even without allowing for the extraordinarily good value for money. If I could, I would give it 6 stars. Don't hesitate; buy it before EMI realise they have got their sums wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive legacy of a great artist, 7 Sep 2008
By 
Malcolm Turner (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
What a wonderful collection - truly a definitive archive of one of the century's greatest artists. Oistrakh's combination of power and serenity, with that individual unmistakeable sound make this a must-have for anyone who enjoys listening to the violin. Even more so if you play - to hear just what the instrument is capable of. In particular, the accounts of the Beethoven and Brahms concertos are the finest I have ever heard. Recordings can be cold - you have to play a bit safe - but these recordings have all the magic of a live performance.
I had a number of these recordings on LP - if anything, the sound is better on these CDs and for the huge number of recordings - what a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value and quality, 18 Nov 2009
By 
M. Donoghue "MichaelD" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
Title says it all. Quality of playing and sound is good. A few works are repeated but with different orchestras/conductors. This allows some comparisons and encourages thought about interpretations, at least for me as someone musically uneducated. An amazing price. Can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 6 Jan 2012
By 
K. Bates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
I agree with the other reviews posted to date. These are wonderful performances by one of the greatest violinists of the 20th century and the recording quality is very good indeed - full marks and thanks to the EMI engineers. And the price is just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb audiophile set, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
I will not say a word about the music because we all know what a genius David Oistrakh (and his old school partners) was.

What strikes me is the sound quality of these CD's. It is similar in style to the classic Decca engineering works, especially wonderful ADRM series, although a bit more bright (and therefore sounding wonderful from tube gear). Orchestra is a bit distant but solo violin (and especially cello) always has a solid presence. Seems that EMI got superb sound engineers recently, rivaling legendary van Gelder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality recording - perfect for accompanist, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
I was afraid to purchase this set as I am very picky about classical music recordings. Despite being old, these recordings are crisp and clear, with only a little white noise on some tracks (not all). My wife who is a pianist/accompanist uses this set to practice the piano while listening to the violin. She seems very pleased with the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Oistrakh EMI recordings, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
Just for the famous Beethoven Violin & Triple Concertos, Brahms Double Concerto and Mozart Sinfonia Concertante plus more. Playing from the heart to the heart. Great value, great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
David Oistrakh is one of the violinist I most love,and this set is Realy good for me,satisfied for this shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way it could be better is if it were free!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
Astonishingly good box of a variety of music,some of which I'd not have bought seperately,but proved to be well worth investigating.Sound superb,playing sublime,if I had a criticism,it'd just be my old gripe about the packaging...surely this could have been designed to be 2/3 as wide?Or less,with paper sleeves?When you have as many cd's as I do,space becomes a bit of an issue.This aside,price and content just about as good as it gets.Congrats to me for buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old and new music, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings (Audio CD)
This package does what it says on the tin. However, this is, in extent, as much violin playing as I normally could stand by a high factor.

But, using the CD player on my car, I have been introduced to new violin music without domestic criticism, some of it - like Taneyev - unheard before and really worth hearing. And this, in addition to having the repertoire very well played, is its particular joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings
David Oistrakh: The Complete EMI Recordings by David Oistrakh (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews