Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Dopeness than Wackness
If you have 'mad love' for 1994, then this is the perfect film for you! Otherwise you may find the sheer 1994ishness a tad distracting (the mid-nineties is applied with a trowel), but this is still a great film if you allow yourself to see through that.

Luke (Josh Peck) has just finished high school, and is spending his last summer before uni dealing drugs in...
Published on 4 May 2009 by JH Dickinson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'The Wackness' is WACK!!!!!!!!!
Speaking as someone who really wanted to like this movie I was really dissapointed. Although the film remains watchable it doesn't live up to its trailer which I found much more appealing than the film itself. The film makes itself look as if it has something to do with the hip-hop era of the 90s, but all that is hip-hop about this film is the soundtrack (which is...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Sarah hobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Dopeness than Wackness, 4 May 2009
By 
JH Dickinson (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If you have 'mad love' for 1994, then this is the perfect film for you! Otherwise you may find the sheer 1994ishness a tad distracting (the mid-nineties is applied with a trowel), but this is still a great film if you allow yourself to see through that.

Luke (Josh Peck) has just finished high school, and is spending his last summer before uni dealing drugs in New York City. One of his main clients is messed-up psychiatrist Dr Squires (Sir Ben Kingsley), and the film follows Josh and Squires' friendship across the summer, with Josh falling for Squires' hip stepdaughter, Stephanie, whilst Squires and his wife grow further apart. Josh is fed-up with being a loner, and with his life in general, and Squires just wishes he had his youth back, becoming dependent upon a huge range of drugs and being generally more childish than Josh. Both of them learn a little something from each other.

Okay, so far so Hollywood, and maybe that's why The Wackness was unfairly overlooked in the cinemas. There's so much more to this than the old cross-generational life lessons story though. It's an incredibly touching movie, and there are some good laughs to be had as well. The acting is good all round, though Sir Ben does coast a little in this not-too-demanding role. The soundtrack is a particular highlight, taking in a great selection of mid-90s hip-hop sounds, and for anyone who's always wanted to see Ben Kingsley make out with Mary-Kate Olsen (and frankly, who hasn't?), now's your chance.

A superb movie to put on for those long summer evenings, even if 1994 was nothing particularly special for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of 2008, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Julian Phillips "ltjbukem" (Wimbledon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, massively under-rated (in the UK at least) and should have smashed it at the cinema. Great entirely believable cast, Olivia Thirlby, Josh Peck (of Mean Creak 'fame') and Method Man are particular stand outs and Ben Kingsley delivers one of his best performances since Sexy Beast. Famke Janssen manages to pull off an unusually off-beat role despite having virtually nothing to do except smoke; more like her character in Swingers than anything she's done recently. Soundtrack is excellent - everything from Wu Tang to the Fresh Prince - great for hip-hop heads or casual listeners. The whole thing is wrapped in a fantastic summery New York vibe that made me wish I'd grown up over there instead of leafy Surrey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant-ness!, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who was a teenager in the 90s will love this film - its nostalgia, the way it depicts a sticky hot summer and the wrench of lost romance. It is both poignant and funny, and Ben Kingsley is, as always, top notch. Great performances by Josh Peck and Olivia Thirlby too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I CAN'T LIVE IN JERSEY, 16 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The story line is the "Wackness." Luke (Josh Peck) is a coming of age drug dealer in New York. He sees a psychotherapist, Dr. Squires (Ben Kingsley) who he swaps marijuana for sessions. Dr Squires has a failing marriage to his wife (Famke Janssen). Luke is an outcast who is smitten by Stephanie (Olivia Thirlby) the step-daughter of Dr. Squires. Luke is attempting to sell drugs at an accelerated pace to prevent his family from being evicted and exiled to New Jersey.

The film has its cookie characters in drug users (Mary-Kate Olsen, Jane Adams) and is filled with truisms which adds boredom to a dialouge already burdened with too much seriousness. While the situation is comic, the dialouge fails to keep pace. The characters lacked a certain amount of believability. The film got rave reviews, perhaps due the original plot and underlying themes, but as a comedy it won't have you rolling on the floor. 3 1/2 stars

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex, brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw this at the cinema and couldn't wait to buy the DVD, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Love, love, LOVE this film. Excellent performances, the soundtrack is pure nostalgia - shouldn't be my cup of tea - but completely takes me back and some of the tracks you just can't help but smile when you hear. A great story too. Definitely one for the collection. Makes me wish i was 18 again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best soundtrack on a film, ever, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
this film is worth watching for the soundtrack alone. especially if you are a fan of earlyish hip hop as I guess the director is. also a pretty good film in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is different to what I've seen before but it's very interesting, great storyline and overall great film. Will defo watch again several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the watch., 3 Dec 2009
By 
Jordan Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If your into hip hop or just want a good movie you haaaave to watch this film, really well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'The Wackness' is WACK!!!!!!!!!, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Sarah hobson (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Speaking as someone who really wanted to like this movie I was really dissapointed. Although the film remains watchable it doesn't live up to its trailer which I found much more appealing than the film itself. The film makes itself look as if it has something to do with the hip-hop era of the 90s, but all that is hip-hop about this film is the soundtrack (which is amazzzzing!)and of course the actors uncomfortably and forcefully trying to speak hip-hop slang. On a brighter note Ben Kingsley is brilliant and funny and carried the film for me but overall i thought 'The Wackness' was wack and a bit run of the mill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 2 July 2012
By 
Kim (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wackness [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this in the cinema when it came out and bought the DVD recently. It was enjoyable - the lead is very good (what happened to him?) - but it's no classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wackness [2007] [DVD]
The Wackness [2007] [DVD] by Jonathan Levine (DVD - 2009)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews