Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish horror film about maths...
I shamelessly stole and adapated the title of this review for good reason. The nowadays sadly obligatory review quote on the DVD box reads "Pi meets Cube with a dash of Saw". I'm not certain that's entirely accurate and liked the actual tagline "Think inside the box" a whole lot more.
Yes there are numbers involved (Pi). Yes they are trapped in a kind of...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by G. Thomas

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The square root of a locked room puzzle
Sudoku, the mysterious stranger and the classic locked room puzzle all come together in this Spanish thriller.

Little is what it seems as several Spanish mathematicians receive details of a puzzle on the understanding that quick solving of same will lead to a follow-up invitation to a weekend of problem solving in the country. Successful and intrigued, they...
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by Humpty Dumpty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish horror film about maths..., 8 Sep 2009
By 
G. Thomas (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I shamelessly stole and adapated the title of this review for good reason. The nowadays sadly obligatory review quote on the DVD box reads "Pi meets Cube with a dash of Saw". I'm not certain that's entirely accurate and liked the actual tagline "Think inside the box" a whole lot more.
Yes there are numbers involved (Pi). Yes they are trapped in a kind of box-deathtrap (Cube) and yes there is an unknown devilish tormenter who poses riddles (Saw) but to break "Fermat's Room" up into merely the sum of it's parts is to do this film a great disservice.
(Also mention of "Cube" and "Saw" is perhaps aimed at attracting slightly the wrong audience while "Pi" the "Jewish horror film about maths" is a lot closer to the mark.... but maybe I'm reading too much into it).

Frankly this is a film that would struggle to find screentime at most multiplex cinemas. The release of "Fermat's Room" in the UK is unapologetically aimed at a niche audience. It's a foreign language, low-budget, mathematics-themed horror/thriller and I enjoyed it heartily.

Four apparent strangers are invited by riddle to attend the solving of a mysterious enigma that would challenge the greatest of minds. Their intellectual curiosity and perhaps arrogance leads them into a potential deathtrap of solving timed mathematical riddles to stay alive (To be just the slightest bit critical here I did find some of the riddles less than challenging as they tended to be the kind of logic puzzles I learned as a child). Of course the film's biggest riddle of all is why, specifically, are they there.

What starts most sedately gradually escalates into a crescendo of panic, paranoia, accusation and the will to survive. The characters and you the viewer are misdirected at every turn plunging you directly into the frenetic pacing as the very literal end draws ever closer.
There are some truly standout moments of cinematic style that only European cinema seems capable of pulling off these days and as the clues and conclusions come thick and fast you struggle to keep up with the supposed geniuses. There is little time for idle thought and I suspect a few people may even get left behind if they so much as blink.

Exciting, intelligent, unpatronising and distincly continental cinema which may not be 100% original but does improve upon the formula tenfold.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Spanish psychological thriller, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It is very hard to review this film without spoiling the plot but I will try my best. A group of very different people receive individual invitations to a dinner hosted by a genius. They all eventually decide to go, to find on arrival that their host is missing. Soon after dinner, they find that they have to solve problems against the clock. If they fail to do so, something nasty happens. What is the reason for this ? What is the connection between the characters. Can they solve the problems in time? All is revealed eventually, with great twists and turns that keep you guessing. If it sounds a bit like an Agatha Christie play, you are not a million miles away. However, it is crisper, better plotted, and better acted than most of hers will ever be. One for fans of World Cinema and mystery thrillers, none of whom should be disappointed by this Spanish mini-classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I'm not sure where I picked this film up from but I really enjoyed it. I was gripped from the start and enjoyed the successive reveals, the film is quite a short film but not harmed for that.

So highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like watching in "Blur"-ray, good film though, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It`s a rare breed, the old math-based thriller. Which is how this is described, but it`s more than that. The story boils down to one man trying to finish off some others, and a will-they, won`t-they escape finale? 90% of the story is not particularly original, but it is well-acted and easy to follow without being fluent in Spanish, and as the dialogue is not the key to the film, it`s pretty easy to follow events - especially when the walls are literally closing in on our main characters, and people are driving off cliffs. I might well argue though that it`s a damn good job that following the subtitles isn`t crucial, as they were blurred. In fact, the whole film has a grainy-8mm look about it; in terms of actual picture quality this is Grindhouse. I like the film though, which is about a group of mathematicians meeting under mysterious circumstances, invited by "Fermat", as they discover how they relate to each other. The dynamics and tension between them is a good watch, as the odd red herring throws off both them and the viewer. If you don`t mind grainy subtitles and reasonably sub-standard picture quality, then you might well enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable Spanish thriller, 4 Sep 2009
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Spanish are putting out some great genre films lately with the likes of The Orphanage, Time Crimes and to some extent Pan's Labyrinth. Fermat's Room is no exception, a brilliantly devised puzzler of a thriller that keeps the viewer thoroughly engaged throughout it's taut run time.

The concept is genius - four leading mathematicians are brought together to an isolated house with the promise of being involved in solving a great enigma. However, it's not long before they realise that the room they are in is a deathtrap and will squash them all unless they answer a succession of puzzles and riddles, least of all, who has brought them all together and why is he out to kill them all..

Don't let the fact that this film is in Spanish put you off, it's incredibly enjoyable with a killer ending, and ranks high above any recent English language thriller. Very highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The square root of a locked room puzzle, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Humpty Dumpty (Wall St, Upton Snodsbury) - See all my reviews
Sudoku, the mysterious stranger and the classic locked room puzzle all come together in this Spanish thriller.

Little is what it seems as several Spanish mathematicians receive details of a puzzle on the understanding that quick solving of same will lead to a follow-up invitation to a weekend of problem solving in the country. Successful and intrigued, they turn up at the rendezvous, find enigmatic instructions for their onward travel, receive a mathematical nom de plume, and are plunged into a situation, perhaps partly inspired by the Sherlock Holmes story "The Engineer's Thumb", where their survival depends upon their quickness in puzzle/problem solving.

The movie positions itself in that familiar place where horror and whodunnit come together, but this is quite a glossy package, what with the tricksy opening credits, insistent sub-techo music, creepy soundtrack and slick editing. There is plenty here to keep you on the edge of your seat, even if the ending is a little anti-climactic and one is left with a feeling that beneath the slick outer shell of the picture, once the smoke and mirrors are left behind and the several puzzles are solved, little of substance remains.

An intriguing piece of entertainment, though I can't imagine many people wanting to watch it more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this film having already seen it once at the cinema (I went knowing nothing about it although I had heard of Fermat's last theorem) and found it absolutely gripping. The way the plot developed, and the twists and turns which became apparent meant that my attention was held totally until the end. I would have given it five stars, except for the poor quality of the subtitles, which were not clear enough (frequently white against a palebackground), and not on screen for long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a thriller which didn't quite, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It has a reasonably straightforward plot, but there is little mystery or suspense involved, and after the Cube it showed itself lacking. It was a room which would eventually crush its victims to death, and bit by bit, in the midst of performing logic tests to stay alive, the victims work out why they are to be murdered and by whom. There were scenes upon which the plot depended which were outside the killer room, and I feel that although this was necessary, it watered down the plot, and suggested there was a way out for the victims, not the unending suspense of its forbear the Cube, which strongly disorientated and tortured the victims. It took the viewer's attention away from the room.
The subtitles were difficult to read, the contrast was poor, but necessary because the script is in Spanish, and I found myself constantly going backwards to catch up on the text, whch was a needed part of the plot.
It was reasonable entertainment, but it'll be a while before I view again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle Warning, 5 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Richard Warburton (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Thought I'd give this film the average review score however I have been unable to watch it due to the tiny subtitles. It seems ridiculous to go to the trouble of making a film and then releasing it with the smallest subtitles I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A teasingly twisted psychological thriller, 3 Sep 2012
This review is from: Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It's not really about maths - it's about twisted psychology and the lengths some people will go to in order to mess with peoples' heads.
I was releived to discover this for two reasons: I'm fairly rubbish at maths, and I like psychological thrillers.
Invited to a mini conference for gifted minds, a small group shows up only to find they're locked in a room and that their absent host appears determined to kill them. For every riddle they get wrong, or take too long to answer, the room gets smaller...
Essentially a race against time that turns into a psychological pressure cooker, it's a clever film that enjoys playing with the audience. It also has a few unexpected and enjoyable twists.
It is subtitled, and it is very wordy - it won't be for everyone.
But if you feel like a film that's a weird intellectual mixture of the atmosphere of a Saw trap combined with the cold logic of Cube, then this might well be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007]
Fermat's Room [DVD] [2007] by Rodrigo Sopena (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews