Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant performance
The performance by Tom Hardy of Stuart was absolutely outstanding. I read the book first, and was amazed at how Hardy brought Stuart to life with his incredible acting . A great talent to watch out for in the future.
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by Ann Barrett

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even more boring than the book
Given the puff and reputation I had heard about the book, I thought I'd give it another whirl as a movie when I found the print version plodding despite the promise of the subject matter. The movie is plodding too - poorly designed (the graphic interventions add nothing), full of sloppy dialogue, sloppy class politics and a tone has a deal of difficulty in settling down...
Published 4 months ago by Lulubeth


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A very different view of the world, 16 Feb 2012
By 
L. B. Miller "Barbara Cullen" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is based on the best-selling book. Its stars give wonderful performances. It's life at the grittiest in contemporary Britain, yet "Stuart" is wise and funny as well. The additional interviews with the two stars go for over 30 minutes each and are very entertaining as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Film and Performances, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What can I say? This is a gem of a film! I bought the DVD on a whim, well on the strength of being a big fan of Tom Hardy as I've been watching most of his films and wanted to see the range of roles he has played. To describe this film in one word, "WOW"! The film had me captivated from start to finish, understanding how Stuart's life path came to be. The idea of pursuing his life story backwards was brilliant. Despite all the bad he caused in his life, you couldn't help but to be on his side. He seemed to be a man with a big heart, but a very misunderstood person with a lot to give, but in the process of his life let down by society and (certain members of) his family. As I watched the film, it made me laugh, it made me feel sick (to see/hear what Stuart had been through) and by the end, crying my eyes out. Such a tragedy when a life is cut short as it was.

On reflection, I highly recommend "Stuart A Life Backwards" - it has everything! It will make you laugh and it will even make those tough nuts out there, shed a tear. Well Done to Tom Hardy and Benedict Cumberbatch....

NB: I have never read the book and knew nothing of it, prior to buying the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stuart A Life Backwards DVD, 25 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you've read the book this is a real 'Must See'. If you haven't read the book I suggest you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having read the book I was keen to see the film. A very sad, moving and often hilarious true biography of a man called Stuart, an ex-con, alcoholic, junkie rough sleeper. It is written backwards to lead us back to his childhood to explore why he found himself living this life, and how he came to form a relationship with Alexander who wrote the book about his life. The film is very true to the book. Fantastic performances from both Tom Hardy and Benedict Cumberbatch as Stuart and Alexander. Watch this film - you will laugh and cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality acting, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I decided to watch this film as i'm a Tom Hardy fan & I was totally blown away by his acting. The storyline is sometimes difficult to watch but you get completely immersed into it. Knowing that the characters are real makes you think & I was very impressed with the work that was clearly put into this film by Tom. His speech & the way he walks for example have been thoroughly researched & it was a job well done. I cant praise this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 21 April 2010
By 
Dr. M. G. Farringdon (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is Tom Hardy's best role (and I have seen almost all his films).

It is based on a best-selling biography by Aexander Masters (played in the film by Benedict Cumberbatch) of his unexpected, but ever-growing, friendship with STUART SHORTER, a homeless man.

He met Stuart when he was setting up a campaign to free two social workers (Ruth and John) who had been imprisoned because the homeless people they were helping had been selling drugs -- they hadn't been dealing drugs themselves but were responsible for the premises where it was going on.

Stuart helped by giving talks with Alexander to get the campaign off the ground: he would say "I am the nightmare Ruth and John were trying to stop homeless people from becoming", and then he would give his life-story. The campaign succeeded and Ruth and John were set free -- but I won't tell you the ending of the film. Lots of good bits along the way.

Funny and sad, and unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuart. A life backwards, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Barb Hope (Swansea, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Splendid film. Very serious and tragic, also funny in parts.
Several serious issues tackled in the story and one can only hope that
changes in attitude and help are on the way. Tom Hardy is totally believable
as Stuart. I've watched the film 3 times and special features twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tom Hardy Fan's Must See, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This has got to be one of my favorite roles of Tom Hardy's. Based on a true story, Stuart: A Life Backwards chronicles the brief life of Stuart Shorter. A homeless man who changes the life of writer Alexander Masters as he forms a friendship with this remarkable man and decides to write the first book ever on a homeless person. This movie is heart wrenching and beautiful as it takes you on a journey introducing you to Stuart and Alex and the bond that forms between them. Tom Hardy is absolutely brilliant as Stuart. He brings so much emotional depth to this role. He will have you laughing and crying as you follow Stuart's journey. Benedict Cumberbatch is also brilliant as Alex. His on screen chemistry with Tom Hardy mirrors and strengthens the real life friendship between Alex and Stuart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even more boring than the book, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Given the puff and reputation I had heard about the book, I thought I'd give it another whirl as a movie when I found the print version plodding despite the promise of the subject matter. The movie is plodding too - poorly designed (the graphic interventions add nothing), full of sloppy dialogue, sloppy class politics and a tone has a deal of difficulty in settling down. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 20 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A very harrowing, thought provoking and fantastic film. Even though the film is about such disturbing events the humour lightens it and you become engrossed in the story line rooting for Stuart and Alexander! Brilliant just brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007]
Stuart: A Life Backwards [DVD] [2007] by David Attwood (DVD - 2008)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews