Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bad...Wolf...", "Exterminate!", "Davros, you can't!"
The fourth series of Doctor Who has been perhaps the finest season out of the lot. My main reason for believing that is when I compare this series to the ones before, this seems to have stood out more in terms of overall quality. When judging the series by each episode individually, I've found that Series 4 has been more consistent than anything that's gone before...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by R. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad
got it for my son he loves dr who plus it was great value for the money upto you here give a 7 out of 10
Published on 1 May 2012 by irish2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bad...Wolf...", "Exterminate!", "Davros, you can't!", 12 Oct 2008
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The fourth series of Doctor Who has been perhaps the finest season out of the lot. My main reason for believing that is when I compare this series to the ones before, this seems to have stood out more in terms of overall quality. When judging the series by each episode individually, I've found that Series 4 has been more consistent than anything that's gone before it.

The fourth and final DVD volume of this series justifies my belief. Without doubt, this three-parter is the highlight of Season 4. Collectively and individually, these episodes are real classics and the ultimate way to end this spectacular series. They have everything and features both David Tennant and Catherine Tate at the peak of their abilities.

The first episode, "Turn Left", is truly one of the most outstanding and psychological ever seen in Doctor Who, and it's important for so many reasons. It revisits the parallel world concept first established in Series 2 and explores a very captivating and powerful possibility. What if Donna had NEVER met the Doctor in the first place? Only here, it actually happens. And there are plenty of consequences because of it. As Donna and everything around her falls apart...the only hope is a mysterious blonde woman that's kept popping up throughout.

For those who criticised Catherine Tate and the Donna Noble character, "Turn Left" is an episode that silences all naysayers and puts all unfounded negative comments about her to rest. Catherine gives the performance of her LIFE here. Her portrayal of Donna in this episode represents the epitome of the character's success. Watching this symbolises perfectly just how much the Doctor changed her and her life for the better, and without him to show just how brilliant she was, everything goes to hell and she's powerless to do anything about it.

While Catherine does the amazing job of carrying the nightmarish episode on her shoulders, it would be criminal to ignore Billie Piper, who finally makes her first proper return as Rose Tyler to the series after "Doomsday" and all those cameos throughout Series 4. And she hasn't lost anything at all. Rose acting as Donna's guide is superb and that coupled with her warnings of `The Darkness' plus the shocking ending makes "Turn Left" a diamond of an episode.

This awesomeness continues with "The Stolen Earth", where after so long, the dreaded Daleks make their highly-anticipated return. Bigger and badder than ever, the new Dalek Empire conquers the Earth along with a host of other planets. With the Doctor and Donna nowhere to be found, Earth's greatest heroes assemble to try and oppose their fiercest foes. But in the shadows...lies an enemy long-thought gone. And his return will be their greatest challenge.

Russell T Davies has obviously saved the very best till last here. The fate of the Daleks had been in serious question ever since the events of Series 3's "Evolution of the Daleks" and their inevitable return was bound to be huge. And it's bigger than huge as it turns out. The Daleks have NEVER been deadlier and it's a given fan boy's dream to see the cast of spin-offs Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures appear as well. The circumstances, plot, horrors etc all make "The Stolen Earth" absolutely epic. The Doctor, Donna, Rose, Martha, Captain Jack, Sarah Jane, as well as Gwen and Ianto (from Torchwood) and Luke and Mr Smith (from Sarah Jane Adventures), are all given proud moments to shine and interact yet again. The explanation of the Daleks' comeback is plausible, horrific and brilliant, and the highly-anticipated return of Davros (after 20 years) is the icing on the cake. Finally, the epic cliff-hangers finish off an absolute thrill-ride of an episode.

And "Journey's End" is an exceptional finale. The Doctor and all his friends have all come together now (including Mickey Smith and Jackie Tyler) to face-off against Davros, the Daleks and their deadliest scheme ever to conquer and destroy all of reality. But a haunting prophecy looms over the Children of Time, decreeing that at least one of them will die.

What's sensible about this episode is that it adds an extra twenty minutes. Given all the great characters returning to the action, all the various sub-plots, the excitement and horror; it's far too much for forty-five minutes to contain, so Davies deserves credit once again for making "Journey's End" an extra-long special.

The resolution of each of the character's stories has been so well crafted and couldn't have been written or executed better. Each of the actors/actresses are on top form here but the most outstanding person is unquestionably Julian Bleach for his terrific performance as Davros. Bleach gives the character such new life and makes his return to modern-day Who a resounding success that deserves an award. Chilling malevolence, insidious intellect and a fitting dry wit make Davros an unforgettable villain that even older Who fans can appreciate.

As for the ending, there is great happiness all-round balanced out by an equally heartbreaking moment for...well, I'm sure everyone knows now. The character's departure made me both really angry and sad when first broadcast, and the power of the tragedy hasn't lessened at all. I suppose it's the only logical way to end the series given that there won't be another full-length series until 2010, despite the various one-off specials coming up. But still...the ending creates such a painful paradox for me that I don't quite approve of.

Final analysis? Thank you, Russell T Davies, David Tennant, Catherine Tate and everyone else for this masterpiece of a finale. It's absolutely classic and naturally the best volume out of the Series 4 Dr. Who DVDs. To all fans and everyone else, I advise that you do NOT miss out on one of the best bits of television to grace our screens in recent times. Truly, truly essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps on getting better, 2 Mar 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Turn Left has to be one of the best stories that the new series has thrown up. Visiting the planet of Shan Shen, Donna wanders away from The Doctor and is tricked into making a decision that will change the course of human history - and result in the Timelord's death. The now familiar `Doctor-lite' episode weaves a malign web of destruction, and only Donna - with the help of a surprisingly familiar face from The Doctor's past (or is it future?) - can save the Earth. The episode sets the scene for the series finale, a two-parter that concludes the story arc and re-introduces the Doctor's ultimate foe, and this episode has what is surely one of the best Doctor Who cliff-hangers ever devised.
The Stolen Earth cranks up the pace significantly, as the series hurtles towards its conclusion. The production team have pulled out all the stops to create the most memorable climax to a series to date. The Daleks are back and this time they have a particularly nasty surprise for The Doctor and his companions. Other highlights include the coming together of the so-called `Children of Time' and the insane Dalek Caan, whose delirious rantings are both chilling and prophetic. The Medusa Cascade and The Shadow Proclamation, both mentioned in earlier stories, are brought stunningly to the screen, and old friends reunite to call The Doctor back to Earth and defend it against the deadliest threat it has ever faced...
The rollercoaster ride that is the final episode is an action-packed extravaganza that is as relentlessly exciting as it is intriguing. The Daleks have their new masterplan in place and only one of The Doctor's companions will be able to save the day...This is a real treat for fans of the Doctor Who spin-off shows: The Sarah-Jane Adventures and Torchwood, The Doctor needs all the help he can get as The Daleks threaten to destroy reality itself. Superbly-acted, dynamic and invigorating, there are plenty of twists and turns and a sting in the tail that will surely bring a tear to the eye of the most hardened viewer. With a tantalising glimpse of the Christmas 2008 story, this is a triumphant production and a well-earned victory for the production team, as well as a feast of epic proportions for viewers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Unmissable Episodes!, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Three fantastic episodes of Doctor Who! What really stole the show for me was the Doctor and Rose meeting again. It is clear from the beginning of 'Turn Left' and more at the beginning of 'Stolen Earth' of their desperation to meet again, even more so because they're closer to meeting than ever before.
'Turn Left' is a great insight into how the world would fall apart without the Doctor and this shows what an amazing man the Doctor is. The fabulous Billie Piper returns as Rose Tyler and is a guide for Donna. The best of Donna's character is brought out in this episode and we really see how the Doctor has transformed her life for the better, like he did for Rose. I love the ending of this episode, where the Doctor realises that Donna has met Rose, and we get the return of Bad Wolf.
For me, 'Stolen Earth' is the best of the 3 episodes and one of my all time favourite episodes of Doctor Who. Right from the start, you see that even though the Earth is in great danger, you can still tell the Doctor's desperation to find Rose or at least speak to her again. We see the return of many familiar faces; Torchwood with Captain Jack, Jackie, Mickey, Martha, Sarah Jane, Harriet Jones. The moment in which the Doctor and Rose run towards each other is just magical.
I enjoyed the finale `Journey's End' as well as it brings an ending to all of the companions of series 1-4 stories. I liked how the Doctor and Rose got some time on screen together just them. I like the moment where Martha asks who the girl with the Doctor is (Rose) and Rose tells her, and then she says `Oh my god, he found you'. I love the look Rose gives the Doctor and it lets Rose know that the Doctor never stopped thinking about her. The idea of the three Doctors was genius and a great way to save the world! I love the scene in the Tardis with all of the companions together. Rose's ending was a disappointment for me though as she just got fobbed off with a clone Doctor. I loved parts of his scene though. Like where the Doctor says how Rose made him better. And he made such a sacrifice for her as the real Doctor wanted to be with her but instead he gave her the clone Doctor so that she'd have someone to live her entire life and grow old with. You know what they say, if you love someone let them go. I think this was a great example of that. I would have loved it if the Doctor could have told her he loved her out loud as we all knew that what's he was saying! And I would have also loved it if the one kissing her was the real Doctor.
The only thing that let it down for me is that I think they could have done more with Rose's return. This has been waited for all through series 3 and 4 and Rose is a character that hasn't been forgotten. Although I loved having all the companions together, I think it would have been nice to have had an episode with just Rose & the Doctor to give her character a proper ending, as I don't believe she truly got one.
New writer Steven Moffat saying that the companions from series 1-4 were overused is a load of rubbish and sadly, series 5 has ruined Doctor Who for me. The character of the Doctor has completely changed and he doesn't seem to take anything seriously anymore. The only thing that would make me watch it again is if Rose were to return or a new decent Doctor arrives. As you can probably tell, I am a massive fan of the Doctor & Rose and whether you are or not, I would still really recommend buying this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always turn left, 9 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Turn left, the first on this volume, is in my opinion the best Dr Who episode ever written. A thought provoking and profound look at what the world would be like if Donna had never met the Doctor. Catherine Tate is superb in her performance bringing new depths to her character. It highlights too her mothers ambivalence towards her only daughter and there are several very moving scenes. Stolen Earth and Journey's End follow this episode neatly and with full on Russell T Davies genius. I nearly drowned in my own tears in the final episode and any detractors of Catherine Tate must surely eat their own words. Highly recommend to everyone, even those who are not Dr Who addicts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julian Bleach breathes new life into Davros!!!, 11 July 2008
By 
Mr. Jack Gray "jackmaster" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Its was never going to be easy to bring the Dalek creator bang up-to-date, but they pulled it off beautifully. Julain Bleach is very close to Michael Wisher's portrayal hence the reason why he was cast when you compare his performance in, "From Out Of The Rain", from series two of, "Torchwood".

Apart from Graeme Harper's brilliant direction, Julian Bleach perfectly recreates the Wisher Davros as he was seen in 1975, and brings a new insanity, and madness to the part delivering an exceptional performance, and making the final two-part story of Series Four hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic!!!!the best end to a series, 1 July 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
turn left-10/10-a classic episode,Catherine Tate flexes her acting and really 'meats' Donna up as she shows different perspectives of her character,and one of my favourite episodes...the best doctor light ever...blows Blink right out of the water...and Rose makes a big comeback,Donna has to be the best companion on the show ever!!
The Stolen Earth-10+/10-a massive/epic episode that finally makes the Daleks scary again...definately my favourite episode to date,Davros makes a petrifying comeback and so do-Martha,Jack,and Sarah-Jane as they team up with TORCHWOOD's Gwen and Ianto,some amazing scenes and superb effects,Russel T.Davies is set to make the biggest finale ever!!!!and my god that cliffhanger...just four more days to wait.
Journey's End-10+/10-the amazing finale is certainly a lot more than what Russel had promised us,it was completely unpredictable and thuroughly enjoyable ride that summed up the entire mythology of the show,there are plenty of memorable and astonishing scenes here and a range of emotions are shown through the characters,John B. gave a great performance as Jack,Freema and Billie were on top form,loved having Micky and Jackie back,and Elizabeth Sladen was fantastic.
But out of the whole episode it had to be the chemistry between Tennant and Tate that made the episode what it was,and Davros is the ULTIMATE villain in what has to be the best Dalek storyline ever(still love Genesis though)it was brutal,intense,emotional and hilarious in places,it has brought a great end to Russel T.Davies' run as showrunner and the BEST finale the show has ever had which all in all makes this the best episode of the entire show(along with Turn Left/Stolen Earth as a trilogy).
i was on the edge of my seat the whole way through the episode not knowing what was going to happen to the companions and the doctor,and on many occaisons being amazed in the outcomes on every scene.
tears wer definately built up around my eyes as each companion left to carry on with their lives...an amazing end to the show.
THE RETURN OF THE CYBERMEN is this years Christmas special and it looks quite promising.
these are the best episodes of the show and are DEFINATELY worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF BAD WOLF, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD contains the last three episodes of Series 4 of Doctor Who, and for me it's the best and most exciting collection of episodes I've had the pleasure to watch and re-watch on BBC Three repeats live in 2008. This selection includes a gripping one-part story that sets up and leads into the two-part finale that is both thrilling and emotionally heart-breaking at the same time. It also features the largest amount of characters to have featured with the Tenth Doctor and the new series as a whole. If you've been following David Tennant's era without a fault, this is a fantastic Christmas present (in July) and I mean that sincerely.

`TURN LEFT'

This story features the Doctor and Donna visiting a Chinese-like market planet in the future called Shan Shen. They're enjoying themselves to the full on this planet, until Donna wanders off by herself leaving the Doctor and comes across a fortune teller (played by Chipo Chung who recently played Chantho in `Utopia' with Sir Derek Jacobi). Persuaded to take part, Donna goes into the fortune teller's tent thinking she's going to get a free reading. Instead, Donna finds herself telling the fortune teller about how she first met the Doctor as a temp at H.C. Clements and revealing how she made the choice of `turning left' at the crossroads. The fortune teller forces Donna by putting a `time beetle' on Donna's back and persuading her to change her decision to `turn right' instead of left. Donna, unwilling to break free from her trance, finds herself turning right instead of left at the crossroads.

Here in this story, we get to see Donna living a life where she never met the Doctor and has permanent job at a photocopying business run by a Mr Chowder. Throughout the episode, he sees events that happen when Donna wasn't there. On Christmas Day, Donna witnesses the Christmas star of the Rachnoss attacking London from 'The Runaway Bride' and the Doctor gets killed after drowning in the Thames, simply because Donna wasn't there to save him. Then we get the Royal Hope hospital in 'Smith and Jones' being stolen by the Judoon and later put back in its proper place with only one survivor and the revelation that Martha Jones is dead as well as Sarah Jane Smith and her gang from her own series (Maria, Luke and Clyde) who saved the world. Then we get the Titantic from 'Voyage of the Damned' crashing into Buckingham Palace and destroying London (Donna and her family managing to avoid that spending a luxury weekend at a hotel). Then America in crisis as people get killed with fat turning into Adipose from 'Partners In Crime'. And the whole world except Britain suffocating from ATMOs gas by the Sontarans in 'The Sontaran Strategem'/'The Poison Sky' only to be saved by Captain Jack and his Torchwood team (Gwen and Ianto) who sacrificed themselves in the process.

All of these are events are things that have happened in the series from Series 3 to Series 4 that we've seen before but with a different turn and disastrous consequences, since because Donna wasn't there to meet the Doctor when she turned right instead of left. And it's not all pleasant for Donna as she gets sacked from her job; forced to live in Leeds and live a life that has become depressing. It's a grim story but brilliantly written and well-thought out by Russell T Davies who does a great job explaining how certain choices affect certain events and everyday lives with `meetings never made; children never born; a life never loved' as Rose says.

Of course, this episode features the welcome return of Billie Piper as Rose Tyler, last seen in the Series 2 finale 'Army of Ghosts'/'Doomsday'. I was excited and thrilled that Rose was returning, since she was the first companion I'd seen from the new series and she had touched everybody's hearts during her time as the Doctor. Even when she left the series I always knew she would be coming back. I didn't know how but I always knew Russell would bring her back into the series. And here she's helping Donna to save her through the world she's created as she's been jumping across parallel universes to get to her. I simply love how Rose interacts with Donna by telling her these important things about the Doctor and persuading her to help her change history back to the way it was.

But it's Catherine Tate who steals the show, as she's tremendous playing Donna Noble in this story. Donna is clearly a different character who's never met the Doctor and is absorbed in her own trival world (much like to how we first met her in `The Runaway Bride'). The emphasis of Donna not thinking herself important and just being `nothing' is strong in this story, and her journey is captivating to watch as she goes through the motions of getting a permeant job to being sacked; to find her home destroyed and having to live in Leeds under martial law and then to becoming horrified when the Italian family get forced out of their home to work in labour camps. Her horror at seeing the time beetle on her back was very exciting to watch when Rose shows her, as is her reaction to the TARDIS (recovered by UNIT from the Thames) when she goes inside it.

Also in this episode are Jacqueline King returning as Donna's mum Sylvia and Bernard Cribbins playing Wilfred Mott, Donna's granddad. Both share Donna's life story as they get evicted to Leeds and experience being nobody's in a society that's crumbling. I loved Donna's scenes with her granddad when they're looking through the telescope and see the stars going out - a warning of things to come as `the darkness is coming'.

The climax of the episode is tremendously thrilling, as Donna goes back in time to stop herself from turning right and sacrifices herself by getting run over by a lorry. Rose whispers something in Donna's ear for her to tell the Doctor. As Donna from earlier in the car turns left, everything reverts back to normal and the time beetle is forced off Donna on Shan Shen. Donna is horrified at seeing it, but not as much as a the fortune teller who retreats from being scared of what Donna will be. Then we have the Doctor appearing at the end who's still alive (David had the easiest job since he only appeared at the beginning and end).

As Donna tries to remember about the parallel world she created, she remembers Rose Tyler and tells her the message she gave him to tell the Doctor. The message is....BAD WOLF! The Doctor is shocked and horrified. He runs out with Donna to find the street brawled with the two words everywhere - BAD WOLF! BAD WOLF! BAD WOLF! Even on the TARDIS exterior it has the words BAD WOLF, BAD WOLF BAD WOLF written all over it. It can only mean one thing to the Doctor - `the end of the universe'!

Just to mention, my best mate lives in that same street used for Leeds where Donna and her family lived which is actually in Penarth. I was only there just last weekend. How amazing is that?!

Wow! An exciting episode that I have ever seen with a brilliant cliff-hanger of an ending, making me wonder what will happen next. When I saw the `next time' trailer and the official trailer for the next story, I couldn't help but get over-excited as what was to come next was going to be a stupendous event! As Rose says, `it's only just beginning...'

`THE STOLEN EARTH'/'JOURNEY'S END'

WARNING!! SPOILERS TO FOLLOW!!

Wow! This `Doctor Who' story is amazing!

It's got to feature one of the most biggest casts in `Doctor Who' history. Not only have we got David Tennant, Catherine Tate and Billie Piper returning, but also we got Freema Agyeman as Martha Jones; John Barrowman as Captain Jack and Elisabeth Sladen as Sarah Jane Smith. But guess what...we've also got Eve Myles and Gareth David-Lloyd from `Torchwood' playing Gwen Cooper and Ianto Jones (I couldn't believe it! Torchwood regulars in a Doctor Who story). There's also Tommy Knight from `The Sarah Jane Adventures' as Luke Smith as well as Alexander Armstrong as the voice of Mr Smith - Sarah Jane's computer in her attic. This makes the first and possibly only time there's a crossover between three shows - Doctor Who/Torchwood/Sarah Jane. We've also got Bernard Cribbins and Jacqueline King returning as Wilfred Mott and Sylvia Noble (Donna's family); Noel Clarke and Camille Coduri as Mickey Smith and Jackie Tyler (Rose's family); and Adjoa Andoh as Francine Jones (Martha's family). And...there's Penelope Wilton returning as Harriet Jones, former Prime Minister (yes we know who she is). And...there's Nicholas Briggs doing the voice of the Daleks as well as the Judoon who are also in this. I'm running out of breath...(panting)...but you get what I'm on about. The cast is huge...and the story encompasses everything that has ever appeared in the Russell T. Davies era of the series.

The story itself is incredible (as it should be for the finale of Series 4). The Doctor and Donna return to Earth to find that it gets stolen and taken across thousands of light years to the Medusa Cascade where twenty six planets have also been stolen out of the orbit. These other planets include Callufrax Minor, Jahoo, Woman Wept, Clom as well as Adipose III (mentioned in `Partners in Crime' by Miss Foster), Pyrovillia (in `The Fires of Pompeii' by Lucius) and the Lost Moon of Poosh (in `Midnight'). They've all been stolen to form this engine of power to spread across the universe. Stolen by whom I hear you ask? You guessed it...it's the Daleks. No sooner has the Earth been stolen that the Daleks start to invade, attacking entire continents and military bases including the New York branch in U.N.I.T. where Martha Jones works.

But the Daleks are not alone. As well as being led by the blood-red Supreme Dalek (very impressive and beautiful Dalek to look at I must say), they also brought with them their lord and creator - the Kaled scientist Davros (played magnificently by Julian Bleach - who played a role in `Torchwood' that got him the role). Davros first appeared in `Doctor Who' all the way back to 1975 in 'Genesis of the Daleks' with Tom Baker. Sarah Jane is horrified when she hears Davros' voice, remembering him from that moment. I love that moment. It gave me the chills hearing it. Now Davros comes back in true form to lead his Daleks to conquer the universe with the use of his `reality bomb' as well as the 27 planets to transmit the signal to make the stars go out.

Julian Bleach is absolutely tremendous as Davros in this story, and very scary, playing to same level as Michael Wisher and Terry Molloy played Davros all those years ago. His ranting and raving match superbly to the classic days as much as his cool, calculating and quieter tones whenever he's chatting to the Doctor whether it's on the sub-wave network or holding him prisoner in the vault of the Dalek Crucible. The make-up of Davros is truly sensational, matching to the make-up that was used back in the 1970s when Michael Wisher played the part, as the production team wanted to keep true to the original style of Davros all those years ago. And Julian manages to pull off the part pretty well with such enthusiasm and energy. I'm sure he scared the living daylights out of children when he appeared in these 2008 episodes.

There's also the return of Dalek Kaan who managed to escape at the end of 'Daleks In Manhattan'/'Evolution of the Daleks'. Kaan did an emergency temporal shift and went into the Time War to rescue Davros before he got killed. As a result, Kaan became deranged and manic as he could see into the future and tell prophecies to Davros about what's to come. He also has the knack of giving off hysterical laughs. It's very strange and eerie. I don't think I ever heard a Dalek before, and it's really quite creepy.

Harriet Jones manages to get the team of companions together including Jack and his Torchwood team; Sarah Jane and her son Luke and Martha Jones by contacting through a sub-wave network (Rose sees this networks through the Nobles' laptop but doesn't get in touch since it doesn't have webcam. Together, the `secret army' (or `children of time' as Davros calls them), use their skills and resources to make contact with the Doctor using Martha's mobile phone to bring the Doctor to them. They use Mr Smith and the power of Cardiff's space/time rift through Torchwood to boost the signal. The trick works, as the Doctor and Donna follow the signal in the TARDIS and enter the Medusa Cascade a split second forward in time to find the 27 planets. It's now a race against as the Doctor has to reach the Earth before Davros and the Daleks can stop him.

As the Doctor and Donna arrive on Earth, they soon find Rose Tyler waiting to meet them. The Doctor is overjoyed as he and Rose run to meet each other and be reunited. But it's short-lived as a Dalek glides along and shoots the Doctor on the spot with its death-ray. It's one of the most heart-wrenching moments in the series and it got me on edge. The Dalek gets blown up by Captain Jack who turns up. The Doctor and Rose have a momentary reunion before he finds himself dying and about to undergo regeneration. Jack orders Rose and the Doctor to get inside the TARDIS before any more Daleks come along.

The first episode's cliff-hanger has got to be one of the best and most `nearly on the edge of your seat' moments. We have three endings to this episode. Sarah Jane is about to get exterminated by the Daleks in her car; the Torchwood team Gwen and Ianto open fire with huge guns on a Dalek invading the Hub and the Doctor is with Donna, Rose and Jack in the TARDIS who stand back as he's about to change. The Doctor explodes in fiery energy about to regenerate. This really made me panic and wonder what would happen next as I didn't want David Tennant to change. It really seemed like it was going to be the end as David Tennant was regenerating into M-

No...no...wait...wait! He's not changing. He's sending his regeneration energy into that severed hand he's been in the TARDIS that Jack gave him. He's still David Tennant. He hasn't changed. Thank goodness! I really did not see that coming. I didn't know how the Doctor was going to get out of that one. I had that reaction Rose, Donna and Jack had at that moment. He's clever that Russell T. Davies using that life-line. I should have spotted that, shouldn't I? The Doctor and Rose are allowed to have their reunion as they hug each other, to which I was very happy watching. Donna wanted Jack to hug her too, which was funny.

Also the Torchwood team manage to get out of it as they find the Dalek as well as the Hub sealed off in a time lock bubble with bullets firing in mid-air. This was set up by their former colleague Toshiko Sato (who died in the Series 2 finale of Torchwood `Exit Wounds' as well as Owen Harper). It means they're safe from danger but can't get out and have to wait for Jack to return.

Sarah Jane also survives as she's saved by Mickey Smith and Jackie Tyler who appear properly in this episode jumping from their parallel universe. They use big guns to destroy the Daleks to which they blow up. Sarah Jane's relieved. They've come to find Rose. The three go off together to find the TARDIS (with Doctor, Donna, Jack and Rose inside) being sent off to the Crucible by the Daleks. In order to get up there they have to drop their guns and surrender to the Daleks. The trick works as the Dalek are about to take them up to the Crucible as well.

Martha Jones has an adventure of her own too, as she uses U.N.I.T's new teleport `Project Indigo' to make for Germany, outside of Nuremberg. She has to avoid the Daleks who are also there, speaking German. I found it rather amusing, hearing Daleks speaking another language saying 'Extermineiren! Extermineiren!" Martha's good at speaking German too when she arrived to meet the woman at Osterhagen station, where she has to use the `key' of that same name to save the world. It's a dangerous choice for her to make, but Martha's not going to use the key until she speaks to the Doctor about it.

Very soon we have the final showdown as Davros and the Daleks manage to capture all of the Doctor's companions - Martha, Jack, Sarah Jane, Mickey and Jackie along with the Doctor and Rose - in the vault before they can do anything to stop them. Davros barks his command to `detonate the reality bomb' which will send the signal using the stolen planets to destroy the stars, planets as well as everything else in the universe. It seems rather hopeless, until the TARDIS arrives (presumed destroyed by the Daleks) and out steps...another Doctor. Yes I know, how weird is that?

This other Doctor looks exactly the same as David Tennant. Except this Doctor was grown out from the severed hand containing regeneration energy, touched by Donna Noble who was in the TARDIS at the time - causing an instantaneous metabolic crisis. This Doctor also has only got one heart - making half human, half Time Lord. He's also got some of Donna's lip - going `Oy!'; `No way!' and `isn't that wizard?' all the time. I don't know about you, but this was the most daftest, ridiculous and probably most ingenious idea RTD's ever come up with. I love it when Donna goes `You're naked!', moments after the new Doctor's born.

The human Doctor tries to stop Davros with some gadget of his to kill him and the Daleks, but Davros zaps him with his metal hand. He also electrocutes Donna who comes running out of the TARDIS moments after the human Doctor's shot down. It seemed like it was the end of Donna as well as the end of the universe when the `reality bomb' countdown reached to zero. But...the countdown stops as does the detonation of the reality bomb. Who's done that then I hear you ask...?

Donna Noble! She's managed to stop the reality bomb and disabled Davros and the Daleks within a flash. All because she's now got the mind of the Doctor's following that meta-crisis business. She talks like the Doctor, she even acts and sounds like him. She's become part Time Lord; part human - the DoctorDonna. I found this really amusing, and Catherine Tate does a really good David Tennant. Now there are three Doctors in this episode. And if you're heads are scratching when reading this review as well as following this story, I tell you now I'm not surprised. Don't let it worry you.

This gives the chance for the Doctor and his companions to fight back and work together to stop Davros and the Daleks. This gave me great moments of happiness watching this band of heroes together fighting the great enemy. Pretty soon the 26 planets get sent back to their time and place by the two Doctors and Donna, except for Earth as the blood-red Supreme Dalek blows up the equipment before it gets blown up by Jack. The human Doctor fulfils Dalek Kaan's prophecy by committing genocide for all the Daleks and destroys the Crucible, to which the `real' Doctor's not happy about. All of the Doctor's companions get inside the TARDIS as well as the human Doctor ready to go. The Doctor calls out to Davros to save him, but Davros curses the Doctor ranting and branding him `the destroyer of the worlds' before he gets enveloped in a fiery inferno. I don't think that's the end of Davros. He must have survived somehow at the end of that episode, mustn't he? Mustn't he?!

The two Doctors and their companions now have to pilot the TARDIS and take the Earth home back to its proper time and place. And they're not alone as they enlist Torchwood's help as well as Mr. Smith (Sarah Jane's computer) and K9 - yes I know! K9's in this (voiced by John Leeson). Another big name added to the cast list. The Doctor gets his companions to take part in piloting the TARDIS using the six sections of the console (except Jackie as she was told not to touch anything by the Doctor - poor Jackie love her), as they take the Earth home. What follows is a wonderful sequence of the complete Tenth Doctor team journeying back home in the TARDIS - with the reprise of the Ood `Song of Freedom' in the background - and enjoying the ride. They eventually bring the Earth back to its proper place and time (with Moon in orbit) and the Doctors and companions are thrilled and overjoyed, hugging each other as they've become one big family. It was one of the most happiest and thrilling moments I had ever seen in the series.

Pretty soon the Doctor says goodbye to his friends, as Sarah Jane goes back home to her son Luke, Jack goes back to Torchwood, Martha to U.N.I.T. and Mickey decides to live a new life on the `real' Earth as there's nothing for him left in the parallel universe (especially not Rose). Mickey soon joins up with Jack and Martha. The new Torchwood team perhaps? Possibly not.

The Doctor also takes Rose and Jackie back to `Bad Wolf Bay' in Norway in the parallel Earth where he leaves them with the human Doctor. The Doctor tells Rose to look after the human Doctor because of what he did in destroying the Daleks and that she can spend the rest of her life with him as he ages the same time as her and never regenerates. It's the most kindest thing RTD does for Rose as she can now live happily ever after with a human Doctor that looks like David Tennant, just as the Doctor and Donna leave to head back off into their own universe. I look forward to seeing the next time Billie Piper appears in `Doctor Who' again since she was the first companion I saw and is one I'm very fond of.

This story however has a tragic end for Donna Noble. I don't know why but I honestly thought she was going to carry on into the next series, since I enjoyed Catherine Tate so much. But as she's now got the Doctor's mind inside her head, it begins to kill her as there's an information overload for her and her brain starts to burn. The Doctor knows what's happening to her and he can't let the Donna die even though it pains him to sacrifice his travelling days with her. Donna doesn't want her travels to end and begs the Doctor not to `make her go back'. It's a heart-wrenching and agonisingly-emotional moment, but the Doctor has to do it in order to save her. Saying his final goodbyes to Donna, he wipes Donna's memories of ever meeting the Doctor, including her first adventure.

Donna blacks out, and the Doctor takes her home to her family back in Chiswick where he tells them everything and instructs them not to tell Donna anything about him or the TARDIS. It's really tragic, and it's a harsh thing for RTD to do to Donna. When we next see Donna, she's back to that absorbed, annoying and trivial character that she'd been before ever meeting the Doctor. She doesn't even recognise him. The Doctor leaves the Noble house with Wilfred telling him he'll watch out and think of him to which the Doctor's grateful. The Doctor returns to the TARDIS, and is saddened with the loss of Donna, as he's now alone all over again. I'm close to tears.

This has been a tremendously brilliant collection of episodes from `Doctor Who' and are my most favourite. All three episodes have been brilliantly written by Russell T Davies as well as brilliantly directed by Graeme Harper. They encompass everything about the Russell T Davies era as a whole as well as the David Tennant years, and it's a great to celebrate one of the well-loved eras of `Doctor Who' as a whole. Highly recommended. You'll be excited and engrossed in these episodes as you watch them.

The next DVD to follow this is 'The Next Doctor' where the Doctor faces the return of the Cybermen. I got excited watching the 'Coming Soon' trailer at the time with the stomping footsteps in the background, eager for what was to come that following Christmas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DESTRUCTION OF REALITY ITSELF........, 6 July 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic climax to a series that has probably been the patchiest of all the 4 'new' to date!
Dalek armies, Davros, Dalek Caan, the Reality Bomb, A Regeneration (or is it??), UNIT, Torchwood, Sarah Jane, K9, The End Of The Universe - It's all here!
Davros was always a favourite from childhood, and he is FANTASTIC here!
Very faithful to the Genesis Of The Daleks look, and yet updated to perfection. The face, the voice - PURE evil and easily the Dr's finest adversary. The dialogue where Davros extols the power of the terrifying Reality Bomb is incredible - A weapon that will destroy matter itself, right down to molecular level, and threatens the very existence of our Universe AND every other universe. The most diabolical plan by any Dr Who nemesis ever. And that laugh of Davros'! On the level of the greats such as Palpatine and Sauron!
I honestly don't know how this will ever be topped for it's sheer scale, scope and some really intense drama!
A classic, Dalek 2 parter. A Great finale!
And didn't Catherine Tate just get better and better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Children of Time are moving against us!', 27 July 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the fourth (and final) instalment of the fourth season of Doctor Who, featuring 3 episodes starring David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor and Catherine Tate as his companion Donna Noble.

First comes `Turn Left', which could be seen as a stand alone episode, but for me, makes up the first instalment of the epic 3-part season finale. It's a very interesting episode. Fairly similar to `The Butterfly Effect' in it's premise. Execution wise, it's brilliant. I love the way writer Russell T Davies managed to re-use past events of his Doctor Who era and completely turn them on their head, resulting in quite possibly the bleakest episode of Doctor Who ever. The episode is notable for two things, in my opinion. An absolutely stunning performance from Catherine Tate as Donna Noble, combining so many different emotions, veering seamlessly from despair to anger to hope. It was also nice to see a more Runaway Bride-esque version of Donna again. It was like coming full circle and also demonstrated brilliantly how far Donna has come as a character since meeting the Doctor. It also pin-pointed the moment that I decided that Donna was my favourite companion ever to board the TARDIS... sorry Sarah Jane! It also sees the return of Rose Tyler, played by Billie Piper, last seen trapped in a parallel universe at the end of Series 2. Oh, and just wait `til you see the cliffhanger... 10/10

The Stolen Earth/Journey's End follow straight-on from `Turn Left', and make up the most epic, ambitious finale to date. Okay, so they're not perfect, but for me, they come close. It's so good to see so many characters together on screen again. Such a massive cast, including David, Catherine, Billie, Freema Ageyman, John Barrowman, Elisabeth Sladen, Penelope Wilton, Camille Coduri, Noel Clarke, Bernard Cribbins, etc. Brilliant. And every single one of them rises to the challenge and acts their socks off. As you'd expect from RTD, the script is top-notch - exciting one minute, devastating the next. It also features the return of the Daleks creator, Davros, brought to life wonderfully by Julian Bleach who gives a chilling performance. This is the best incarnation of Davros we've seen since the Michael Wisher original in `Genesis of the Daleks', and it is clear that Bleach used that `blue-print' for his inspiration. The Daleks also return, en-mass, and are probably the best they've been in New Who. I won't give away too much about the finale, but for me, it's a joyous piece of television. One for the fanboys anyway! 10/10

So, Davros, Daleks, a massive cast of familiar faces and a brilliant conclusion to possibly the best season of the revived Doctor Who make this a must-buy DVD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climatic ending to series 4, 26 July 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The final three episodes of Series 4 have got to have been the most dramatic and thrilling yet! Linking the whole bad wolf phenomena into the stories was also a nice little nod back to the first two series, of course you couldn't leave it out with the return of Rose! True the massive cast in the final episodes did lead to the problem of developing everyone's stories equally but it has to be said that it was superb to see Torchwood, Sarah jane and Doctor who converging in one programme. The daleks were once again a brilliant force in the episode and with Davros's return too!, well the writers obviously eren't pulling any punches.
But perhaps the best aspect of these final episodes was the acting of Tennant and Tate. Although many have reacted negatively to Catherine in the series, I feel the opposite, and after perhaps a shaky start, she really manages to develop Donna's character into a blossoming peice of acting in the last episode. For a series that continues to improve, she has brought a fantastic new style to the companion/ Doctor relationship and I can only complement her on her performance especially in this finale! Well Done!
Over all, this would be well worth he buy, with a fabulous mix of good acting and dramatic story lines. Now we wait for the Christmas special with baited breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Series 4 Volume 4 [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2008)
2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews