Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trial & Error
Positive.
1)Colin Baker star's as the underrated Sixth Doctor whom gives an excellent performance in this linking 14 part Trial season.
2)This story has many twists throughout it's 4 linking story's.
3)A exellent array of extras come with this boxset.

Negative.
1)There were many behind the scenes dramas during this production that affects...
Published 13 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Straying from the straight and narrow
With flagging ratings, a script editor in bitter creative conflict with the producer, a final episode that had to be re-written from scratch at the last minute, the behind-the-scenes dramas faced by the production team of 1986's THE TRIAL OF A TIME LORD mirrored the fictional pressures upon Colin Baker's Doctor, here put on trial by his own people.

Although the...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by Hector Lerbioz


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Alex "CB8687" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not by any means a perfect serial, but it is an entire season and I dare say one of my top 5 of all the seasons, no single classic, but no clunkers either.

You have the last contributions from Robert Holmes, not his strongest but certainly very enjoyable. Pip and Jane Baker make contribute their best story they also write a very acceptable final part given the circumstances.

There are issues, Peri's anti-demise has to go down as one of the shows worst ever moments, and much of the court room dialogue is very childish (however it is saved by great performances), but overall a very enjoyable ride with the most solid effects and sets the show ever saw (I maintain that we haven't seen such a convincing alien world in the new series... not that we see many). It's a shame JNT didn't allow Robert Holmes' script to be used in it's entirety, it sounds like it had a LOT of promise.

The Who fan base is sadly predictable, they attack whatever they see as having hurt the viability of the show and praise whatever brings in the masses (the only real explanation for the praise RTD receives, heaven help Steven Moffat, yes he's a superb writer but if viewing figures dwindle even slightly he'll be hung drawn and quartered). To be fair there is much to attack here, many many problems, many things which never should have occurred, but it holds together well, a true testament to how strong a doctor Colin Baker has the potential to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big doctor who fan box set inc, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a colin baker dvd so big dvd and big doctor who fan has alot of doctor who dvds come on this is 2012 doctor who has been around for 69 years and this is a bargen doctor who dvds cost like 6 or 7 pounds this is for discs come on no doctor who deal is better than this ok now i love watching this i save up my money get a doctor who box set every month this includes sil and rthe doctors put on trial for some deaths of his companions this includes the master in the last disc whant to finde out more get the box set all you colin baker fans out there get it and its orsome type yore password in and press the buton bye for now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What for a sale and look in the Bargain bin, 27 Aug 2008
By 
I. D. Scott "scotties" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I have this story/box set on VHS and have recently watched it just to remind myself how dire it is.I will not go into great detail about the story line as others have done that already. People who started watching Dr Who in the 80's seem to rate this story quite highly, personally I think it was the worst ever season.If you like this story thats great but if it is your first foray into classic Dr Who and you hate it don't be put off buying other stories like the excellent War Machines. I will be buying this at some time to see the extras & the work of the resoration team but will wait until the price drops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well I'm Buying It, 26 Jun 2008
By 
C. A. Kilgour "McCulloch" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on VHS,in the days when I bought everything, so have seen it a few times. Nowadays I'm restricting my purchases of the improved DVD versions to the ones which made an impact, as many stories including most Tom Baker's and nearly all the Peter Davison's would make me want to take up knitting, just to sit in front of the TV, or maybe I could peel potatoes or something. Yawn.
I might also hope that no-one else is around. Imagine someone walking into the room when the man is clutching at the green bubblepack on his "infected" arm, in The Ark in Space, or the voice of the Dalek coming out of the water, end ep1 Dalek Invasion of Earth, or the car driving past the maggots in The Green Death. Cringe.
Mindwarp in this set contains, in Peri's final scene, one of the best and most scary scenes in the entire original series, and I'm probably buying the set for this story, although the Trial itself is entertaining, and the first story quite good with Joan Sims as the warrior queen.
It's going to be expensive and I really prefer to watch the first 2 doctors, a different era of TV, so it's not at the top of my list. But I don't think overall the stories and presentation are any worse than anything else and I quite like the Colin Baker doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It really was a "trial" to watch..., 25 Jun 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this one very well! It's where the the combination of poor theme music, poor costume for the Doctor, dislikeable companion and personality for the Doctor, poor production values and writing all combined to give us the most tedious television of the mid 1980's.

Even as a Doctor Who fan, I am not blinkered in all-gushing praise for every serial bearing the name "Doctor Who" in its titles to realise this was very poor television indeed. I'm not suprised that Colin Baker was given the sack (though really it should have been the producer, John Nathan-Turner, not Colin that was given the boot).

And just how did the BBC manage to make a potentially thrilling concept of courtroom drama so damn dull? One "trial" I care to miss, the more discerning Doctor Who viewer will do the same..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eeh bah gum, 26 Jun 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Hmm, dr who fans seem to be a funny bunch, all torn-faced that it can't always be tom baker wacked out on jellybabies! I'm going to buy this even though I've never seen it cause dr who's great, and even though it might be a bit wacky, dull or silly, who cares? It's still entertaining tv! Colin Baker had great hair and a cool jacket, what more do you need? Apart from the release of all the sylvester mccoy episodes? Especially the ones with Ace! Hooray for midget Scottish psychopaths and riot girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, Mindwarp was terrible though., 2 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Well Doctor Who story Trial of a Time Lord is good, the dr basically gets involved in court for interfering with other worlds, basically he had already doen this before, they exiled him to Earth and made Patrick Troughton regenrate into Jon Pertwee, these two doctors are good doctors, i mean colin baker wasnt a very bad dr, but he was a bad dr in his 1st season, and basically they probably put him in trial because they wanted to disrespect the "true" classic dr who stories of the 60s and the 70s with the new ones of the 80s, now peter davison is a good dr with a good era and so is sylvester mccoy. Colin Baker was the last good dr with the least good era. Now as for the story. The first part is The Mysterious Planet, this is good, the court is witnessing some of the doctors life events, and the dr visits the planet ravalox. This stoory is well written. Minwarp after this, a condfusing story, terrible. All the other parts were very good. Basically id reccomend stories from the new series and the jon pertwee and tom baker eras, i suppose the last DVD a collecctor should buy are terrible stories like Four to Doomsday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars From Trial to Execution, 8 Jun 2008
By 
David Brown "bssdrb" (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, here it is, in one set, the death blow for the original Doctor Who. Yes, this was the series that was so bad it saw the destruction of over 20 years of good SF. The initial result of this was a "hiatus" that was resolved with the sacking of Colin Baker as the Doctor. Although Sylvester McCoy did a lot to help revive the Doctor, the series was seen as a bit of a joke from now on. The reality was that it was not Colin Baker as the Doctor that was the problem but the loss of credibility, the poorer production values, really really annoying companions and above all the rubbish stories. This series was basically four stories roughly tacked together under the premise that the Doctor had to be put on trial for his crimes (a weak idea originally used int he War Games as a way for the 2nd regeneration to happen). There were good moment like Honor Blackman in the third story which was the best of the four. The who trial turns our to be a plot by the Master, again, but assisted by a strange character that was supposed to be a form of the Doctor after his last regeneration. The big question is, with so many good Doctor Who adventures not on DVD what is the point of releasing this? This is really only for those who want everything Doctor Who.

For those who need to know, the four adventures have the titles:

The Mysterious Planet - an adventure on a planet called Ravolox, which turns out to be a future Earth, shifted light-years through space. They meet a previous series character, Glitz. My rating 2/5

Mindwarp - the one that seeks the character Sil return (small green slug like alien from the race of Mentors). The Mentor's leader needs a new body and is trying to get one with the help of a scientist named Crozier. My rating 1/5

Terror of the Vervoids - in which the Doctor prevents a race of plant creatures for taking over a spaceship but ends up wiping out their whole race - not good evidence for his non interference. My rating 3/5

The Ultimate Foe - this is the one with the Valeyard where the the Doctor tries to prove he was set up. My rating 1/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHY DO FANS WRITE SUCH LONG WINDED REVIEWS, 22 Jun 2008
By 
E. brooks "LEMMY CAUTION" (LIVERPOOL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
If your not a fan you won't enjoy this,if you are it 's hit and miss at best.Get it for christmas off your mum.
I do think some fans have too much time on their hands going by the length and amount of reviews on dr who .
GOODBYE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD]
£13.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews