Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come for the trial, stay for the extras.
I bought this a few years ago. As I clicked the 'purchase' button, I was unsure as to whether or not I was making a big mistake. I grew up in the wilderness years, with only VHS recordings of Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker for comfort. This season of Doctor Who has a less than stellar reputation and I was reluctant about plunging head-first into the gaudy unknown that is 80s...
Published 7 months ago by etroy

versus
59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Straying from the straight and narrow
With flagging ratings, a script editor in bitter creative conflict with the producer, a final episode that had to be re-written from scratch at the last minute, the behind-the-scenes dramas faced by the production team of 1986's THE TRIAL OF A TIME LORD mirrored the fictional pressures upon Colin Baker's Doctor, here put on trial by his own people.

Although the...
Published on 30 Sept. 2008 by Hector Lerbioz


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful DVD collection of a flawed season, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
R. Morrison "mondo" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Some excellent reviews of this title on here. Colin Baker's tenure as the Doctor, as has been noted before, was one of the worst times for the show. I was 10-11 years old and watched it, despite being ridiculed by my sisters and finding it harder and harder to justify watching as even someone that young could see problems with it. I've began to acquire the DVDs of this period and can say the quality of the stories is variable at best. This collection is a very strong example of that, where some interesting ideas are sometimes let down by poor production values, silly editing or bad conclusions. The cast is great, though. It's such a shame the preceding series to this was canned as Colin Baker and Nicola Bryan could've developed an even stronger duo than the one they managed to create under difficult circumstances. This series also marked Bonnie Langford's debut and she's far better than you'd expect given the amount of vitriol about her.

I think the idea for this season, with the stories being linked by a trial of the Doctor, could have worked if it had been organised in a better way. Maybe we could have had scenes in the courtroom at the start of each episode, not during episodes, as it interrupts the flow of the stories being followed. All of the stories in this seasons have their problems, but they're all worth watching. The major selling point of the set? The extras. This is an amazing DVD set. It highlights just how much special features can be created out of problematic productions. It's wonderful to hear when people have an amazing time making a highly-acclaimed film/TV programme. But documentaries about productions where people are falling out, there's studio interference, etc, tend to be far more interesting and that's the case here.

The only notable person absent from the special features is Bonnie Langford, which is a shame as I would have loved to hear her take on the show and how she felt about the reaction to her. But given how strong it was, I can understand how she'd like to put the whole thing behind her. The DVD set is worth buying simply for the documentary on Colin Baker's tenure. But add in lots of other featurettes, including one each for all four stories, and entertaining commentaries for every episode and you have a wonderful set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd Like To Give My Views If I May, 12 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Doctor Who, been a fan for ages. Coming and going, I would have to say Colin Baker is one of my favorite Doctors (I also like Paul McGann's Doctor, the movie and the cds). I really liked this story. It may have, at times, had uncertain ground, but still, the storyline is a great mystery. Colin Baker is at his best here in these stories. There is good and evil in the Timelord sense, and the Doctor is, for the most part, over his head because (unlike the 7th Doctor), Colin's Doctor just went with the wind, so to speak. I wont say here and there about what extras this DVD may or may not have. I've been impressed with what I've gotten so far (esp Timelash). Still, I like Colin's Doctor, I like the storyline, and I think that there is a lot of hard work going into the DVDs of the series. I hope to see more coming as time goes by. More by Colin and more, incidently, by Sylvester McCoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 6 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. M. Leacy "Michael Leacy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
This story / Season has been mercilessly criticised by Dr Who fans for years, but in actual fact it is one of the most entertaining adventures of the 80s. A real romp all the way through (well, after the first segment anyway). I think new Dr Who fans would enjoy this and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Features are great, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
Paul Green (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was great when it came on TV, and thought the death scene was fantastic. Watching again the show is surprisingly good 20 odd years on. A fantastic addition to this DVD set is the special feature "Making of" series. The cast and crew are very open and give a clear insight into the problems facing the show at the time it was being made. It makes you sad that Colin Baker didn't stay on and "Beat Toms record".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who In Court, 1 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
And so ends Colin Baker's ten year tenure as the Doctor. Many criticised his theatrical performances in the show, many found his costume hideous (Colin apparently made the costume himself and was adamant that it be as bright and garish as possible.)But what really cemented his appeal as the Doctor was his screen presence. A tall man at close to seven feet tall, Baker looms over his co stars and commands every moment on screen.

Trial is split into three different segements, but they all carry the same thread; the Doctor's romance with his companion Peri. This is the first time that the writers have injected such a strong romance story into the show. You would have to go back to the days of William Hartnell to find the only other romantic storyline (the one between Susan and the Doctor, where he seduces her on Gallifrey.) In this one though, the romance is downplayed and you really have to look beneath the subplots to detect what is really going on. Many fans claim it is about the Doctor being in trial for messing with time, but it is clear there is a much deeper meaning going on here. What follows is a captivating love triangle between The Doctor, Peri and The Inquizitor (Lynda Bellingham.)

There are some ill judged scenes, I call to mind the ghastly moment when Baker removes his blonde wig and places it on a hat stand and proceeds to waltz around the Tardis to the Doctor Who theme. This supposed 'in joke' was a step too far for fans and made the show almost into a farce. There are also several moments where Baker looks into the camera and winks, this also jars badly.

No decent monsters in any of these episodes, there is a fleeting glimpse of a new creature called a Wurfy. A small furry brown thing with wings that chases the Doctor and teases him about his outfit, but that aside, nothing that represents any real threat. Humour is kept to a minimum, while the producers up the ante with some light to moderate swearing, which is surprisngly refreshing.

The bonus features are a delight on the package. A four hour featurette following Colin Baker around his home is a must-see. Highlights include Colin feeding his guinea pig, doing some ironing and mending a loose panel on his fence. Had Baker not chosen to quit the show and take up a new career as a mime artist in Prague, he would probably still be Doctor Who to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wrong disc count, again!!, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
M. Laffitte "taramaclay1" (Sacramento Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Having been recently to a restoration site that deals with the actual shows. Amazon's disc count is terrible wrong. where they get thier info I don't know. According hte the official record, the count should be like this...

Disc 1 - Episodes 1 - 4 - "The Mysterious Planet"
Disc 2 - Episodes 5 - 8 - "Mindwarp"
Disc 3 - Episodes 9 - 12 - "Terror of the Vervoids"
Disc 4 - Episodes 13 & 14 - "The Ultimate Foe"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT PIECE OF CLASSIC DOCTOR, 24 Jan. 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
one of my fav storys ever, its a great boxset to watch,the doctor is on trial for his life and he has 14 episodes to prove his innocence, and the valiyard try's to prove him guilty, i belive any doctor who fan should buy this for its perfect work and excellent storyline, the master is also back for a piece of the doctor and a great secret is revealed and also this is the last colin baker this will give fans to remember him by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars one of the worst, 19 Jun. 2009
By 
Padraig Byrne "Gaeilforce" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Having read all the reviews both good and bad i decided to buy it. Though im in my mid twenties Im only a fan of modern dw serials. I decided to give the old series a look. Id heard that the 1980s serials were the worst made but decided to decide for myself. Having enjoyed some tom baker serials i thought it could only get better. I need not have bothered. This is one of the worst EVER. I know people of a certain generation may look on colin baker s a great doctor but in my opinion hes one of the worst. The stories and acting are similarly some of the worst ever seen. Everything looks cheap etc with props looking like they were made from egg boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trial of a Time Lord, 15 Feb. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
PARTS I-IV
This section is one of the strongest in the boxsets, graphics at the beginning were brilliant, Nicloa Bryant (Peri) gave a strong performance in the whole of this section.

PARTS V-VIII
This story was great but it was confusing at points, very sad and dark at Peri's death scene.

PARTS IX-XII
This story was fantastic, however Bonnie Langford's (Mel) performance made Mel look cheesy.

PARTS XIII-IXV
This story was CONFUSING!!! It was my least favourite in the boxset, and however this is a great set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Trial Of A Time Lord [1986] [DVD]
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews