Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June 8
Season Eight part two of Terry and June is one of nine series.
Terry Scott and June Whitfield star in this Eighth series of "Terry and June".
This is an entertaining bit of farcical comedy that has a lot to offer. Series Eight has some very fine episodes indeed with true comedy and a warm, comfortable and very experienced approach to comedy.

This...
Published on 29 May 2011 by Miss M. Potter

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why does 2entertain treat their customers so badly ?
Firstly let me make it perfectly clear the 1 star I have awarded is not for the excellent tv series. For the actual programme content I would award the dvd 5 stars without fail. Terry And June is a classic piece of BBC comedy. The episodes are very funny particually Terry In Court.

My gripe is the way that 2 Entertain rip their customers off. They released...
Published on 21 Aug 2008 by David


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why does 2entertain treat their customers so badly ?, 21 Aug 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly let me make it perfectly clear the 1 star I have awarded is not for the excellent tv series. For the actual programme content I would award the dvd 5 stars without fail. Terry And June is a classic piece of BBC comedy. The episodes are very funny particually Terry In Court.

My gripe is the way that 2 Entertain rip their customers off. They released Terry And June series 8 as the complete series but it wasnt. They missed out the last 7 episodes and now they have released them as series 8 volume 2 and are charging around 10. This means that series 8 will now cost the average customer around 22. Why didn't they release all episodes in one volume ? It is yet another case of 2 Entertain being greedy and ripping of fans of classic television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June 8, 29 May 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season Eight part two of Terry and June is one of nine series.
Terry Scott and June Whitfield star in this Eighth series of "Terry and June".
This is an entertaining bit of farcical comedy that has a lot to offer. Series Eight has some very fine episodes indeed with true comedy and a warm, comfortable and very experienced approach to comedy.

This Eighth series was transmitted in 1985. It was originally transmitted between September and December that year. (The episodes on this release are from October to December) These episodes could have been transmitted in the previous year 1984 but they were not. (The last episodes from series seven had been transmitted in 1983). So by 1985 there had been a gap and to make up for it there were thirteen episodes in series eight. The last episode represents the Christmas edition for that year. This release contains the last seven episodes and you need volume one to complete the run.
It is still a very entertaining series nearly thirty years later.
Each episode has a different and brief comedy intro as the opening credits begin. They are the same intros that were used in season three, four, five, six and seven Each is a variation on the same idea that Terry takes some drinks outside to join June for a nice sit in the garden. But each version is different and slapstick.

This is an excellent set of seven programmes from a classic comedy and when you consider the stuff that's passed off as comedy these days you realise just how good Terry and June really were.

A dustcart goes into Terry's car while June is driving and the driver blames June. Terry decides to take him to court and represent himself, using TV and film fictional barristers as his education to be a lawyer. In another episode Sir Dennis wants to see European TV on a Satterlte dish. Terry boasts that he has one, but he doesn't. Sir Dennis says he is coming to look at it. The race is on to get one and set it up. In another episode The Police are looking for a villain who looks like Terry. Terry tries to disguise himself to avoid confusion and in doing so creates confusion.
In the final episode, the Christmas special, everyone at work is to be in the Pantomime and Terry and June are playing the Cow.

The whole series is good with some episodes being funnier than others, but always humorous and entertaining.
At the time of its transmission the series was often mocked and scoffed at. It was criticised by some people as being too corny and old fashioned. It was traditional comedy and not "alternative". Other people loved it. I really liked it back then and have even more respect for it now. It may not be non-stop roaring with laughter comedy, (what show actually is like that?) but it does have some very funny moments. Terry and June Medford are an ordinary middle class couple who live in suburban Purley. Terry is accident prone, helpless and over ambitious. June is his long-suffering wife who has to cope with the mess that Terry gets into.
Terry works for Sir Dennis Hodge who often calls at the Medford's home just at the wrong time.
Terry is well intentioned but many misunderstandings lead to a lot of farcical situations and Terry and June always get into complications trying to get out of the situations they find themselves in.

June Whitfield is excellent and Terry Scott is also very good with his comic expressive face and timing. Both Terry Scott and June Whitfield offer us a warm and inviting performance.
This Eighth series is a good classic comedy that should not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A series that just got better, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Without wanting to give too much away this is well worth the fair price that Amazon are selling it for ! The episodes involving law suits against the council bin-men and chaos surrounding dishes picking up foreign TV channels are just hilarious. Many of the characters such as Miss Dingle , Malcolm & his wife , Sir Denis Hodge and Austin the Vicar are superbly written and acted. I think that the writers got better as they went on and Terry Scot & June Whitfield did a fine job making us all laugh for a decade or so when they where churning out new episodes every so often.

Watching this does sadden one a bit - hearing the Dallas tune at the end of one episode reminds me just how great Carry On Texas could have been ( Terry Scot was due to be in that one in 1987). Also what a shame that they never finished filming Terry & June The Movie. But one ought to be grateful for having these lovely series of this fine sitcom available on DVD - they never fail to cheer me up ! This comic gem puts a lot of modern rubbish to shame and is a must for people with a well developed funny bone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Something changed between 8:1 and 8:2, 24 Jun 2010
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been watching all the Terry and June DVDs up to Series 8 Volume 1, for the past year. (I hadn't realised there was a Volume 2 to Series 8 until recently, nor that there was a Volume 9).
I received Series 8 Volume 2 today, and there is a world of difference between the programs on this DVD, and Series 8 Volume 1! It's as if Terry and June are five years older, Terry is genuinely angry all the time, and the scripts are nowhere near as good as 8:1. Does anybody know why this is? There is a noticeable and marked difference in 'feel' between Series 8 Volume 2 and Series 8 Volume 1, and I found these episodes very disappointing. All the actors seem to have lost their magic, which they had in the earlier series. Terry's boss is completely different, even from the first moment he appears, in the second programme, he is a different man (as it were). It's as if the entire DVD has been 'BBC-fied' - i.e. turned into the pointless rubbish 'comedies' that they started churning out in the years after Terry and June. (You know, the sort of comedies that simply weren't funny, and that got an audience purely because they were shown during peak viewing hours, and people watched them because there was nothing better on the other side).
Here's hoping that Volume 9 is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, great DVD. Stop moaning everyone!!!, 16 Jan 2009
By 
D. C. Fuller "Del" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
OK this is not the entire series and yes you have to buy volume one as well but it does still match the others in the collection because one disc per set has been the norm so far. I suppose it could have been released as a two disc set at a higher price but I think reviewers who imply the manufacturer is deliberately ripping us off are being a bit unfair. Series 8 simply has more episodes and I for one am pleased they have enough material from this wonderful series to release another disc. Excellent stuff and true Terry and June fans will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll on series 9 please!, 1 Sep 2008
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I agree with the previous user's comments to a certain extent (no excue for sloppiness when researching series information for a DVD) - I cannot allow this to carry a 1-star rating.

I can't let anything jeopardise the all-important series 9, which is the only series I actually rememeber and have been waiting for it for about 4 years!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a review, 2 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am concerned you think I bought this DVD on 5th December. I did not. Please review your information and get back to me as I do not want to have been charged for it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD]
Terry & June - Series 8 Volume 2 [DVD] by Terry Scott (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 47.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews