Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Horror/Scary movie
This is a good horror/scary movie...it starts very well with great potencial and unfortunatly doesn't end as well as it starts but that still doesn't ruin the movie. This box set seems to be the only way I could find of getting the movie with the original theatrical ending included and not just the alternate ending from the Director's Cut. For that alone the 2 DVD box is...
Published 18 months ago by David Marle

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half-decent, but a worse cut
I remember watching 1408 in the cinema, and found it to be a genuinely scary film. Admittedly, many of those scares came from jumpy moments, but then the horror would continue, unrelenting. I'm a bit of a fan of films based on Stephen King's work, as the characters tend to be carefully built and have real problems in their lives, and John Cusack's writer is no exception...
Published on 13 April 2012 by Mr. E. G. J. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Horror/Scary movie, 27 Jan 2013
By 
David Marle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good horror/scary movie...it starts very well with great potencial and unfortunatly doesn't end as well as it starts but that still doesn't ruin the movie. This box set seems to be the only way I could find of getting the movie with the original theatrical ending included and not just the alternate ending from the Director's Cut. For that alone the 2 DVD box is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half-decent, but a worse cut, 13 April 2012
By 
Mr. E. G. J. Smith (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember watching 1408 in the cinema, and found it to be a genuinely scary film. Admittedly, many of those scares came from jumpy moments, but then the horror would continue, unrelenting. I'm a bit of a fan of films based on Stephen King's work, as the characters tend to be carefully built and have real problems in their lives, and John Cusack's writer is no exception to this. This film is a testament to his acting ability that he can hold his own throughout the film while often being the only actor on screen.

However, this cut of the film isn't as tense. Some of the scenes are dragged out and lose their intensity. And the ending is different - about as different from the original theatrical version as is possible. It means that overall the film feels less scary and ends with less of a bang. In my mind, it doesn't feel like a Stephen King ending, though I don't know how the original story ended.

Bottom-line: It's an interesting horror film with some scary moments, and John Cusack is excellent in this. However, 1408's Director's Cut isn't as tense and ends on a bit of a poor note. Not a good horror film, but not a bad one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best King adaptions, 25 Sep 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1408 [DVD] (DVD)
Based on one the short stories from Stephen King in his 2002 collection "Everything's Eventual", '1408' is about an author named Mike Enslin (played by John Cusack) who is writing the next book in his series called The 10 Most Haunted Hotels. Enslin is losing his belief in the supernatural though as he has never actually seen a ghost. Then one day he receives an anonymous postcard telling him not to stay in room 1408 at The Dolphin Hotel in New York.

After convicing the hotel manager (Samuel L. Jackson) to let him stay in 1408 and being warned that no one who has stayed in the room lasts longer than an hour, Enslin begins to see ghosts of the people that have been killed or died in the room and also experiences ghosts from his own past.

Everyone knows that King's film adaptions usually aren't that good, especially the ones from his short stories (with the exception of Stand by Me/The Body) but 1408 is actually a very creepy and well thought out film. Once Enslin gets into room 1408 things get very strange indeed and may be a little confusing at times, but all does make sense in the end.

Cusack does and excellent job in his role as Enslin and made me wonder what he was thinking about when acting out the part as he does seem genuinely terrified throughout the whole ordeal.

Overall this is a scary, weird and exciting supernatural thriller that both fans of Stephen King and the horror genre in general should enjoy. There's plenty of clever special effects and lots of scares and enough to keep you thinking from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural movie, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie with John Kusak, and also starring Samuel Jackson. John Kusak stays at a hotel to write a book about how he believes the haunted room there has a logical explination, when he starts changing his mind and seeing the room is indeed very haunted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good attempt, 28 Oct 2011
This is a film that starts out well - very well - but loses its way after a while. You can tell this because the film had alternate endings, always a sign that the studio can't make its mind up about where the story ought to go.

The plot, basically, has Mike Endlin (Cusack) playing a writer who writes books about supposedly haunted places, and who usually gives credence to the stories of hauntings, even though he doesn't believe in them himself. He receives written invitations to visit such sites from people, usually hotel owners, keen to improve their popularity via notoriety (and free publicity) in his books. One day he receives an anti-invitation, from a hotel telling him NOT to stay with them.
Intrigued, and convinced that this is a riff on the usual way of attracting his interest, he goes to the hotel and meets the manager, Gerald Olin (Samuel L. Jackson), who does everything in his power to stop Endlin staying there, specifically in room 1408, where no-one has survived for more than an hour. Cusack insists on staying there... you can imagine the rest...

Jackson plays with his usual funky gravitas (shame he's not used more than he is in this film, since he has some of the best screen-presence around) and shares the acting honours with Cusack, who does a superb job of transitting quickly from world-weary cynic to terrified pawn in some supernatural game. There are some genuinely jarring moments in the first half-hour or so which had me checking behind the sofa, and which promised to develop into something cinematically very special.
However, eventually the effects become rather gross, thus losing their power to enthrall and shock - in suspense films less really is more, especially where the supernatural is concerned. Comparisons with "The Shining" are unavoidable when walls start bleeding and guilt surfaces from the past to haunt Endlin, with apparitions of his dead daughter appearing like Marley's Ghost. By the end it is clear that the story has effectively disappeared, with the studio just cobbling together a mish-mash of gory effects and false endings to try and sustain the running length. A shame, for a film that started out so very well.
So, all in all a disappointment, but worth seeing for the first half. Switch it off once the walls start to bleed, and give it to Oxfam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1+4+0+8= 13. Room 1408 is in the 13th floor .Much spookiness is guaranteed surely?, 8 Mar 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I'm not a massive Stephen King fan .In fact I would go as far as to say he is hideously over-rated. Having said that there have been some excellent movie adaptations of his books and short stories. "The Shining", "Dead Zone" ,"Salems Lot" "Shawshank Redemption" spring readily to mind. 1408 is based on a short story and is not deserving to slot easily into the preceding list. What is frustrating is it could have if it had stayed within the story's simple premise rather than evolve into an overwrought special effects bonanza.
Mike Enslin (John Cusack) is a hack writer of supernatural travel books like "Ten Most Haunted Bed And Breakfasts" , Ten Most Haunted Public Toilets"( I made that one up) but in truth is cynical about the paranormal though he uses the catchphrase "Stay scared" at book signings , something that George A Romero ,a friend of Kings uses.. He receives an anonymous postcard that gives clues to the existence of the Dolphin hotel in New York which has a haunted room -room 1408. His interest piqued he tries to book the room only to be told it's not available.
His publisher Sam Farrell (Tony Shalhoub) gets his company's lawyer to look into this and he finds an obscure law that says if a hotel room is free then no paying customer can be denied access. Now this seems to me a convenient plot device to keep things moving forward so Enslin is soon arriving at The Dolphin where he engages in a fascinating exchange with the manager Mr Olin (Samuel L Jackson)Olin doesn't want Eslin to stay in the room at all and when pushed puts it in a very Samuel L Jackson type way :"Its an evil f***ing room".
Mr Olin is right .Once Enslin is happily settled in room 1408 things start going awry . Little things at first then escalating to ghastly apparitions , full blown mania and some nice psychological torture involving the death of Enslin,s young daughter. The conclusion is neither happy or especially sad and though I have,nt seen the ending used for the theatrical release so cannot comment on which is better ,it's hard to disagree with other reviewers who say it would have been nice to have the option on the DVD.
1408 is helped considerably by John Cusacks natural charm and he gives a terrific performance showcasing a man going from weary scepticism to full blown boggled eyed insanity . Director Mikael Hafstrom sets up the premise very well and the first ten minutes in 1408 are superbly done as he uses silence to create genuine tension so when the spooky stuff starts it really gives you a jolt.
However the last third is ridiculous hysterical nonsense that completely dissipates any apprehension or mounting terror . 1408 could have been a nerve shredding experience of psychological dread. The carefully constructed and captivating set up truly makes the viewer think they are in for something incrementally petrifying but a couple of decent heart in the mouth moments(One is actually so good it made my heart leap out of my mouth and run screaming round the room) aside it,s not scary at all. Indeed as it is it's more like a high tech fairground ride where the anticipation far outweighs the actual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Sep 2007
Personally thought it was surprisingly scary for a high budget title, also a lot weirder than I expected. At times the obscurity makes it hard to understand what exactly is going on, which leads me to believe they were trying a bit too hard to make the audience jump at every occasion possible! Although the storyline is unoriginal in parts, it is still very entertaining and definitely worth seeing a few times to take it all in. There was no real need to include the whole subplot about the main character's daughter and wife; it doesn't really add much to the film.
Acting is superb as is the general ambience and score. Overall, the film is much better than you would expect upon reading a synopsis and probably the best in its genre to be released this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Thriller than Horror, 8 April 2008
By 
L. Mcwilliams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not to say that there aren't a few moments in the film that aren't a bit creepy, but on the whole it works better as a psychological thriller than as a horror. I was looking for the elusive 'ultimate Horror' and tried this after watching some promising trailers, and, undeterred by Mr King's poor transition onto celluloid in the past, selected it to join my collection. It is worthy of watching, indeed I will watch it again, but it is not the film which it protests to be in its publicity. For those people who are hard and fast Horror buffs - watch only if you are truly at a loose end, but for those out there who rarely watch horror or who scare easily - this is for perfect for you to get your 'saturday night shock'. Cusack does a good job with the material, his 'madness' is believable (although I wasn't always convinced by his fear), and as remarked on by another reviewer, the use of the Carpenters is extremely effective.
This film has highs and lows, a good effort but not truly scary. Interesting to see a modern release without all the gore!!
Watch it for fun - a good rent or borrow, if you must buy it, any more than 8 and you may feel a bit cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1408 = I DON'T ACTUALLY KNOW, 13 April 2008
First off I had known this was a Stephen King movie I wouldn't have bothered as I gave up on his dross some time ago - I had been reading his books for 20+ years!

Anyway onto the movie. A well acted and tense ghost story that regularly made my wife jump. John Cusack was at this fluid best and Samuel L Jackson was his steadfast and excellent self.

So why only 3 stars? I am not sure this movie knew what it wanted to be a a genuine scary and benevolent ghost story (which it was) or a type of horror movie (which it tried to be) - who knows.

Don't get me wrong I really enjoyed the movie itself but what really frustrated was that so much detail seems to have been missed out. I appreciate that it's based on a short story but why was Room 1408 evil? We don't actually find out and that's the crux there only seemed to be half the story and the most important half was left 'to the viewers imagination'.

As a genuinely entertaining movie it would have had 4, or possibly 5, stars but it just seemed that the most important parts weren't even explored never mind explained at all.

Worth a rental but don't waste your cash buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1408, 14 Mar 2008
Hmmm this is a creepy film to watch, there isnt anything horrific as such, just really creepy things going on.
I wondered where it was going to lead as i was watching it, i imagined myself to be in his shoes so to speak, so i could be in the plot, loved the bit where hes looking at the flat opposite, and where he decides to walk on the window ledge outside, if youre afraid of heights you ll be shutting your eyes at this point.
I actually thought the ending was good and finally realised why it kept showing him in a burnt out room when i came to the end of it.
I enjoyed it and would recommend it
One to stay in my collection.
Thumbs up from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1408 [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import]
1408 [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import] by Mikael Hafstrom (Blu-ray - 2008)
Used & New from: 8.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews