Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing musical
Les Demoiselles de Rochefort is the most romantic musical ever! It's fresh, full of passion, youth, feelings, and emotions. Music and words are a great because they are of an utmost quality. Although Catherine Deneuve and Françoise Dorléac did not sing their part in real, it is a charming production, for which the town of Rochefort embarked on a complete repainting...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by Artsreadings

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Umbrellas of Cherbourg, but pleasant enough
Les Demoiselles de Rochefort is beautifully staged, with a great use of space and movement in the Scope frame, but never quite catches fire because its central pairing of real-life sisters Catherine Deneuve and Francoise Dorleac just aren't particularly likeable - indeed, they're just about the least likeable characters in the film. The plot is as absurd as the lyrics,...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing musical, 13 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Les Demoiselles de Rochefort is the most romantic musical ever! It's fresh, full of passion, youth, feelings, and emotions. Music and words are a great because they are of an utmost quality. Although Catherine Deneuve and Françoise Dorléac did not sing their part in real, it is a charming production, for which the town of Rochefort embarked on a complete repainting programme of its central square! hence the bright and vivid colours...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, seductive and full of Gallic charm, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Les Demoiselles De Rochefort [1967] [DVD]

This is a follow up to Jacques Demy major hit "Umbrellas of Cherbourg" and has the same wonderful use of front light bright clear colour seen to perfection in this outstanding transfer to DVD.

On first viewing I was completely seduced by the youthful vitality of the dancing, the interesting though obvious plot, the use of colour, held together by almost continuous music even dialogue is often sung. Also all the characters are believable and likeable.

The "demoiselles" twins Delhine and Solange and real life sisters Catherine Deneuve and Francoise Dorleac are seeking love and success, and their mother Yvonne (best performance in the film by Danielle Darrieux) is still lamenting leaving a a lover ten years ago because of his silly name.

However if one stands back from the film in a critical way (and this is not easy) there are shortcomings.

First to have an all dancing and singing musical with the two main characters being neither dancers nor singers undermines their performances. Secondly Gene Kelly is miscast, he looks frustrated and constrained by the limited dance opportunities (although it is said he did his own choreography) and looks uncomfortable acting in a foreign language.

However you watch the film once again and are immediately swept up into the music and any shortcomings are irrelevant.

One of a kind, please, please, please, doesn't miss watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great, but overpriced, DVD from the British Film Institute, 1 Dec 2008
By 
Henry Turner (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
So good to see this title back in circulation as it's one of the most exuberant and colourful musicals ever made. Demy's Les Parapluies de Cherbourg always seems to get all the critical plaudits, however, for pure cinematic pleasure Les Demoiselles goes one step further. It's a paper-thin story, but who cares when the score is so ravishing and the performances so charming. It's rather like revisiting MGMs golden age - complete with Gene Kelly.

My only gripe is in the DVD production, or rather over-production. There's a great hour-long documentary about the film made by Demy's widow, Agnes Varda, and some interesting, but not exactly essential other extras. Unfortunately we have to pay for them as they run to 2 DVDs. As usual from this otherwise excellent label it costs way over the industry average, making BFI DVDs out of reach for many DVD buyers. You can buy Les Parapluies de Cherbourg for under £6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film!, 9 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Leave your brain and logic on hold - sit back on a wet Sunday afternoon with a pot of tea and a box of soft centres - and ENJOY this film.

OK, the plot is dead obvious - (all these Shakespearian coincidences!) but the gorgeous tunes and the dancing and the pastel colours in almost constant French sunshine are a joy to behold. It really cheers you up.

Its not as good, admittedly, as 'Umbrellas' but it has a charm of its own - the dancers in the streets in the background - I wish my local shopping mall was like that!

Michel Legrand's music would be considered 'cheesy' nowadays (this film was made before the Beatles and Rolling Stones, remember) but it is a very skillful manipulation of harmony and counterpoint - alright, its not supposed to be Stravinsky, for goodness' sake.... Lets not be too critical.

Every time I watch it, I am left with a big smile on my face.

Can't say more than that?

Badger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Umbrellas of Cherbourg, but pleasant enough, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Les Demoiselles de Rochefort is beautifully staged, with a great use of space and movement in the Scope frame, but never quite catches fire because its central pairing of real-life sisters Catherine Deneuve and Francoise Dorleac just aren't particularly likeable - indeed, they're just about the least likeable characters in the film. The plot is as absurd as the lyrics, the mostly badly-dubbed Gene Kelly veers toward the embarrassing (too much of his sappy romantic ballet mode, too little vitality), there are a couple of awkward lapses from the dancers, and at times it seems to forget exactly what kind of film it wants to be. But despite all those problems Demy's enthusiasm for the already fading musical genre ensures that it's a pleasant enough diversion, George Chakiris, Danielle Darrieux, Grover Dale and a cast against type Michel Piccoli are likeable enough to make up for the leads, and you have to give extra marks for any musical that includes a likeable murderer who cuts his victim to pieces. No Umbrellas of Cherbourg, but it passes a couple of hours pleasantly enough.

The BFI's DVD offers a decent 2.35:1 widescreen transfer supervised by Demy's widow Agnes Varda, who also directed the one hour documentary about the film on the disc, but there have been complaints from many aficionados of the film that it doesn't follow the original look of the film closely enough, with the recent French Blu-ray release (helpfully boasting English subtitles) a much more impressive and accurate representation of the original colour scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True escapism, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
A long awaited DVD of this delightful film, first viewed jonks ago,and really enjoyed it then. The music of that brilliant composer Michel Legrand is out of this world, and carries the story along at a wonderful pace.A must for the out of the ordinary veiwer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Joy, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Pat Smith (West Bridgford, Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
The music, the dancing, the "Frenchness" and the performances lift the heart. You look out of the window and wonder why the pedestrians walking past are not dancing past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars french delight, 26 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie broadcast on Brazillian television in english when i was 8. I loved it and was curious to see it once again to determine whether it really was that good! I never managed to find it again, and hesitantly purchased the french version (the movie was shot in english and french simultaneously).

The movie concerns twins who are a music and dance teacher who want more from life than rochefort has to offer. They decide to go to paris. Love is the central theme though it is looked at in different ways. The hope of love, finding love, unrequited love, love lost; are all briefly delt with.

It is an atypical musical in the sense that a lot of the music reprises and often with slightly different lyrics. The jazz score is increadible. Even though I can't sing the french your humming the music long after you saw the movie.
I think the most characteristic thing is they way that the music and dance are integrated into the movie. The songs are not always carried out in a secluded spot but in the middle of a street with the passers by joining in. For example, on of the twins is walking down the street while all the extras are dancing around and then seemlessly she joins in. Gene Kelly, George Chakiris and Glover Dale provide the more energetic dance numbers.

Overall it is just as enchanting as I remembered and well worth the price as I am certain I will watch it again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 19 Oct 2011
By 
R. Niskanen (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
This musical is my all time favourite of all musicals. Wonderful music, choreography, colours and actresses and actors. Jacques Demy is a genius. Much better than The umbrellas of Cherbourg. I would recommend this film to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Geoff Wilson (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
A French classic which shouldn't be overlooked because of the language. Ticks all the boxes, fun and a snapshot of the time in the Charente region of France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD]
Les Demoiselles de Rochefort [1967] [DVD] by Jacques Demy (DVD - 2008)
£11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews