Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Personal
The the world can be a cold and unforgiving place sometimes.

Ms Houston has had her fair share of glory's glare but has
doubtless also stared into the darkness of the abyss.
That her instincts have not always been a reliable guide is
evident in a career which has, to my ears and eyes, never
seen her quite comfortable in her own skin...
Published on 18 Oct. 2009 by The Wolf

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ok
is ok album but certainly not one of her better ones - considering her previous work i find it a bit disappointing. sorry
Published 17 months ago by Sbel


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From someone who Actually listened to the CD, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
B. T. Duc "decon10000" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I don't understand why there're so many people
who were able to rate the album without actually listened to it..
So after I listened to the promotion CD I got,
I will share my view about the album for those who are confused about it.

The reason why I said confused is simply because I was confused myself
with the three leaked tracks: "I didn't know my own strength"; "I look to you"
and "Million dollar bill. These three are definitely not Whitney best:
average song written; average (if not poorly) produced; AND the voice is.. well,
disappointing! I thought they were a big let down.

However, the rest, the "un-leaked" material is surprisingly quite good:

"Call you tonight": a typical pop record, simple melody arranged with guitar,
strings and syn giving you an acoustic feel but somehow
Whitney managed to pull off some right notes at the right time
which make it the best song of the album in my opinion.

"I got you", produced by Akon. The intro is signature of Akon,
the strings arrangement is simple but effective, the songs is in the right range
for her voice, the chorus is catchy, slowly and heavy but very emotional.

This CD also targeted the gay audience and tried to keep up
with current the main stream, I think:

"For the lover": electro-R&B-pop; very current; can be heard from Lady Gaga or Ne-Yo

"Nothin' but love": a Soul & electronic dance fusion,
upbeat song with feel good lyrics, but there are some odd moments of "huh"
but I guess it's down to the strain in her voice now.

"A song for you": a very 80s 90s disco sound; after a few pints,
I can imagine myself dancing to this; but that's pretty much about it, sadly..

However, there are some down sides on top of those three leaked songs:

I thought "Salute" and "Worth it" should not be in this album,
since they are very genetic, typical slow jam R&B which
Mariah Carey has established her up-one-range-changing
with her strong voice in songs such as "We belong together".
And Whitney, sorry but without those lift at the end of the song,
these 2 are very bland and forgettable.

So there you go. Hope that help. Given all she's been through and
how that could damage her life as well as the God-given voice;
the album deserves a try, but don't set your hope up to high;
things will never be the same as they used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Received Whitney Houston CD in good time, the only problem it did not play. Tried a number of players including PC and in-car; cleaned the thing several times, no luck. But as I only paid 1p (plus postage) was not too disappointed, you get what you pay for :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soooooo great, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
sorry for my english.....i'm writing from Italy but I only want to say one simply thing.....PLEASE accurately listen I GOT YOU...a sensational hit for her.....the lyrics are beautiful....oh whitney.....I love you....I got you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CD I look to you, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I found the album very disappointing and for me it was a non event and it definitely will not be played a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wooohooo!!! I Look To You, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
Mapoo (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
So glad to see Whitney back!

I managed to get my Cd in Thailand on my Holidays, the Cd is Awesome, I was worried that when I got back to the UK, they wouldn't be Extra songs on the Cd to what I have. But its ok the UK VERSION is same as the THAILAND version lol.

The Album is great i've listened to it a few times, its a Cd what you can just Leave playing until the End. Start to Finish.

A New FRESH start for the Gorgeous WHITNEY HOUSTON.

The Album has some Beautiful Lyrics.

Give it a listen before you start to Judge it.

Whitney Houston - I Look to you (Album)

Here is my Favourites:

Million Dollar Bill
I Look To You
Like I Never Left
A Song For You
I Didn't Know My Own Strengh

Those all have to be my Favourites, but apart from those selected Tracks, I have to say "I love the whole cd" its well worth the Pennys! Get Yours Now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Anticipated & Welcome Return..., 22 Aug. 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I am very much looking forward to the release of Whitney's new & long awaited album, firstly top marks to Clive Davis who has roped in a range of established & contemporary writers & producers including Swizz Beatz, Johnta Austin, Alicia Keys, R. Kelly, Harvey Mason, Jr. & Akon, who have all contributed to the album & made it brilliant.

The album is a mix of classic ballads like 'I Didn't Know My Own Strength' this one written by acclaimed songwriter Diane Warren , a cover version of Leon Russell's hit 'A Song For You' & `I Look To You', mid-tempo jams include 'Like I Never Left' with a guest appearance from Akon, which I will add is the only guest appearance on the album, 'Call You Tonight', Worth It`,' You Got Me' & 'Salute' a track written by R.Kelly & produced by Tricky Stewart. The up-tempo songs include 'Nothin' But Love', 'For The Lovers' & the disco-esq. 'Million Dollar Bill' written by Alicia keys & produced by 'Swizz-beatz', this song is to become lead single.

The album is also a mix of tempos & sounds, while the ballads are very 'traditional' big productions that are vocally driven, you will hear that the mid-tempo & upbeat songs are much more modern, for a comeback album I think this is a winning formula, as it will give Whitney a fresh sound, that will help her gain new fans, while at the same time not alienating the die-hard or long-term fans, by including timeless ballads.
This album is set be a success that will rock the charts & to many fans including myself is a very welcome return from the one & only Ms. Whitney Houston.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best comeback, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Rob "RB" (Woking, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
All the songs i've heard so far have not been that good. The fact she covered the Carpenters A Song For You and completely changed really sucks as that song does not suit her at all. Like I Never Left with Akon is the best track on the album. Definately not her best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Coogan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I'm so happy she's back. This is a very strong album.

Her voice is raspier and a SHADOW of it's former self but still better than most around today.
The album itself is full of 80's dance and some meaningful ballads. I'm glad YouTube is around nowadays to preview albums.

I can't wait to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Not as gd as the my love is your love album but has a few gd tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever!, 11 Aug. 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Whitney is back & is the best i've ever heard her... love this cd! Her voice sounds amazing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Look To You
I Look To You by Whitney Houston (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews